Print

Production

Introduction

Manuela Pfrunder and her team have been further developing the design of the ninth banknote series since 2007. They have devoted themselves to this challenging task in Manuela Pfrunder’s studio, which was specially fitted with a range of security measures. One of the main reasons for it being such a challenge is because a new banknote series is not just about the design, but rather about the interplay of design and the security features. In several production stages, the images, illustrations and security features were evaluated, reviewed and adapted. Indeed, the many design changes also resulted in the theme of the banknote series being renamed. The theme is now ‘The many facets of Switzerland’.

Images: Graphic designer hard at work (l.); Graphic designer working on a detail of the note’s front (r.)

Creating the banknote substrate

The notes for the ninth series will be printed on a three-layer banknote substrate (Durasafe®) supplied by Landqart (www.landqart.ch). Durasafe is an innovative combination of paper and polymer (a plastic layer). The Durasafe substrate consists of two thin layers of cotton paper, which make up the front and back of the banknote. The surface thus has all the qualities of traditional banknote paper, while the central polymer core lends the note mechanical strength. The first security features are applied during the production of the paper layers that make up the front and back of the note. One of these paper layers goes through a separate manufacturing process during which the tried-and-tested security thread is applied.

Images: Applying the security thread to the substrate (l.); Aligning the substrate (r.)

A number of other security features are then created in the Durasafe unit: the cut-out elements – the Swiss cross, the flag and a triangle – which give the note a unique appearance. Inside the ‘sandwich’ is a transparent layer of polymer, which bonds the two layers of paper together. This polymer is only visible in areas where the paper layers have been cut away. Finally, the paper rolls are cut to size and the sheets are stacked onto palettes, ready for delivery to the printer’s.

Images: Special machine for the Durasafe three-layer substrate (l.); Finished rolls of substrate ready for transport (r.)

Security inks

In addition to the special banknote substrate, the production of banknotes also requires special security inks which, like the notes themselves, have to meet high security standards. They must be resistant to an array of chemicals as well as to various external factors such as sunlight or a washing machine cycle. The security inks for the ninth banknote series are supplied by SICPA (www.sicpa.com) in Prilly.

Images: Adding ink for the intaglio printing process (l.); Ink vat and mixer (r.)

Printing the banknotes

The ninth banknote series, like the previous ones, is printed by Orell Füssli Security Printing Ltd (www.ofs.ch). Swiss banknote manufacturing involves several production steps, including seven printing procedures, as well as one application and one perforation procedure. The printing process begins with the preparation of the electronic data created by the graphic designer. Using CAD (computer-aided design) tools, these are converted into printable data and allocated to the relevant printing processes. The plates are made with the help of state-of-the-art plate production processes such as CtP (computer-to-plate). A super-simultaneous offset printing machine is then used to print a variety of multi-coloured line patterns and grids onto both sides of the paper sheets. The high-precision printing allows perfect alignment of elements on the front and back of the note, creating see-through registers in designated areas.

During the silkscreen printing procedure, an iridescent band is applied to the back of the note. This makes the note more stable. The foil application unit applies the security strip, which was developed by Leonhard Kurz (www.kurz.de) and consists of multiple layers and contains, among other things, red and green numbers. If you look more closely, you can see metallic microlettering and the value numeral of the denomination shining in either silver or rainbow colours.

Images: Open offset printing press (l.); Feeding in the security strip prior to application (r.)

In a second silkscreen printing procedure, a shimmering globe – which features on each new denomination – is applied to the banknote. The appearance and colour of the globe change depending on the viewing angle. Magnetic pigments are added to the ink in order to achieve this effect.

Images: Inside the print cylinder (l.); Detail on outside of the print cylinder (r.)

One of the most important stages in the printing process is intaglio printing – a technique that is used on both the front and back of the note. Coloured inks are applied to the grooves in the printing plates. The ink is applied to the paper under high pressure and at a high temperature. This creates a relief structure that can be felt when touching the note.

Images: Putting the finishing touches to the printing plate (l.); Detail of the numbering stamp (r.)

In a further step, the Swiss cross is added using a perforation procedure (Microperf®). Then, once the serial number has been applied via the letterpress printing technique, the notes are varnished to protect them against soiling. The finished paper sheets are subsequently cut to size and arranged in bundles. The print quality and security features of each and every banknote are then checked in a testing unit, and any defective notes are rejected. The final step sees the notes packed up, ready for delivery to the SNB.

Quality control

Upon delivery at the SNB, spot checks are carried out on the freshly printed banknotes. Once the quality assurance process has been completed, the new banknotes are released for circulation.

Imprimer

La production

Introduction

Depuis 2007, Manuela Pfrunder travaille avec son équipe à la conception graphique de la neuvième série de billets. Elle se consacre à cette tâche complexe dans son atelier équipé de dispositifs de sécurité spéciaux. Complexe, cette tâche l’est notamment parce que le graphisme n’est pas seul en jeu, mais doit toujours être combiné judicieusement avec les éléments de sécurité. Par conséquent, images, illustrations et éléments de sécurité ont été maintes fois vérifiés, remaniés et adaptés. Le thème de la nouvelle série de billets a lui aussi évolué pour tenir compte des divers changements au niveau du graphisme. Il est ainsi devenu «La Suisse aux multiples facettes».

Illustration: graphiste à l’œuvre (g.); graphiste examinant attentivement le recto (d.)

