Survey on payment methods 2020

The Swiss National Bank is once again conducting a survey on payment methods this year.

The aim of the survey is to obtain representative information on the Swiss population's use of various payment methods and to identify any possible changes in this respect. The survey comprises questions covering subjects such as people's motivation behind their choice of payment method, the importance of various types of payment methods and their opinion regarding the security of these methods.

The survey consists of two parts:

  1. Personal interview in which participants respond to questions on their payment habits. The interview takes 30-60 minutes.
  2. Conducting a diary for one week, in which the participants record all the payments they make.

Key aspects of the survey design

Method

Computer-Assisted Telephone Interview (CATI) and paper or online diary

Survey population

Language-assimilated resident population of Switzerland aged 15 and over

Sampling procedure

Random: the Federal Statistical Office's sampling frame for person and household surveys.

Field time

Mid-August to mid-November 2020

Survey-commissioning party - Swiss National Bank

The Swiss National Bank conducts the country's monetary policy as an independent central bank. It also holds the note-issuing privilege. It supplies the Swiss economy with banknotes commensurate with demand for payment purposes. These banknotes meet high standards with respect to quality and security. Furthermore, it is charged by the Confederation with the task of coin distribution. In addition to this, the SNB's tasks also include facilitating and securing the functioning of the cashless payment systems.

Survey conducted by DemoSCOPE AG

The SNB is working together with market research company DemosSCOPE for the 2020 survey on payment methods. DempSCOPE concentrates on high-quality market and social research in demanding subject areas. Further information on the company is available at www.demoscope.ch.

DemoSCOPE supported the SNB in the design and development of both the questionnaire and the payments diary. It also assumes responsibility for carrying out the interviews and for analysing both the interviews and the diaries.

Contact

Should you have any questions regarding the interviews (questionnaire and diary) then please get in touch via the DemoSCOPE hotline on 0800 054 054. The hotline is available from Monday to Friday, from 8.30 am to 11.30 am, from 1.30 pm to 4.30 pm and from 5.30 pm to 8.30 pm. You can also contact DemoSCOPE by sending an email to zmu@demoscope.swiss.

Should you have any questions regarding the contents of the survey please get in touch with the designated contact team at the Swiss National Bank on +41 58 631 00 00.

Documents

Zahlungsmittelumfrage 2020

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) führt dieses Jahr wiederum eine Zahlungsmittelumfrage durch.

Ziel der Umfrage ist es, repräsentative Informationen über die Nutzung unterschiedlicher Zahlungsmittel durch die Schweizer Bevölkerung zu erhalten und mögliche Veränderungen zu erkennen. Die Erhebung umfasst unter anderem Fragen zu den Motiven der Zahlungsmittelwahl, zur Bedeutung verschiedener Zahlungsmittel im Zahlungsverkehr und zur Einschätzung ihrer Sicherheit.

Die Umfrage besteht aus zwei Teilen:

  1. Persönliches Interview, bei dem die Teilnehmenden Fragen zu ihren Zahlungsgewohnheiten beantworten. Das Interview dauert 30 bis 60 Minuten.
  2. Führen eines einwöchigen Zahlungstagebuchs, in dem die Teilnehmenden die von Ihnen vorgenommenen Zahlungen festhalten.

Eckpunkte zum Studiendesign

Methode

Computer Assisted Telephone Interview (CATI) und Papier- oder Online-Tagebuch

Grundgesamtheit

Sprachassimilierte Wohnbevölkerung der Schweiz ab einem Alter von 15 Jahren

Stichprobenverfahren

Random: Stichprobenrahmen des Bundesamtes für Statistik für Personen- und Haushaltserhebungen

Feldzeit

Mitte August bis Mitte November 2020

Auftraggeberin der Umfrage - Schweizerische Nationalbank

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) führt als unabhängige Zentralbank die Geld- und Währungspolitik des Landes. Zudem verfügt sie über das Monopol zur Ausgabe von Banknoten. Sie versorgt die Schweizer Wirtschaft nach den Bedürfnissen des Zahlungsverkehrs mit Noten, die hohen Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsansprüchen genügen. Im Auftrag des Bundes nimmt sie auch die Münzverteilung wahr. Im Bereich des Zahlungsverkehrs hat die SNB überdies den Auftrag, das Funktionieren bargeldloser Zahlungssysteme zu erleichtern und zu sichern.

Durchführung der Umfrage - DemoSCOPE AG

Für die Zahlungsmittelumfrage 2020 arbeitet die SNB mit dem Marktforschungsinstitut DemoSCOPE zusammen. DemoSCOPE fokussiert sich auf qualitativ hochwertige Markt- und Sozialforschung zu anspruchsvollen Themen. Unter www.demoscope.ch finden Sie weiterführende Informationen über das Marktforschungsinstitut.

DemoSCOPE unterstützte die SNB bei der Konzeption des Fragebogens sowie des Zahlungstagebuchs und übernimmt die Durchführung und Analyse der Interviews sowie die Analyse der Tagebücher.

Kontakt

Bei Rückfragen zu den Interviews (Fragebogen und Zahlungstagebuch) können Sie sich gerne an die telefonische Hotline von DemoSCOPE wenden. Diese ist von Montag bis Freitag von 08.30 bis 11.30 Uhr, von 13.30 bis 16.30 Uhr und von 17.30 bis 20.30 Uhr unter der Nummer 0800 054 054 erreichbar. Sie können DemoSCOPE auch per E-Mail unter zmu@demoscope.swiss kontaktieren.

Für inhaltliche Fragen zur Erhebung stehen Ihnen zu Bürozeiten Ansprechpersonen der Schweizerischen Nationalbank unter der Nummer +41 58 631 00 00 zur Verfügung.

Dokumente