Print

Questions and answers on foreign exchange swaps

What is a foreign exchange swap?

In a foreign exchange swap, the purchase (sale) of foreign currency at the current spot rate and the sale (purchase) of the foreign currency at a later date are simultaneously agreed, with the SNB exchanging Swiss francs for a foreign currency. The exchange rates for the spot and forward transactions are determined at the time the transaction is concluded.

Why does the SNB enter into foreign exchange swaps?

SNB foreign exchange swaps against Swiss francs can be split into three groups - first, swaps as monetary policy instruments for managing liquidity on the Swiss franc money market; second, liquidity swap agreements to provide SNB counterparties with foreign currencies; and third, swaps for supplying foreign money markets with Swiss francs via other central banks.

How can the SNB increase liquidity on the Swiss franc money market using foreign exchange swaps?

It does so through liquidity-providing foreign exchange swaps. The SNB sells Swiss francs to its counterparty for the term of the transaction, receiving foreign currency as collateral. The Swiss franc amount is credited to the counterparty's SNB sight deposit account for the term of the foreign exchange swap; liquidity on the Swiss franc money market increases accordingly. If these foreign exchange swaps are not renewed at the end of the term, this means that liquidity is again withdrawn from the Swiss franc money market. The SNB's contracting parties are commercial banks which fulfil certain requirements. Foreign exchange swaps are concluded via auction (volume tender) or on a bilateral basis with a wide range of counterparties. Foreign exchange swaps were the SNB's most important instrument for supplying the Swiss franc money market with liquidity until 2000, when they were replaced by repo transactions.

How are SNB counterparties supplied with foreign currencies through foreign exchange swaps?

What is involved here is a foreign exchange swap between central banks which serves to provide banks and other financial market participants in Switzerland with the foreign currency they require - in particular, US dollars. For this purpose, the SNB obtains foreign currency from the relevant central bank through liquidity swaps. The central bank in question receives Swiss francs from the SNB as collateral. The SNB provides the foreign currencies to financial market participants in Switzerland, as required, by means of repo auctions. In these transactions, the SNB takes on the function of a foreign currency intermediary. The foreign exchange swaps do not have any impact on the supply of money in Swiss francs and are therefore neutral in terms of monetary policy. However, they help to counter tension on the financial markets.

How can the SNB supply foreign money markets with Swiss francs through foreign exchange swaps with other central banks?

In this case, too, a foreign exchange swap between central banks is involved. The aim is to eliminate a Swiss franc shortage on the part of foreign banks which do not have direct access to the SNB's money market transactions. For this purpose, the SNB provides foreign central banks with Swiss francs through foreign exchange swap arrangements. They can then pass these on to commercial banks in their area of influence, as required. As collateral for providing Swiss francs, the SNB generally accepts foreign currencies from the central bank in question or, when necessary, other securities. These foreign exchange swaps increase Swiss franc liquidity and therefore have a monetary policy impact; at the same time they help to counter tension on the financial markets.

When did the SNB last use foreign exchange swaps as a monetary policy instrument?

From 10 August 2011, the SNB concluded monetary policy liquidity-providing foreign exchange swaps against US dollars, euros, pounds sterling and Canadian dollars, in order to accelerate the increase in Swiss franc liquidity which it had already announced. As at the end of September 2011, some CHF 80 billion of liquidity-providing foreign exchange swaps were outstanding. This high level was reduced in the months that followed. Some of the swaps were replaced by liquidity-providing repo transactions and a certain reduction in liquidity was permitted, but the overall level remained exceptionally high. At the beginning of summer 2012, finally, foreign currency sales aimed at securing the minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro led to another expansion of liquidity on the Swiss franc money market, so that the foreign exchange swaps became unnecessary. Since the end of June 2012, no more liquidity-providing foreign exchange swaps have been outstanding at the SNB.

What swap agreements are currently in use at the SNB?

