Banknotes from the eighth series

The eighth banknote series was issued between 1995 and 1998 and will be replaced in the coming years by the new series. All notes from the eighth series will remain valid until further notice.

Design principles

If you click on a banknote in the overall view, detailed information on this note and the portrayed personality are displayed.

The front of each banknote is dominated by the portrait of the personality to whom the note is dedicated.

All the illustrations on the back of the banknotes are closely related to the work of the person portrayed.


Work situation

The portrait is accompanied by a photograph in the top left-hand corner showing the personality in a typical work situation.



Unlike the intaglio print originals on traditional banknotes, each portrait in this series is based on a contemporary photograph which has been meticulously prepared - by means of complex image processing techniques - as a banknote portrait.


'Lotar II' (1964)

This bronze bust shows Giacometti's fascination with surfaces. They underwent a stark transformation under his fingers and modelling knife, giving many of his figures the appearance of bare rock. The unevenness of the texture creates an intensive play of light and shade.


'Homme qui marche I' (1960)

The walking man - shown here from four different perspectives - is one of Giacometti's best known figures. In it, the artist has captured a physical movement. For Giacometti, the natural equilibrium of the stride symbolises man's own life force.


Time-space relationship

This sketch stems from Giacometti's 1946 memoir: 'Le RĂªve, le Sphinx et la mort de T.' Because the linear narrative style was inadequate to express his experience, Giacometti tried a sculptural solution: time is represented as a horizontal disc, the individual segments stand for various events. The panels at the edge tell the relevant stories.