Print

Environmental impact assessment

It will only be possible to compile the environmental impact assessment once the first notes to be issued have completed an entire life cycle. At such time, the SNB will publish an assessment for the ninth banknote series.

Environmental impact assessment for the eighth banknote series

The Swiss National Bank puts an average of almost 100 tonnes of banknotes in circulation every year. With the exception of publications, banknotes are its only physical product. Cash transactions account for just over half of the SNB’s operating costs. In its ecological charter, the National Bank therefore set itself the goal to make sure that “our banknotes are designed, distributed and disposed of in a way that is as environmentally compatible as possible. We demand that the producers of our banknotes use production methods that are ecologically sound.”

Because the SNB’s suppliers cannot be required to commit themselves to an environmental management system, the ecological concerns could only be enforced by cooperating as partners on the product level. In 1999, the entire life cycle of the 8th issue of the Swiss banknote was analysed with the help of an environmental impact assessment (or life cycle assessment = LCA). In addition to the SNB and its environmental consultants, representatives of the paper supplier, Landqart (www.landqart.ch), and Orell Füssli (www.ofs.ch), the company that prints the banknotes, took part in the study group.

 
Illustration: Process chart of banknote life cycle
*Process step no. 5 (use of banknotes; circulation) is not taken into account in the environmental impact assessment.

The environmental impact assessment (or life cycle assessment = LCA) compiles and portrays the environmental impact of the entire life cycle, from the harvesting of cotton to all the important production, transport, storage, and treatment processes, including the incineration of the destroyed banknotes (‘from the cradle to the grave’). Banknote circulation – the public’s use of banknotes – is not taken into consideration.

Even though the indicator value of the study is limited, the results provide enough information in order for us to answer some questions, for instance:

To what extent do our banknotes pollute the environment?

Our banknotes are not particularly critical for the environment. In spite of this fact, the annual environmental impact assessment tells us that banknotes account for approximately two-thirds of the SNB's overall environmental pollution. One reason for this surprisingly high figure is the large quantity and turnover of notes as well as the considerable power consumption, especially during the storing and processing of banknotes.

How about simply composting banknotes rather than burning them?

Contrary to popular belief, the manner in which we dispose of our banknotes is of little relevance from an ecological viewpoint. We are justified in making this statement despite the fact that, for lack of better data, we had to use data for recycled paper with normal printing to analyse the incineration process. Taking steps in this direction, therefore, would not bring about any marked improvement.

More detailed information on the environmental impact assessment can be found in an article published in the Quarterly Bulletin 3/2000:

Life cycle assessment (LCA) of Swiss banknotes
PDF [2370 kB]

Imprimer

L’écobilan

La Banque nationale ne sera en mesure d’établir un écobilan pour la neuvième série de billets de banque que lorsque les premiers billets mis en circulation auront accompli un cycle de vie complet.

L’écobilan de la huitième série de billets de banque

La Banque nationale suisse met en moyenne quelque 100 tonnes de nouveaux billets de banque en circulation par an. Abstraction faite des publications, le billet de banque constitue son unique produit physique. Or plus de la moitié de ses frais d’exploitation totaux est imputable au numéraire. Aussi la Banque nationale s’est-elle engagée, dans sa charte sur l’environnement, à veiller «...à ce que nos billets de banque soient conçus, distribués, triés et éliminés autant que possible de manière écologique. Nous exigeons des fabricants qu’ils utilisent des procédés de production peu dommageables pour l’environnement.»

Etant donné que la Banque nationale ne peut exiger de ses fournisseurs qu’ils adoptent un système de gestion de l’environnement, seule une collaboration au niveau du produit lui permettait d’atteindre ses objectifs en matière de protection de l’environnement. Dans le cadre d’un écobilan de produit, elle a examiné, l’an passé, toutes les phases du cycle de vie de la huitième série de billets de banque. Au sein du groupe de travail chargé de cette étude, la Banque nationale et ses conseillers en environnement ont travaillé avec des représentants du fournisseur de papier Landqart (www.landqart.ch) et de l’imprimeur Orell Füssli (www.ofs.ch).

Illustration: les étapes du cycle de vie des billets de banque
*Usine d'incinération des ordures ménagères
**L'étape 5 (Utilisation des billets de banque; circulation) n'est pas prise en compte dans l'écobilan.

L’écobilan dresse l’inventaire de l’ensemble des nuisances provoquées au cours du cycle de vie d’un billet de banque, de la production du coton à l’incinération des coupures détruites en passant par les principaux processus de fabrication, de transport, de stockage et de tri, selon le principe «from the cradle to the grave» (du berceau au tombeau). La circulation des billets – leur utilisation par le grand public – n’a pas été prise en compte dans cette analyse.

La fiabilité des résultats de l’étude ne peut être totalement garantie. Les données ainsi recueillies nous permettent néanmoins de répondre à un certain nombre de questions comme par exemple:

Quel est l’impact de nos billets de banque sur l’environnement?

En termes de nuisances écologiques, nos billets de banque ne sont pas un produit particulièrement dangereux. Selon notre écobilan annuel, on constate toutefois que les deux tiers environ des atteintes à l’environnement dues à l’ensemble des activités de la Banque nationale leur sont imputables. Cette proportion étonnamment élevée s’explique, d’une part, par la quantité considérable de coupures mises en circulation et, d’autre part, par la forte consommation d’énergie, requise notamment pour le stockage et le tri.

Serait-il possible d’éliminer les billets de banque par compostage plutôt que par incinération?

Contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait croire, le mode d’élimination choisi ne génère que très peu de nuisances. Cette affirmation est justifiée, bien qu’elle se fonde sur les valeurs recensées pour le papier imprimé normal, faute de données plus précises en ce qui concerne l’incinération du papier utilisé pour les billets de banque. La mise en œuvre de mesures dans ce domaine n’apporterait donc guère de progrès marquants.

De plus amples informations au sujet de l'écobilan sur les billets de banque suisses figurent dans un article du Bulletin trimestriel 3/2000:

Cycle de vie des billets de banque en Suisse
PDF