The only swap agreement currently in use with another central bank is the one with the US Federal Reserve. So far, the offer of US dollar liquidity has only been taken up in individual cases - the last occasion was in January 2012, with repayment being made at the end of March 2012. The weekly results may be found at US dollar auctions conducted by the SNB.

The central banks participating in swap agreements designed to provide the markets with US dollar liquidity are the Bank of Canada, the Bank of England, the Bank of Japan, the European Central Bank (ECB), the US Federal Reserve and the SNB. In October 2013, these central banks announced that their existing, temporary swap arrangements would be made permanent, and remain in place until further notice. These inter-central bank swap arrangements enable the reintroduction of operations to make foreign currencies available should market conditions so dictate.

Has the SNB concluded any other swap agreements?

As part of the extension of the swap agreement with the US Federal Reserve in November 2011, the SNB decided to participate in the development of a network of temporary reciprocal swap agreements with the central banks listed above. This allows the SNB to provide the other central banks with Swiss francs for their counterparties, if required. Conversely, it would also be in a position to provide liquidity not just in US dollars, but also in Canadian dollars, pounds sterling, yen and euros. At present there is no need to provide banks in Switzerland with liquidity in any foreign currencies other than US dollars. The agreements were concluded as a precautionary measure to ensure that liquidity-providing operations could be initiated rapidly if required. In October 2013, these arrangements, like those for the provision of US dollars, were converted into standing arrangements. The SNB also has a swap arrangement with the National Bank of Belgium, which was put into place many years ago primarily with a view to possible requirements in connection with payment transactions. In June 2012, the SNB and the National Bank of Poland also concluded a CHF/PLN (zloty) swap agreement as a precautionary measure, in order to cover the need for Swiss franc liquidity in Poland, if required. In July 2014, the SNB signed a swap agreement with the central bank of China. Aside from the possibility of allowing liquidity in renminbi and Swiss francs to be made available to the relevant markets as required, this swap agreement constitutes a key prerequisite for the development of a renminbi market in Switzerland.

When was the last time that foreign exchange swaps were used to supply foreign money markets with Swiss francs via other central banks?

From October 2008 to January 2010, the SNB provided mainly banks abroad with additional Swiss franc liquidity through EUR/CHF foreign exchange swaps. These swaps were carried out under swap agreements with the ECB, the National Bank of Poland and the Hungarian central bank.

Why is the SNB one of the leading central banks in the world in terms of its network of liquidity swap agreements?

In the global financial system, the Swiss financial centre and the Swiss franc hold a key position. That is why the most important central banks around the world are interested in including the SNB in the swap agreement network. Conversely, participation makes sense for the SNB, to ensure that it has access to liquidity in foreign currencies if required.

What is the usual duration of a foreign exchange swap agreement?

The contracting parties have the freedom to set the terms of monetary policy foreign exchange swaps as they wish. However, the duration does not usually exceed three months.

The terms of foreign exchange swaps between central banks under liquidity swap agreements depend on the transaction used to provide the temporary liquidity to financial market participants. When US dollar operations were introduced in 2007, 28-day terms were standard in the initial period; they were followed by swaps with various terms, some of them only one day long.

What does a foreign exchange swap cost?

The price of a foreign exchange swap depends on market conditions, in other words, the interest rate spread between the currencies in question. This means that, from an economic standpoint, during the term of the foreign exchange swap, the customer pays the rate of interest on the currency borrowed and receives the rate of interest on the currency lent.

In the case of monetary policy foreign exchange swaps, banks needing liquidity are required to pay a premium in addition to market interest rates. By contrast, if the SNB wishes to provide the market with liquidity, it may under certain circumstances - for instance, if the level of liquidity in the market is already very high - have to pay a premium to banks. In the SNB income statement, these premiums are not stated separately, but rather as part of the net result from foreign currency positions.

Which item in the balance sheet does the SNB employ for reporting the foreign exchange swaps it uses as monetary policy instruments?

