Information on reporting

  • Introduction

    For the purpose of fulfilling its statutory obligations and observing developments in the financial markets, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) collects the necessary statistical data. Reporting institutions are called upon by the SNB to take part in surveys and are required to provide information using one of the methods prescribed by the Bank. See below for further information, especially on how to structure and transmit statistical data reports.

    For reasons of presentation, separate sections have been created for the associated topics ‘Delivery formats’ and ‘Transmission of data files’.

  • Obtaining survey documents

    The SNB informs the reporting institutions in writing about their reporting obligation, and which survey documents are needed. Please use the release as indicated in the letter (i.e. the published release relevant for the reference date for which you are reporting).

    Survey documents are accessed via the page Survey documents.

    Here you will find survey documents for data deliveries and pdf files with notes and additional information. The survey documents are packaged in ZIP files containing all the documents relating to a particular survey. We recommend downloading the ZIP files and then extracting to a folder. This ensures that any links between Excel files continue to work.

    If you only require one document, this can be downloaded from the subpage on the survey in question.

    If you are unable to download the documents, the requisite survey documents can be ordered by e-mail.

    Institutions registered in eSurvey can also download the survey documents there.

  • Automatic notification via RSS and News Alert

    With an RSS feed, you will be informed of changes made to the following pages:

    The SNB News Alert mail service allows you to keep track of changes to individual webpages:

  • Faulty deliveries/follow-up deliveries

    Data deliveries that are incomplete, that cannot be processed for technical reasons, that do not comply with the specifications or that contain validation faults are deemed to be faulty. In such cases, a follow-up – i.e. corrected – delivery may be required. Follow-up deliveries must be designated as such and must contain the entire survey.

  • Submission deadlines and reminder procedures

    If the deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or public holiday recognised under federal law or by the canton of Zurich, it will be postponed until the following working day.

    If a submission deadline for a survey is not complied with, the reporting institution will receive a reminder. In the event of a failure to report, penalties are provided for by law.

  • Precision

    Figures may not be rounded and can contain an unlimited number of digits after the decimal point.

  • Confidentiality and data protection

    Confidentiality and data protection are governed by the National Bank Act (NBA) and the National Bank Ordinance (NBO) as well as by the Federal Act on Data Protection of 19 June 1992.

    The data collected are used by the SNB exclusively for the purpose of fulfilling its statutory tasks (art. 5 NBA), observing developments on the financial markets (art. 14, para. 1 NBA), or for analysing developments on the financial markets, obtaining an overview of payment transactions, preparing the balance of payments or the statistics on Switzerland’s international investment position (art.15, para.2 NBA). It may transmit data to the appropriate offices (art. 14 para. 2 and art.16, para 4 NBA). If the duty to provide information is breached, the SNB will file a complaint with the Federal Department of Finance (art. 22 para. 3 NBA), which may result in a penalty according to art. 24 NBA. The right to information is provided for under art. 8 Data Protection Act.

Informations sur l'établissement des relevés

  • Introduction

    La Banque nationale suisse (BNS) collecte les données statistiques nécessaires à l'exécution de ses tâches légales et à l'observation de l'évolution des marchés financiers. La BNS demande aux établissements tenus de fournir des données de participer aux enquêtes. Elle définit le mode de transmission. Vous trouverez ci-après des informations sur la forme et le contenu des livraisons de données statistiques.

    Quant aux informations relatives aux formats de livraison et à la transmission des relevés, elles figurent, pour des raisons de lisibilité, sur les pages correspondantes.

  • Accès aux documents d'enquête

    Les établissements tenus de renseigner sont informés par la BNS des données à fournir et des documents d'enquête à utiliser. Veuillez utiliser le release indiqué par la BNS, c'est-à-dire le release pertinent pour la date de référence.

    Documents d'enquête sur le site Internet de la BNS

    Vous trouverez la plupart des documents d'enquête sur le site de la BNS.

    Les documents d'enquête comprennent des fichiers servant à la livraison des données et des fichiers PDF contenant des commentaires et des informations supplémentaires. Tous les documents afférents à une enquête sont regroupés dans un fichier ZIP. Il est recommandé de télécharger le fichier ZIP et d'en extraire le contenu dans un seul dossier. Ce procédé garantit le fonctionnement d'éventuels liens entre les divers fichiers Excel.

    Si vous n'avez besoin que d'un seul document, vous pouvez le télécharger depuis la page affichant une vue détaillée de l'enquête concernée.

    En cas de problème de téléchargement, les documents peuvent aussi être commandés par courriel.

    Documents d'enquête sur le portail eSurvey (système en ligne de la BNS pour la transmission de données)

    Les établissements utilisant eSurvey peuvent également télécharger les documents Excel sur ce portail. Vous n'y trouverez pas d'informations complémentaires au format PDF. Un lien renvoie aux documents d'enquête accessibles depuis la page Documents d'enquête.

    Pour les enquêtes basées sur des tableaux web, il est possible d'accéder aux tableaux concernés via eSurvey. Des informations complémentaires sur ces enquêtes sont proposées sur la page Documents d'enquête.

  • Annonces par News Alert

    Le service News Alert vous informe de l'actualisation des pages web que vous avez sélectionnées. Pour bénéficier de ce service, vous devez vous enregistrer:

  • Livraisons présentant des lacunes/livraisons complémentaires

    Sont considérées comme lacunaires les livraisons qui sont incomplètes, qui, pour des raisons techniques, ne peuvent pas être traitées, qui ne correspondent pas aux spécifications de la BNS ou qui contiennent des erreurs de validation. La BNS peut exiger la correction de telles livraisons. Une livraison complémentaire ou rectifiée doit porter une mention correspondante et comprendre l'enquête intégrale.

  • Délais de livraison et procédure de rappel

    Si le dernier jour du délai de remise des données est un samedi, un dimanche ou un jour férié fédéral ou dans le canton de Zurich, le délai est reporté au jour ouvrable suivant.

    Si le délai n'est pas observé pour une enquête, un rappel est adressé à l'établissement concerné. En cas de non-respect réitéré, des sanctions sont prévues par la loi.

  • Précision des données

    Les chiffres ne doivent pas être arrondis. Ils peuvent comprendre un nombre illimité de décimales.

  • Confidentialité et protection des données

    La confidentialité et la protection des données sont régies par la loi sur la Banque nationale (LBN), l'ordonnance de la Banque nationale (OBN) et la loi du 19 juin 1992 sur la protection des données (LPD).

    La BNS traite les données collectées uniquement pour remplir ses tâches légales (art. 5 LBN), observer l'évolution des marchés financiers (art. 14, al. 1, LBN), analyser cette évolution, acquérir une vue d'ensemble du trafic des paiements, et établir la balance des paiements et la statistique de la position extérieure nette (art. 15, al. 2, LBN). Elle peut communiquer les données aux services concernés (art. 14, al. 2, et art. 16, al. 4, LBN). Les infractions à l'obligation de renseigner sont dénoncées au Département fédéral des finances (art. 22, al. 3, LBN) et peuvent faire l'objet d'une sanction en vertu de l'art. 24 LBN. Le droit d'accès aux données est garanti conformément à l'art. 8 LPD.