Print

Design of the eighth banknote series

If you click on a banknote in the overall view, detailed information on this note and the portrayed personality are displayed.

10-franc note

Main colour: Yellow
Dimensions: 126 x 74 mm
Date of issue: 8 April 1997
Personality: Le Corbusier
 

Remember this man's picture.

The portrait on the front side of the 10 franc banknote shows Charles Edourd Jaenneret, better known as Le Corbusier (1887-1965), one of the outstanding masters of modern design. Le Corbusier was an architect, town planner, urbanist, painter and theoretician whose creative energies focused on the human being. This orientation is expressed, above all, in his pioneering concepts of residential design and urban planning. Le Corbusier used skeleton construction and prefabrication techniques in an innovative industrial approach to building - for example in the government complex in Chandigarh, India. Moreover, he influenced modern design and gained international recognition as a designer of furniture and as an architect of sacred buildings, for example the famous pilgrim church of Notre-Dame-du-Haut in Ronchamp.

 
1

Microtext (front)

LE CORBUSIER ARCHITECTE URBANISTE PEINTRE E THÉORICIEN A APPLIQUÉ DES IDÉES VISIONNAIRES ET RÉVOLUTIONNAIRES POUR LA CONSTRUCTION ET L'URBANISME

LE CORBUSIER ARCHITETTO URBANISTA PITTORE E TEORICO HA APPLICATO IDEE VISIONARIE E RIVOLUZIONARIE PER LA COSTRUZIONE E L'URBANISTICA

A

Palace of Justice at Chandigarh

The foyer of the Palace of Justice is based on three design principles: three-dimensional design, a predilection for ramps to connect the floors, and the dynamic relationship between the interior and the exterior.

B

Facade of the Secretariat

The central element shows the facade of the Secretariat. Here, Le Corbusier's architectonic thinking is visible: the use of his 'Modulor' scale of measures, the revealing of spatial cells across the entire facade, and the use of the brise-soleil to make a three-dimensional statement.

C

The 'Modulor'

The 'Modulor', which is based on the golden ratio and the proportions of the human body, is Le Corbusier's own universal measurement scale. It puts the human figure, as the measure of all things, at the centre of architectural design.

D

Secretariat building at Chandigarh

The Secretariat - the largest building designed by Le Corbusier - employs the key elements of the new architecture: the use of unfinished concrete as the universal building material to achieve specific design effects, a freely structured facade, brise-soleil and the roof terrace.

1

Microtext (back)

LE CORBUSIER HAT ALS ARCHITEKT URBANIST MALER UND THEORETIKER BAHNBRECHENDE UND VISIONÄRE ANWENDUNGEN FÜR DEN WOHN- UND STÄDTEBAU VERWIRKLICHT

LE CORBUSIER ARCHITECT URBANIST PICTUR E TEORETICHER HA APPLITGÀ IDEAS REVOLUZIUNARAS E VISIUNARAS PER LA CONSTRUCZIUN E L'URBANISTICA

Curriculum vitae: Le Corbusier (Charles Edouard Jeanneret)
PDF (85 kB)

Drucken

Die Gestaltung der 8. Banknotenserie



Wenn Sie auf eine der Banknoten in der Übersicht klicken, erscheinen detaillierte Informationen über die Note und die darauf abgebildete Persönlichkeit.

Die 10-Franken-Note

Hauptfarbe: gelb
Format: 126 x 74 mm
Ausgabedatum: 8. April 1997
Persönlichkeit: Le Corbusier
 

Prägen Sie sich das Bild dieses Mannes genau ein.

Das Porträt auf der Vorderseite der 10-Franken-Note zeigt Charles Edouard Jeanneret, genannt Le Corbusier (1887-1965), einen der bedeutendsten Gestalter unserer Zeit. Le Corbusier war Architekt, Städtebauer, Urbanist, Maler und Theoretiker in einer Person. Im Mittelpunkt seines Schaffens steht immer der Mensch. Das kommt vor allem in seinen bahnbrechenden Konzepten des Wohn- und Städtebaus zum Ausdruck. Mit der Skelett- und Fertigbautechnik hat er zukunftsweisende Anwendungen industriellen Bauens entwickelt und zum Beispiel in den Gebäuden des Regierungsbezirks im indischen Chandigarh realisiert. Aber auch mit seinen sakralen Bauten, etwa der berühmten Wallfahrtskirche Notre Dame du Haut in Ronchamp, und als Möbelgestalter hat Le Corbusier die Moderne beeinflusst und international Anerkennung gefunden.

 
1

Mikrotext (Vorderseite)

LE CORBUSIER ARCHITECTE URBANISTE PEINTRE E THÉORICIEN A APPLIQUÉ DES IDÉES VISIONNAIRES ET RÉVOLUTIONNAIRES POUR LA CONSTRUCTION ET L'URBANISME

LE CORBUSIER ARCHITETTO URBANISTA PITTORE E TEORICO HA APPLICATO IDEE VISIONARIE E RIVOLUZIONARIE PER LA COSTRUZIONE E L'URBANISTICA

A

Der Justizpalast von Chandigarh

Die Eingangshalle im Justizpalast beruht auf drei Gestaltungsprinzipien: der plastischen Formgebung, einer Vorliebe für Rampen als Verbindung zwischen den Stockwerken sowie dem dynamischen Bezug zwischen Innen und Aussen.

B

Die Fassade des Sekretariats

Das zentrale Element zeigt die Fassade des Sekretariats. Hier wird das architektonische Denken Le Corbusiers sichtbar: Die Anwendung seines Masssystems «Modulor», die Öffnung der Raumzellen über die ganze Fassade und der Einsatz des Sonnenbrechers als Element des plastischen Ausdrucks.

C

Der «Modulor»

Der «Modulor» ist Le Corbusiers eigenes, universelles Masssystem. Er stellt den Menschen als Mass aller Dinge ins Zentrum der Architektur. Grundlage für den «Modulor» bilden der Goldene Schnitt und die Proportionen des menschlichen Körpers.

D

Das Sekretariatsgebäude von Chandigarh

Das grösste von Le Corbusier gestaltete Gebäude verkörpert zentrale Elemente der neuen Architektur: Rohbeton als universeller Baustoff und mit gestalterischer Absicht eingesetzt, die freie Fassadengestaltung, die Sonnenbrecher und die Dachterrasse.

1

Mikrotext (Rückseite)

LE CORBUSIER HAT ALS ARCHITEKT URBANIST MALER UND THEORETIKER BAHNBRECHENDE UND VISIONÄRE ANWENDUNGEN FÜR DEN WOHN- UND STÄDTEBAU VERWIRKLICHT

LE CORBUSIER ARCHITECT URBANIST PICTUR E TEORETICHER HA APPLITGÀ IDEAS REVOLUZIUNARAS E VISIUNARAS PER LA CONSTRUCZIUN E L'URBANISTICA

Lebenslauf: Le Corbusier (Charles Edouard Jeanneret)
PDF (49 kB)