Foreign exchange purchased temporarily under monetary policy foreign exchange swaps is reported in the balance sheet as part of foreign currency investments; the Swiss francs which have been temporarily sold are credited to the commercial banks' sight deposits at the SNB. Exchange rate gains or losses on the foreign exchange are reported for the term of the foreign exchange transaction under 'other assets' (profits), or under 'other liabilities' (losses). Once the term has expired, the items cancel one another out.

On its data portal under Foreign currency investments of the SNB, the National Bank publishes tables of quarterly data showing its foreign currency investments broken down by currency including and excluding foreign exchange derivatives and with and without investments and liabilities in connection with foreign exchange swaps.

Which item in the balance sheet is employed for reporting the foreign exchange swaps the SNB uses to supply its counterparties with foreign currencies?

The US dollars passed on under the liquidity swap agreement with the US Federal Reserve are stated on the assets side under 'claims from US dollar repo transactions' and on the liabilities side under 'other term liabilities'.

Which item in the balance sheet does the SNB employ for reporting foreign exchange swaps used to provide foreign money markets with Swiss francs?

The collateral received under the liquidity swap agreements in operation during 2008 and 2009 for providing foreign money markets with Swiss francs was reported on the assets side under 'balances from swap transactions against Swiss francs', and on the liabilities side under 'banks' sight deposits'.

What happens to foreign exchange swaps when they expire?

Depending on monetary policy requirements - liquidity provision or absorption - the SNB allows foreign exchange swaps to expire or it renews them, either partially or completely.

The same applies for foreign exchange swaps between central banks. In this case, what is important is whether the commercial banks still require the liquidity which they can obtain via repo auctions.

Does the SNB incur currency risk or any other risk by entering into foreign exchange swaps?

The forward transaction is concluded at the same exchange rate as the spot transaction, and includes a discount or premium to adjust for the currency-related interest rate spread. Consequently, foreign currency investments resulting from foreign exchange swaps do not include any direct exchange rate risk. However, the parties in a foreign exchange swap are exposed to a fulfilment risk. The cash provider is exposed to such a risk because its counterparty may default, and this can result in a replacement cost risk since the currency from the swap is already planned for use in further investments and will now have to be obtained on the market. In the meantime, however, the exchange rate may have moved to the disadvantage of the SNB.

Imprimer

Questions et réponses sur les swaps de change

Qu'est-ce qu'un swap de change?

Un swap de change est la conclusion simultanée, par deux parties, de la vente (ou de l'achat) de devises au comptant et de l'achat (ou de la vente) de ces mêmes devises à terme. Pour la Banque nationale, cette opération prend la forme d'un échange de francs contre une autre monnaie. Les cours de change applicables aux opérations au comptant et à terme sont définis lors de la conclusion de ces dernières.

Pourquoi la Banque nationale conclut-elle des swaps de change?

La Banque nationale suisse conclut trois catégories de swaps devises contre francs: les instruments de politique monétaire servant à gérer les liquidités sur le marché monétaire en francs, les opérations effectuées dans le cadre des accords de swaps destinés à mettre des monnaies étrangères à la disposition des contreparties de la Banque nationale et les swaps destinés à approvisionner les marchés monétaires étrangers en francs via d'autres banques centrales.

Comment la Banque nationale peut-elle augmenter les liquidités sur le marché monétaire en francs au moyen des swaps de change?

Les swaps de change permettent d'accroître les liquidités en francs dans la mesure où la Banque nationale vend des francs à sa contrepartie pour la durée de l'opération et reçoit des monnaies étrangères en garantie. Pendant cette durée, le montant en francs est porté au crédit de l'avoir en compte de virement que la contrepartie détient à la Banque nationale; les liquidités augmentent donc en conséquence sur le marché monétaire en francs. Si le swap n'est pas renouvelé à l'échéance, les liquidités sont à nouveau retirées du marché monétaire en francs. Les contreparties de la Banque nationale sont des banques commerciales qui remplissent les conditions fixées par cette dernière. Les swaps de change sont passés avec de nombreuses contreparties à la suite d'appels d'offres à prix fixe ou sur une base bilatérale. Jusqu'en 2000, les swaps de change représentaient le principal instrument de politique monétaire utilisé par la Banque nationale pour approvisionner en liquidités le marché monétaire en francs; ils ont depuis été remplacés par les pensions de titres.

