Information on reporting

  • Introduction

    For the purpose of fulfilling its statutory obligations and observing developments in the financial markets, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) collects the necessary statistical data. Reporting institutions are called upon by the SNB to take part in surveys and are required to provide information using one of the methods prescribed by the Bank. See below for further information, especially on how to structure and transmit statistical data reports.

    For reasons of presentation, separate sections have been created for the associated topics ‘Delivery formats’ and ‘Transmission of data files’.

  • Obtaining survey documents

    The SNB informs the reporting institutions in writing about their reporting obligation, and which survey documents are needed. Please use the release as indicated in the letter (i.e. the published release relevant for the reference date for which you are reporting).

    Survey documents are accessed via the page Survey documents.

    Here you will find survey documents for data deliveries and pdf files with notes and additional information. The survey documents are packaged in ZIP files containing all the documents relating to a particular survey. We recommend downloading the ZIP files and then extracting to a folder. This ensures that any links between Excel files continue to work.

    If you only require one document, this can be downloaded from the subpage on the survey in question.

    If you are unable to download the documents, the requisite survey documents can be ordered by e-mail.

    Institutions registered in eSurvey can also download the survey documents there.

  • Automatic notification via RSS and News Alert

    With an RSS feed, you will be informed of changes made to the following pages:

    The SNB News Alert mail service allows you to keep track of changes to individual webpages:

  • Faulty deliveries/follow-up deliveries

    Data deliveries that are incomplete, that cannot be processed for technical reasons, that do not comply with the specifications or that contain validation faults are deemed to be faulty. In such cases, a follow-up – i.e. corrected – delivery may be required. Follow-up deliveries must be designated as such and must contain the entire survey.

  • Submission deadlines and reminder procedures

    If the deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or public holiday recognised under federal law or by the canton of Zurich, it will be postponed until the following working day.

    If a submission deadline for a survey is not complied with, the reporting institution will receive a reminder. In the event of a failure to report, penalties are provided for by law.

  • Precision

    Figures may not be rounded and can contain an unlimited number of digits after the decimal point.

  • Confidentiality and data protection

    Confidentiality and data protection are governed by the National Bank Act (NBA) and the National Bank Ordinance (NBO) as well as by the Federal Act on Data Protection of 19 June 1992.

    The data collected are used by the SNB exclusively for the purpose of fulfilling its statutory tasks (art. 5 NBA), observing developments on the financial markets (art. 14, para. 1 NBA), or for analysing developments on the financial markets, obtaining an overview of payment transactions, preparing the balance of payments or the statistics on Switzerland’s international investment position (art.15, para.2 NBA). It may transmit data to the appropriate offices (art. 14 para. 2 and art.16, para 4 NBA). If the duty to provide information is breached, the SNB will file a complaint with the Federal Department of Finance (art. 22 para. 3 NBA), which may result in a penalty according to art. 24 NBA. The right to information is provided for under art. 8 Data Protection Act.

Informationen zum Meldewesen

  • Einleitung

    Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) erhebt zur Wahrnehmung ihrer gesetzlichen Aufgaben und zur Beobachtung der Entwicklung auf den Finanzmärkten die erforderlichen statistischen Daten. Die auskunftspflichtigen Personen werden von der SNB zur Teilnahme an der Erhebung eingeladen und haben die Auskünfte unter anderem in der von der SNB festgelegten Form zu erteilen. Die folgenden Informationen regeln insbesondere die Einzelheiten zur Form und Übermittlung der Meldung statistischer Daten.

    Die hierzu gehörenden Themen Lieferformate und Übermittlung von Meldungen wurden aus Gründen der Darstellung in eigene Kapitel ausgegliedert.

  • Bezug der Erhebungsmittel

    Die SNB informiert die auskunftspflichtigen Unternehmen jeweils schriftlich über die Meldepflichten und darüber, welche Erhebungsmittel verwendet werden müssen. Es ist der jeweils mitgeteilte Release (resp. der für das zu liefernde Stichdatum relevante, publizierte Release) massgebend.

    Der Einstieg zu den einzelnen Erhebungsmitteln erfolgt über die Liste aller Erhebungsmittel.

    Zur Verfügung stehen Erhebungsmittel für die Datenlieferungen und PDF-Dateien mit Erläuterungen und weiteren Informationen. Die Erhebungsmittel sind in ZIP-Dateien gepackt, die alle Dokumente zu einer Erhebung beinhalten. Wir empfehlen, die ZIP-Dateien herunterzuladen und in einem Verzeichnis zu entpacken. Damit ist gewährleistet, dass allfällige Verknüpfungen zwischen Excel-Dateien weiterhin funktionieren.

    Wird nur ein einzelnes Dokument benötigt, kann dieses alternativ von der Detailseite der entsprechenden Erhebung heruntergeladen werden.

    Ist das Herunterladen nicht möglich, können die gewünschten Erhebungsmittel auch per E-Mail bestellt werden.

    Unternehmen, die in eSurvey angemeldet sind, können die Erhebungsmittel auch dort herunterladen.

  • Benachrichtigung mit RSS und News Alert

    Mit RSS werden Sie über Änderungen auf folgenden Seiten informiert:

    Mit dem Mail Service News Alert können Sie sich über Änderungen von einzelnen Webseiten informieren lassen. Dazu müssen Sie sich registrieren.

  • Mangelhafte Lieferungen/Nachlieferungen

    Als mangelhaft gelten Datenlieferungen, die unvollständig sind, die aus technischen Gründen nicht verarbeitet werden können, die nicht den vorgegebenen Spezifikationen entsprechen oder die Validierungsfehler enthalten. Sie können nachgefordert werden. Eine Nachlieferung bzw. Korrekturlieferung muss als solche gekennzeichnet sein und die vollständige Erhebung enthalten.

  • Einreichefristen und Mahnverfahren

    Fällt der letzte Tag der Frist auf einen Samstag, Sonntag oder einen vom Bundesrecht oder vom Kanton Zürich anerkannten Feiertag, so endet sie am nächstfolgenden Werktag.

    Wird die für eine Erhebung gegebene Einreichefrist nicht eingehalten, erhält der Meldepflichtige eine Mahnung. Bei einem Meldeversäumnis sieht das Gesetz Sanktionsmöglichkeiten vor.

  • Genauigkeit

    Zahlenwerte dürfen nicht gerundet werden und können mit beliebig vielen Nachkommastellen angegeben werden.

  • Vertraulichkeit und Datenschutz

    Die Vertraulichkeit und der Datenschutz sind im Nationalbankgesetz (NBG) und in der Verordnung zum Nationalbankgesetz (NBV) sowie im Bundesgesetz vom 19. Juni 1992 über den Datenschutz (DSG) geregelt.

    Die SNB verwendet die erhobenen Daten ausschliesslich zur Wahrnehmung ihrer gesetzlichen Aufgaben (Art. 5 NBG), zur Beobachtung der Entwicklung auf den Finanzmärkten (Art. 14 Abs. 1 NBG) sowie für die Analyse der Entwicklungen auf den Finanzmärkten, den Überblick über den Zahlungsverkehr, die Erstellung der Zahlungsbilanz oder für die Statistik über das Auslandvermögen (Art. 15 Abs. 2 NBG). Sie kann die Daten den zuständigen Stellen bekanntgeben (Art. 14 Abs. 2 und Art. 16 Abs. 4 NBG). Widerhandlungen gegen die Auskunftspflicht führen zur Anzeigeerstattung an das EFD (Art. 22 Abs. 3 NBG) und können gemäss Art. 24 NBG bestraft werden. Das Auskunftsrecht gemäss Art. 8 DSG wird gewährleistet.