Questions and answers on coins

  • The coin-issuing privilege, i.e. the right to mint coins, is held by the Confederation (art. 99 Federal Constitution). Art. 4 of the Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments (CPIA) stipulates that the Confederation shall mint regular issue coins. The SNB is then charged by the Confederation with the task of putting the coins into circulation. The SNB offsets seasonal fluctuations in the demand for coins and replaces coins that are unfit for circulation, e.g. worn coins. The coins are minted at Swissmint, the Federal Mint.

  • The regular issue coins issued by the Confederation are considered legal tender (art. 2 CPIA). There are 5, 2 and 1-franc coins as well as 50, 20, 10 and 5-centime coins in circulation. Pictures of the coins are available on the Coins webpage. For numismatic use and investment purposes, Swissmint may also mint commemorative coins and bullion coins, as well as special quality regular issue coins. Payments made with up to 100 regular issue coins must be accepted. The SNB and the public cash offices of the Confederation accept regular issue coins, commemorative and bullion coins at nominal value and without restriction (art. 3 CPIA).

  • In 2022, the average number of coins in circulation was 5.8 billion, with a value of CHF 3.2 billion.

  • According to art. 4 CPIA, the Federal Council decides which coins are to be minted, put into circulation or withdrawn from circulation. For example, in 2006, based on the results of the consultation on the ordinance to withdraw 1 and 5-centime coins from circulation, the Federal Council withdrew the 1-centime coin but kept the 5-centime coin in circulation.

  • Regular issue coins withdrawn from circulation can be exchanged at the SNB for their full nominal value for 20 years after the withdrawal date (e.g. 1-centime coins can be exchanged until 31 December 2026). There is no deadline for exchanging coins that have been withdrawn from circulation but which have the same size and face as the coins still in circulation, e.g. silver-coloured 5-centime coins and silver coins from 50 centimes to 5 francs. These withdrawn silver coins are still often accepted as a means of payment as they are difficult to differentiate from the coins with a copper-nickel alloy. Other coins which have been withdrawn from circulation are worthless after the statutory exchange period or, at most, may gain collector's value. Further information is available on the Coins webpage.

  • Unlike numismatists, the SNB does not deal in coins that have been withdrawn from circulation or declared worthless. It also refrains from making any estimates or valuations for collectors. Commemorative coins and complete coin sets can be ordered from Swissmint or purchased in numismatic shops. A list of coin dealers can be found on the Swissmint website.

  • Commemorative coins issued by the Swiss Confederation can be exchanged at their nominal value at the SNB's cashier's offices or agencies.

  • The regular issue coins are made with a copper-nickel alloy. The 5-centime coin also contains some aluminium. The commemorative coins are made of silver, gold or copper-nickel. The technical specifications of the coins are available on the Coins webpage.

  • From 1985 to 1993, 5-franc coins were minted with sunk relief type around the edges. As an increasing number of counterfeits with sunk relief type around the edges began to appear, a decision was made in 1994 to mint 5-franc pieces with a raised (slightly embossed) relief type around the edges. The 5-franc pieces with sunk relief type around the edges were withdrawn from circulation on 1 January 2004. The SNB continues to exchange them at full nominal value.

  • Until 1981, the 50-centime to 5-franc coins were minted 'upside down', i.e. the reverse face of the coin was minted at 180 degrees to the front (obverse) face. Since 1982, all coins have been minted 'the right way up', i.e. obverse and reverse sides are both upright, thus improving the presentation of coins in coin sets.

  • The 1-centime coins were withdrawn from circulation on 1 January 2007. The SNB has not released any of these coins since. However, they can still be found in numismatic shops. A list of coin dealers can be found on the Swissmint website.

  • There are 10-centime coins minted in 1879 still in circulation and which are still legal tender.

Your settings

Required: These cookies (e.g. for storing your IP address) cannot be rejected as they are necessary to ensure the operation of the website. These data are not evaluated further.
Analytics: If you consent to this category, data such as IP address, location, device information, browser version and site visitor behaviour will be collected. These data are evaluated for the SNB's internal purposes and are kept for two years.
Third-party: If you consent to this category, third-party services (used, for example, to add social multimedia content to the SNB's website) will be activated which collect personal data, process these data, disclose them abroad - worldwide - and place cookies. The relevant data protection regulations are linked in the 'Privacy statement for the website of the Swiss National Bank'.

Choose your preferred settings:

This website uses cookies, analytics tools and other technologies to provide requested features, content and services, to personalise the content shown, to provide links to social media, and to analyse the use of the website in anonymised form for the purposes of improving usability. Personal data are also disclosed abroad - worldwide - to video service providers and the analytics tools of these providers are used. More information is available under 'Manage settings'.