Comment les swaps de change permettent-ils d'approvisionner les contreparties de la Banque nationale en monnaies étrangères?

Il s'agit de swaps de change entre banques centrales visant à mettre à la disposition des banques et d'autres acteurs des marchés financiers domiciliés en Suisse la monnaie étrangère dont ils ont besoin - essentiellement des dollars des Etats-Unis. La banque centrale concernée remet à la Banque nationale des monnaies étrangères, dans le cadre d'un swap de liquidités, et la BNS dépose le montant correspondant en francs à titre de garantie auprès de ladite banque. La Banque nationale peut, si nécessaire, mettre les monnaies étrangères à la disposition des acteurs des marchés financiers domiciliés en Suisse au moyen d'appels d'offres pour pensions de titres. Dans le cadre d'une telle opération, elle assume la fonction d'intermédiaire de monnaies étrangères. Ces swaps de change n'ont aucun impact sur l'approvisionnement en francs et sont donc neutres vis-à-vis de la politique monétaire. En revanche, ils agissent contre les tensions sur les marchés financiers.

Comment la Banque nationale peut-elle approvisionner les marchés monétaires étrangers en francs au moyen des swaps de change?

Il s'agit ici également de swaps entre banques centrales. Cette opération vise à combler une pénurie de francs des banques étrangères, qui n'ont pas directement accès aux opérations monétaires de la Banque nationale. A cet effet, cette dernière met des francs à la disposition de banques centrales étrangères dans le cadre de swaps de liquidités. Celles-ci peuvent alors approvisionner en francs, si nécessaire, les banques commerciales relevant de leur zone d'activité. Pour garantir la mise à disposition de francs, la Banque nationale accepte de la part des autres banques centrales des monnaies étrangères, ainsi que, si besoin, d'autres gages. Ce type de swap augmente les liquidités en francs. Il a donc une incidence sur la politique monétaire. Dans le même temps, il agit contre les tensions sur les marchés financiers.

Quand la Banque nationale a-t-elle utilisé pour la dernière fois des swaps de change comme instruments de politique monétaire?

A partir du 10 août 2011, la Banque nationale a conclu des swaps de change destinés à accroître les liquidités contre des dollars des Etats-Unis, des euros, des livres sterling et des dollars canadiens. Ces mesures de politique monétaire avaient pour but d'accélérer l'augmentation des liquidités en francs qu'elle avait précédemment annoncée. Fin septembre 2011, des swaps de change destinés à accroître les liquidités étaient en cours pour un montant de quelque 80 milliards de francs. Ce niveau élevé a été réduit dans les mois suivants. Une partie de ces swaps de change a été remplacée par des pensions de titres destinées à accroître les liquidités. Par ailleurs, les liquidités ont été partiellement réduites, tout en restant à un niveau exceptionnellement élevé. Enfin, au début de l'été 2012, les achats de devises visant à garantir le cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro ont entraîné un nouvel accroissement des liquidités sur le marché monétaire en francs, ce qui a rendu les swaps de change superflus. Depuis fin juin 2012, la Banque nationale n'a plus aucun swap de change destiné à accroître les liquidités en cours.

A quel type d'accord de swap la Banque nationale recourt-elle actuellement?

L'accord conclu avec la Réserve fédérale des Etats-Unis est actuellement le seul accord de swap avec une autre banque centrale qui soit utilisé. Cependant, l'offre de liquidités en dollars des Etats-Unis n'a à ce jour été sollicitée que ponctuellement. Une demande a été effectuée pour la dernière fois en janvier 2012, avec un remboursement fin mars 2012. Les résultats hebdomadaires sont présentés à la page Appels d'offres de la BNS en dollars des Etats-Unis.

