Survey on payment methods 2020

The Swiss National Bank is once again conducting a survey on payment methods this year.

The aim of the survey is to obtain representative information on the Swiss population's use of various payment methods and to identify any possible changes in this respect. The survey comprises questions covering subjects such as people's motivation behind their choice of payment method, the importance of various types of payment methods and their opinion regarding the security of these methods.

The survey consists of two parts:

  1. Personal interview in which participants respond to questions on their payment habits. The interview takes 30-60 minutes.
  2. Conducting a diary for one week, in which the participants record all the payments they make.

Key aspects of the survey design

Method

Computer-Assisted Telephone Interview (CATI) and paper or online diary

Survey population

Language-assimilated resident population of Switzerland aged 15 and over

Sampling procedure

Random: the Federal Statistical Office's sampling frame for person and household surveys.

Field time

Mid-August to mid-November 2020

Survey-commissioning party - Swiss National Bank

The Swiss National Bank conducts the country's monetary policy as an independent central bank. It also holds the note-issuing privilege. It supplies the Swiss economy with banknotes commensurate with demand for payment purposes. These banknotes meet high standards with respect to quality and security. Furthermore, it is charged by the Confederation with the task of coin distribution. In addition to this, the SNB's tasks also include facilitating and securing the functioning of the cashless payment systems.

Survey conducted by DemoSCOPE AG

The SNB is working together with market research company DemosSCOPE for the 2020 survey on payment methods. DempSCOPE concentrates on high-quality market and social research in demanding subject areas. Further information on the company is available at www.demoscope.ch.

DemoSCOPE supported the SNB in the design and development of both the questionnaire and the payments diary. It also assumes responsibility for carrying out the interviews and for analysing both the interviews and the diaries.

Contact

Should you have any questions regarding the interviews (questionnaire and diary) then please get in touch via the DemoSCOPE hotline on 0800 054 054. The hotline is available from Monday to Friday, from 8.30 am to 11.30 am, from 1.30 pm to 4.30 pm and from 5.30 pm to 8.30 pm. You can also contact DemoSCOPE by sending an email to zmu@demoscope.swiss.

Should you have any questions regarding the contents of the survey please get in touch with the designated contact team at the Swiss National Bank on +41 58 631 00 00.

Documents

Enquête sur les moyens de paiement 2020

Cette année, la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) réalise une nouvelle enquête sur l'utilisation des moyens de paiement en Suisse.

L'enquête vise à obtenir des informations représentatives sur la manière dont la population utilise les différents moyens de paiement et à identifier les changements pouvant survenir dans ce domaine. Elle porte notamment sur les motifs régissant le choix du moyen de paiement, sur l'importance des différents moyens dans le trafic des paiements et sur l'évaluation de la sécurité qu'ils offrent.

L'enquête comprend deux parties:

  1. Un entretien personnel de 30 à 60 minutes environ, au cours duquel les participants répondent à des questions sur leurs habitudes de paiement.
  2. La tenue, pendant une semaine, d'un journal dans lequel les participants inscriront les paiements qu'ils auront effectués.

Caractéristiques de l'enquête

Méthode

Entretiens individuels assistés par ordinateur (EIAO) et journal sur papier ou en ligne

Population

Population résidente âgée d'au moins 15 ans et assimilée linguistiquement

Echantillonnage

Aléatoire: Cadre d'échantillonnage pour la réalisation de sondages auprès des personnes et des ménages

Durée des travaux sur le terrain

Mi-août à mi-novembre 2020

Enquête réalisée sur mandat de la Banque nationale suisse

En sa qualité de banque centrale indépendante, la BNS conduit la politique monétaire du pays. De plus, elle exerce le monopole d'émission des billets de banque. En fonction des besoins du trafic des paiements, elle approvisionne l'économie suisse en billets répondant à des exigences élevées tant sous l'angle de la qualité que de la sécurité. A la demande de la Confédération, elle met également les pièces en circulation. Dans le domaine du trafic des paiements, la BNS a aussi pour tâche de faciliter et d'assurer le bon fonctionnement de systèmes de paiement sans numéraire.

Enquête menée par DemoSCOPE AG

La BNS a fait appel à l'institut de sondage DemoSCOPE pour réaliser l'enquête sur les moyens de paiement 2020. DemoSCOPE est spécialisé dans les études de marché et les recherches sociales de haut niveau sur des thèmes exigeants. Vous trouverez des informations complémentaires concernant cet institut sur le site www.demoscope.ch/fr.

DemoSCOPE, qui a soutenu la BNS dans l'élaboration du questionnaire et du journal des paiements, se chargera de mener les entretiens et d'analyser leurs résultats de même que les journaux.

Contact

Pour toute question sur les entretiens (questionnaire et journal des paiements), n'hésitez pas à appeler la hotline téléphonique de DemoSCOPE. Vous pouvez la joindre, du lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 11 h 30, de 13 h 30 à 16 h 30 et de 17 h 30 à 20 h 30 au numéro 0800 054 054. Vous pouvez également contacter DemoSCOPE par e-mail à l'adresse emp@demoscope.swiss.

Si vous avez des questions à propos du contenu de l'enquête, vous pouvez les adresser pendant les heures de bureau aux interlocuteurs compétents de la BNS, disponibles au numéro +41 58 631 00 00.

Documents