Print

Development

Denomination, dimensions and colours

The development of the ninth banknote series began in the 2000s when several key decisions were taken. As all of the denominations had proven their worth, the SNB decided to keep the same denominations as in the eighth banknote series. This means that the new series will also feature a 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 1000-franc note.

However, changes have been made to the dimensions of the banknotes in the ninth series. In each case, the width has been reduced from 74 mm to 70 mm. Furthermore, studies have shown that the gradations of length should be smaller for the new notes. To date, the difference in length between each denomination was 11 mm; in the future this will be reduced to just 7 mm. The higher denomination notes in particular will therefore be noticeably shorter than those of the current series. This will reduce wear and tear in the wallet.  

The colour scheme of the ninth banknote series will remain essentially unchanged. Experience has shown that continuity in the colour scheme provides valuable guidance for users.

Selection of security features

When developing a new banknote series, particular attention is paid to the choice of security features. In conjunction with its partners, the SNB has devised several new and innovative features for the ninth series, including the substrate, the globe, the security strip, the cross and the triangle. Thanks to these security features, which are based on new technologies and processes, the ninth series is extremely difficult to counterfeit.  

Selection of designer

At the beginning of 2005, the SNB launched a competition for the design of the ninth banknote series, inviting twelve graphic designers to submit their proposals. The task of the competition was to come up with design proposals for the new series, while taking certain technical requirements into consideration. The designs were then evaluated by a jury, ranked and presented to the public at the end of November 2005.

In February 2007, the SNB announced that it would be pursuing preparations for Switzerland’s new banknote series with Swiss graphic designer Manuela Pfrunder, who had been placed second in the competition. After the designs of the three winners were developed further, it became clear that Manuela Pfrunder’s work was particularly suitable for the new banknote series in terms of realisability.

Image: Designer Manuela Pfrunder

Les étapes de la conception

  • Coupure, format et couleurs

    Plusieurs décisions fondamentales ont présidé à la conception de la neuvième série de billets dans les années 2000. Il a été décidé de garder les mêmes coupures que celles de la huitième série, puisqu’elles avaient fait leurs preuves. La neuvième série comprend donc elle aussi des billets de 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 et 1000 francs.

    Toutefois, leur format diffère. La largeur des billets est désormais de 70 mm au lieu de 74 mm. En outre, il a été convenu de réduire l’écart de longueur d’une coupure à l’autre. La différence entre une valeur donnée et la valeur suivante est désormais de 7 mm au lieu de 11 mm. Les grosses coupures de la nouvelle série sont en particulier nettement moins longues que celles de la précédente. De ce fait, on peut ranger les billets plus soigneusement dans le portefeuille.

    Les couleurs des différents billets restent les mêmes. L’expérience a montré que la continuité sur le plan des couleurs s’avère très précieuse pour les usagers.

  • Choix des éléments de sécurité

    Lors de la conception d’une série de billets de banque, une attention particulière est portée au choix des éléments de sécurité. Pour la neuvième série, la BNS a développé avec ses partenaires des éléments d’avant garde: par exemple, le substrat, le globe, la bande de sécurité, la croix et le triangle. Se fondant sur des technologies modernes et des processus novateurs, ces éléments de sécurité rendent les billets de la neuvième série extrêmement difficiles à falsifier.

  • Sélection de l’artiste graphiste

    Début 2005, la Banque nationale a lancé un concours d’idées et invité douze graphistes à présenter des projets en vue de la réalisation de la neuvième série de billets. Il s’agissait pour les participants d’élaborer, sous certaines contraintes techniques, des projets en vue de la conception artistique de la nouvelle série de billets. Les travaux ont été évalués et récompensés par un jury, puis présentés au public fin novembre 2005.

    En février 2007, la Banque nationale suisse a fait savoir que les travaux préparatoires en vue de l’émission de la nouvelle série seraient poursuivis avec la graphiste Manuela Pfrunder, qui avait obtenu le deuxième prix lors du concours d’idées. Les trois lauréats du concours avaient en effet été invités à développer les travaux qu’ils avaient présentés. Dans ce cadre, il s’est avéré que les projets de Manuela Pfrunder se prêtaient particulièrement bien à la réalisation.

    L'artiste graphiste Manuela Pfrunder
    L'artiste graphiste Manuela Pfrunder