Fabrication du substrat du billet de banque

Les billets de banque de la neuvième série sont imprimés sur un substrat à trois couches (Durasafe®), produit par la société Landqart (www.landqart.ch). Il s’agit d’un composite innovant de papier et de polymère (couche de matière plastique). La base du Durasafe est constituée de deux fines couches de papier fabriquées à partir de coton, qui forment le recto et le verso du billet. Ainsi, la surface se comporte comme du papier de billet de banque traditionnel, tandis que le cœur de polymère au centre du billet lui confère sa résistance mécanique. Lors de la fabrication des bandes de papier, les premiers éléments de sécurité sont incorporés dans les couches du papier au recto et au verso. L’une d’elles fait ainsi l’objet d’un traitement spécial, au cours duquel est inséré le fil de sécurité, qui a déjà fait ses preuves.

Illustration: application du fil de sécurité sur le substrat (g.); guidage de la bande de substrat (d.)

Puis d’autres éléments de sécurité sont intégrés dans la structure du Durasafe. Il s’agit des éléments découpés – la croix suisse, le drapeau et le triangle –, qui donnent au billet son aspect unique. Le centre de la structure en sandwich se compose d’une couche transparente de polymère, qui réunit les deux bandes de papier. Ce polymère est visible uniquement aux endroits où la couche de papier supérieure a été découpée. Enfin, les rouleaux de papier sont détaillés, et les feuilles, déposées en piles sur des palettes en vue de leur livraison à l’imprimerie.

Illustration: machine spéciale pour la fabrication du substrat à trois couches Durasafe (g.); rouleau de substrat prêt pour le transport (d.)

Encres de sécurité

Outre un substrat particulier, la fabrication des billets de banque nécessite des encres spéciales de sécurité qui, tout comme le billet lui-même, doivent satisfaire à de hautes exigences: il leur faut résister au mieux à diverses substances chimiques, ainsi qu’à des facteurs extérieurs tels que le rayonnement solaire, le lavage en machine, etc. La société Sicpa SA (www.sicpa.com) de Prilly fournit les encres de sécurité utilisées pour l’impression des billets de banque de la neuvième série.

Illustration: ajout de l’encre pour l’impression en taille-douce (g.); encrier avec agitateur (d.)

Impression des billets

Comme dans le cas de plusieurs séries antérieures, c’est la société Orell Füssli Sicherheitsdruck AG (www.ofs.ch) qui imprime la neuvième série de billets. La production des billets de banque suisses s’effectue en plusieurs étapes et comprend notamment sept modes d’impression, un mode d’application et un mode de perforation. Le processus d’impression commence par le traitement des données électroniques provenant de la graphiste. A l’aide de la conception assistée par ordinateur (CAO), celles-ci sont converties en données imprimables et attribuées aux processus d’impression correspondants. Les plaques sont fabriquées au moyen de nouveaux processus de production tel le traitement numérique de données (Computer-to-plate; CTP). Une machine offset supersimultanée imprime, sur les deux faces des feuilles de papier, différents quadrillages en plusieurs couleurs avec une précision telle que la parfaite concordance entre les lignes du recto et du verso produit des effets de transparence aux endroits prévus.

On recourt ensuite à la sérigraphie pour imprimer une bande iridescente sur le verso des billets. Cette bande confère à ces derniers une plus grande stabilité. Puis, à l’aide d’une machine spéciale, on applique la bande de sécurité fabriquée par Leonhard Kurz (www.kurz.de). Cette dernière se compose de plusieurs couches et comporte notamment des chiffres rouges et verts. Si l’on regarde plus attentivement, on perçoit le reflet soit argenté, soit irisé du microtexte métallisé et de la valeur nominale de la coupure.

Illustration: presse offset ouverte (g.); acheminement de la bande de sécurité en vue de son application (d.)

On recourt une deuxième fois à la sérigraphie pour intégrer le globe scintillant qui apparaît sur chaque nouvelle coupure. Son aspect et sa couleur varient selon l’angle d’observation. Cet effet est obtenu par l’utilisation d’une encre contenant des pigments magnétiques.

Illustration: intérieur de la presse de sérigraphie (g.); vue détaillée de l’écran sérigraphique (d.)

L’impression en taille-douce constitue l’une des principales étapes du processus de production; on l’utilise pour les deux faces du billet. Les parties creuses des plaques d’impression contiennent les différentes couleurs. Sous l’action d’une très forte pression et d’une température élevée, la couleur est appliquée sur le papier, produisant un effet de relief perceptible au toucher.

Illustration: retouche de la plaque d’impression en taille-douce (g.); vue détaillée du numéroteur (d.)

L’étape suivante est la microperforation. Elle consiste à réaliser une croix suisse perforée (élément Microperf®) sur le billet. Puis un numéro de série est attribué à chaque billet par impression classique. Après le vernissage, destiné à protéger le papier des salissures, une machine à découper détaille les feuilles imprimées et répartit les billets ainsi obtenus en liasses individuelles. Ensuite, une machine spéciale contrôle la qualité de chaque billet, y compris ses éléments de sécurité, et élimine les coupures défectueuses. Enfin, les billets sont empaquetés et prêts à être acheminés vers la BNS à Berne.

Contrôle de qualité

La division Billets et monnaies à Berne effectue un contrôle de qualité sur un échantillon des billets tout juste sortis de presse. Après avoir passé ce contrôle avec succès, les billets peuvent être mis en circulation.