Les accords de swap destinés à mettre à la disposition des marchés des liquidités en dollars des Etats-Unis concernent la Banque d'Angleterre, la Banque du Canada, la Banque centrale européenne (BCE), la Banque du Japon, la Réserve fédérale américaine et la BNS. Ces banques centrales ont annoncé ensemble en octobre 2013 qu'elles transformaient jusqu'à nouvel avis les accords de swap à durée déterminée en des accords à durée illimitée. Les accords de swap entre banques centrales permettent de réintroduire les opérations visant à mettre à disposition des liquidités en monnaies étrangères, si les conditions du marché l'exigent.

La Banque nationale a-t-elle conclu d'autres accords de swap?

A l'occasion de la prolongation de l'accord de swap conclu avec la Réserve fédérale américaine en novembre 2011, la Banque nationale a décidé de participer à la mise en place d'un réseau d'accords de swap bilatéraux temporaires avec les banques centrales susmentionnées. Cette mesure permet à la Banque nationale d'approvisionner les banques centrales concernées en francs suisses, à l'attention des banques commerciales intervenant dans leur zone d'activité, et de proposer, quant à elle, des liquidités non seulement en dollars des Etats-Unis, mais aussi en dollars canadiens, en livres sterling, en yens et en euros. Actuellement, il n'est pas nécessaire de fournir aux banques domiciliées en Suisse des liquidités dans des monnaies étrangères autres que le dollar des Etats-Unis. Les accords sont conclus à titre de précaution, afin de pouvoir procéder rapidement aux opérations d'apport de liquidités si le besoin s'en fait sentir. Ils ont, eux aussi, été transformés en accords à durée illimitée en octobre 2013. En outre, la BNS dispose depuis plusieurs années d'un accord de swap avec la Banque nationale de Belgique, qu'elle avait conclu initialement pour couvrir des besoins éventuels dans le domaine du trafic des paiements. En juin 2012, la Banque nationale et la Banque centrale polonaise ont en outre conclu, à titre de précaution, un accord de swap francs contre zlotys en vue de couvrir un éventuel besoin de liquidités en francs en Pologne. En juillet 2014, elle a signé un accord de swap avec la banque centrale de Chine. Cet accord permet non seulement d'approvisionner au besoin les marchés correspondants en monnaie chinoise et en francs, mais constitue aussi une condition importante du développement d'un marché du renminbi en Suisse.

Quand les swaps de change ont-ils été utilisés pour la dernière fois en vue d'approvisionner en francs des marchés monétaires étrangers par l'intermédiaire d'autres banques centrales?

D'octobre 2008 à janvier 2010, la Banque nationale a fourni des liquidités en francs, principalement à des banques domiciliées à l'étranger, au moyen de swaps euros contre francs, dans le cadre d'accords passés avec la BCE, la Banque centrale polonaise et la Banque centrale hongroise.

Pourquoi la Banque nationale compte-t-elle au nombre des principales banques centrales au monde ayant mis en place un réseau d'accords de swap?

La place financière suisse et le franc suisse occupent une place de choix dans le système financier international. Aussi les principales banques centrales ont-elles intérêt à inclure la Banque nationale dans ce réseau. De même, il est intéressant pour la Banque nationale de participer à ce dernier afin de pouvoir obtenir des liquidités en monnaies étrangères si nécessaire.

Pour quelles durées les swaps de change sont-ils conclus?

Les parties contractantes peuvent fixer librement les durées des swaps de change utilisés comme instruments de politique monétaire, leur durée ne dépassant toutefois généralement pas trois mois.

La durée des swaps de change conclus entre les banques centrales dans le cadre d'accords de swap dépend de la durée de l'opération par laquelle les liquidités temporaires sont mises à la disposition des intervenants sur les marchés financiers. Lorsque les opérations en dollars des Etats-Unis ont été introduites en 2007, des durées de 28 jours étaient habituelles; ensuite, les swaps ont été assortis de différentes durées, y compris d'un seul jour.

