Survey of Swiss companies on payment methods

The Swiss National Bank is conducting an online survey this year on cash-related topics among companies operating in Switzerland. The SNB will ask 2,000 companies to answer questions relating to payment methods, with a focus on cash.

The aim of the survey is to obtain information on the use of cash and to identify potential changes at an early stage. The questions will thus concern the use and acceptance of payment methods, the motives for holding cash, and the supply and distribution of cash.

Key aspects of the survey design

Method

Computer Assisted Web Interview (CAWI)

Survey population

Companies operating in Switzerland

Sampling procedure

The sample was drawn from the sampling frame used for company surveys at the Swiss Federal Statistical Office.

Field time

Two months (from the beginning of May 2021 onwards)

Survey-commissioning party - Swiss National Bank

The Swiss National Bank conducts the country's monetary policy as an independent central bank. It also holds the note-issuing privilege. It supplies the Swiss economy with banknotes commensurate with demand for payment purposes. These banknotes meet high standards in terms of quality and security. The SNB is also charged by the Confederation with the task of coin distribution. With regard to payment transactions, the SNB's tasks also include facilitating and securing the functioning of the cashless payment systems.

Survey conducted by gfs.bern

For this survey, the SNB is collaborating with the research institute gfs.bern, which specialises in market research and opinion polls. Further information on the company is available at www.gfsbern.ch.

The SNB will be assisted by gfs.bern both in conducting the survey and in analysing the results.

Contact

Should you have any questions regarding the questionnaire, please contact gfs.bern either via its hotline 0800 437 123, open Monday to Friday from 8.00 to 12.00 am and 1.00 to 5.00 pm, or by sending an email to support@gfsbern.ch.

Should you have any questions regarding the contents of the survey, please get in touch with the designated contact team at the Swiss National Bank on +41 58 631 00 00 during office hours.

Documents

Umfrage zu Zahlungsmitteln bei Schweizer Unternehmen

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) führt dieses Jahr eine Onlineumfrage zu Bargeldthemen unter in der Schweiz tätigen Unternehmen durch. Dabei werden 2000 Unternehmen zu Themen im Zusammenhang mit Zahlungsmitteln - mit Fokus auf Bargeld - befragt.

Ziel der Umfrage ist es, Informationen über die Bargeldnutzung zu erhalten und mögliche Veränderungen frühzeitig zu erkennen. Zu diesem Zweck werden Fragen zur Nutzung und Akzeptanz der Zahlungsmittel, zu den Motiven der Bargeldhaltung sowie zur Bargeldversorgung gestellt.

Eckpunkte zum Studiendesign

Methode

Computer Assisted Web Interview (CAWI)

Grundgesamtheit

In der Schweiz tätige Unternehmen

Stichprobenverfahren

Die Stichprobe wurde im Stichprobenrahmen gezogen, der im Bundesamt für Statistik für die Unternehmenserhebungen verwendet wird.

Feldzeit

Zwei Monate (ab Anfang Mai 2021)

Auftraggeberin der Umfrage - Schweizerische Nationalbank

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank führt als unabhängige Zentralbank die Geld- und Währungspolitik des Landes. Zudem verfügt sie über das Monopol zur Ausgabe von Banknoten. Sie versorgt die Schweizer Wirtschaft nach den Bedürfnissen des Zahlungsverkehrs mit Noten, die hohen Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsansprüchen genügen. Im Auftrag des Bundes nimmt sie auch die Münzverteilung wahr. Im Bereich des Zahlungsverkehrs hat die SNB überdies den Auftrag, das Funktionieren bargeldloser Zahlungssysteme zu erleichtern und zu sichern.

Durchführung der Umfrage - gfs.bern

Für die Umfrage arbeitet die SNB mit dem Forschungsinstitut gfs.bern zusammen, das auf Markt- und Meinungsforschung spezialisiert ist. Unter www.gfsbern.ch finden Sie weiterführende Informationen über das Forschungsinstitut.

Die SNB wird bei der Durchführung der Umfrage und bei der Analyse der Ergebnisse von gfs.bern unterstützt.

Kontakt

Bei Rückfragen zum Fragebogen können Sie sich gerne an die telefonische Hotline von gfs.bern wenden. Diese ist von Montag bis Freitag von 8.00 bis 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 bis 17.00 Uhr unter der Nummer 0800 437 123 erreichbar. Ausserdem können Sie gfs.bern auch per E-Mail unter support@gfsbern.ch kontaktieren.

Für inhaltliche Fragen zur Erhebung stehen Ihnen zu Bürozeiten Ansprechpersonen der Schweizerischen Nationalbank unter der Nummer +41 58 631 00 00 zur Verfügung.

Dokumente