Print

Requirements

Swiss banknotes are traditionally required to meet high standards of security, functionality and design. They are thus a fascinating symbiosis of aesthetics and technological sophistication.

First, the banknote must meet high security requirements. With the help of security features, the public should be able to recognise genuine banknotes easily and to identify counterfeits. These security features must be difficult to counterfeit. Rapid advances in reproduction technology mean that the SNB is continuously seeking to refine banknote security features. Additional security-enhancing features have therefore been developed for the ninth banknote series (Security concept).

Second, the banknote must be user-friendly and be readily recognisable by cash handling machines. Not only do users want banknotes that are easy to handle and distinguish from one another, but they also want them to be durable and available in practical denominations. In response to an analysis of user and machine requirements, some adjustments have been made to the dimensions of the ninth-series notes (Development).

Third, banknotes should be aesthetically pleasing. In other words, design considerations should be tightly meshed with those of security and functionality. To see how the designer rose to this challenge, go to Design.

Imprimer

Les exigences

Les billets de banque suisses doivent répondre à des exigences traditionnellement élevées sur le plan pratique et sur celui de la sécurité, mais aussi au niveau de leur conception artistique. Ils représentent ainsi une symbiose fascinante d’esthétique et de haute technologie.

Le billet de banque doit d’abord remplir des exigences élevées en matière de sécurité. Les éléments de sécurité doivent permettre au public de reconnaître, aisément et sans dispositif spécial, les billets authentiques et d’identifier les fausses coupures. Les éléments de sécurité doivent en outre être difficiles à falsifier. L’évolution fulgurante des techniques de reproduction contraint la BNS à ajuster continuellement les éléments de sécurité. Aussi des éléments supplémentaires ont-ils été développés tout spécialement pour la neuvième série (Les éléments de sécurité), afin de rendre les billets encore plus sûrs.

Ensuite, le billet doit satisfaire aux exigences des usagers et du tri automatique. Les usagers s’attendent à ce que les billets soient maniables, faciles à distinguer les uns des autres, mais aussi solides et disponibles en coupures pratiques d’utilisation. L’analyse des besoins des usagers et de ceux du tri automatique a conduit à une adaptation des formats des billets de la neuvième série (Les étapes de la conception).

Le troisième type d’exigences est d’ordre esthétique. Il s’agit en effet de concilier le projet artistique avec les exigences liées à l’utilisation et à la sécurité. Consultez le lien ci-après pour comprendre comment la graphiste a tenu compte de tous ces impératifs (Le graphisme).