Que coûte un swap de change?

Le prix d'un swap de change dépend des conditions existant sur les marchés, notamment de l'écart entre les taux des monnaies concernées. D'un point de vue économique, cela signifie que l'on paie, pour la durée du swap de change, le taux d'intérêt applicable à la monnaie que l'on reçoit, et que l'on perçoit celui de la monnaie que l'on prête.

Dans ce genre d'opérations, les banques qui ont besoin de liquidités doivent payer une prime en sus des taux d'intérêt du marché. Si la Banque nationale veut au contraire injecter des liquidités sur le marché, elle peut être amenée à payer une prime aux banques - par exemple lorsque le marché est déjà très liquide. Cette prime n'est pas comptabilisée séparément dans le compte de résultat de la Banque nationale, mais fait partie intégrante du résultat des réserves en monnaies étrangères.

Dans quelle partie de son bilan la Banque nationale comptabilise-t-elle les swaps de change utilisés comme instruments de politique monétaire?

Les devises achetées temporairement dans le cadre des swaps de change utilisés comme instruments de politique monétaire sont portées au bilan au niveau des placements de devises, tandis que les francs vendus temporairement sont portés au crédit des comptes de virement des banques à la Banque nationale. Les gains et pertes de cours réalisés sur les devises sont inscrits, pour la durée de l'opération de swap, sous les postes "Autres actifs" (gains) et "Autres passifs" (pertes). A l'issue de la durée du swap, ces postes s'annulent mutuellement.

La Banque nationale publie chaque trimestre sur son portail de données, à la rubrique Placements de devises, des tableaux présentant la répartition des placements de devises selon la monnaie, compte tenu ou non des dérivés sur devises, et avec ou sans les placements et les engagements découlant de swaps de change.

Où sont comptabilisés les swaps de change grâce auxquels la Banque nationale met des monnaies étrangères à la disposition de ses contreparties?

Les dollars des Etats-Unis fournis aux banques dans le cadre de l'accord de swap conclu avec la Réserve fédérale américaine sont comptabilisés à l'actif du bilan sous les "créances en dollars des Etats-Unis résultant de pensions de titres", et au passif sous les "autres engagements à terme".

Sous quel poste la Banque nationale comptabilise-t-elle les swaps de change qui servent à approvisionner en francs les marchés monétaires étrangers?

Les garanties reçues dans le cadre des accords de swap qui ont été utilisés en 2008 et 2009 pour approvisionner les marchés monétaires étrangers en francs ont été comptabilisées à l'actif sous "Avoirs résultant de swaps devises contre francs", et au passif, sous les "avoirs en comptes de virement des banques".

Que deviennent les swaps de change à leur échéance?

En fonction des besoins de la politique monétaire - apport ou résorption de liquidités - la Banque nationale reconduit ou non les swaps de change; cette reconduction peut être partielle.

Il en est de même des swaps de change entre banques centrales. Dans ce cas, le swap n'est reconduit que si les banques commerciales ont encore besoin des liquidités qui leur sont fournies au moyen d'appels d'offres pour pensions de titres.

La Banque nationale est-elle exposée à des risques de change et à d'autres risques dans le cadre des swaps de change?

L'opération à terme est conclue au même cours de change que l'opération au comptant, mais inclut une réduction ou une majoration pour compenser l'écart entre les taux d'intérêt spécifiques aux monnaies concernées. Les placements de devises découlant des swaps de change ne comportent donc aucun risque de change direct. Dans une telle opération, les partenaires sont néanmoins exposés à un risque de règlement. Un tel risque existe en particulier pour le prêteur en raison de la défaillance possible de la contrepartie, et peut entraîner un risque de coût de remplacement: la monnaie issue du swap est déjà prévue pour d'autres placements et doit être rachetée sur le marché à un cours de change qui peut avoir évolué défavorablement pour la Banque nationale.