Questions and answers on financial stability

  • What is financial stability, exactly?

    A stable system is understood to be a system whose individual components - banks, financial markets and financial market infrastructures - fulfil their individual functions and are resilient to potential shocks. It is an important prerequisite for economic development. The SNB, too, depends on well-functioning financial markets to be able to implement its monetary policy (Questions and answers on monetary policy implementation).

  • What are the tasks of the SNB in the area of financial stability?

    In accordance with the National Bank Act, the SNB contributes to the stability of the financial system. It fulfils this mandate by analysing sources of risk to the financial system and identifying areas where action is needed. The SNB also participates at international level, in particular in connection with the efforts of the Basel Committee to create and implement a regulatory framework for the financial centre. In addition, the SNB designates systemically important banks and performs tasks in the macroprudential area. It also oversees systemically important financial market infrastructures which can pose a risk for financial stability. In the event of a crisis, the SNB fulfils its mandate by acting as lender of last resort where necessary.

  • Where can I find the SNB's analyses and assessments on developments in the area of financial stability?

    The SNB publishes its assessment of Swiss banking industry stability in its annual Financial Stability Report. In this report, the SNB focuses on trends that are observable at the levels of the banking system, the financial markets and the macroeconomic environment. The main purpose of the report for the SNB is to draw attention to tensions or imbalances which could pose a threat to system stability in the short or long term. In addition, it identifies areas where action may be needed to reduce this risk. In the report, the SNB analyses the situation at both the globally active Swiss big banks and the domestically focused commercial banks. It also frequently comments on current developments in the area of financial stability in its speeches and presentations.

  • What are macroprudential measures?

    The objective of macroprudential measures is to increase the stability of the financial system. First, they strengthen the resilience of the financial system to shocks. Second, they counter the build-up of systemic risk. Macroprudential measures not only target individual financial market participants but the Swiss banking sector as a whole. The countercyclical capital buffer is an important example of a macroprudential measure, as are the special requirements for systemically important banks.

  • What is the countercyclical capital buffer?

    The countercyclical capital buffer is an instrument through which the Federal Council can require the banks to hold additional capital as a precaution. On the one hand, the capital buffer is intended to strengthen the banks' resilience to risks emanating from excessive credit growth. On the other hand, it helps curb excessive credit growth. The capital buffer can be targeted at the entire credit market or just parts thereof, e.g. the mortgage market. The measure has been available in Switzerland since July 2012. The capital buffer is set at a maximum level of 2.5% of a bank's total domestic risk-weighted assets. If it is activated, banks are required to carry out a temporary and gradual capital increase.

  • Who decides on the use of the countercyclical capital buffer?

    If the SNB comes to the conclusion that an activation, adjustment or deactivation of the buffer is required, it makes a proposal to the Federal Council after consultation with the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA, www.finma.ch). In February 2013, at the proposal of the SNB, the Federal Council decided to activate the countercyclical capital buffer for the mortgage market for the first time (press release). In January 2014, the Federal Council approved the SNB's proposal to increase the capital buffer (press release).

  • What does the mortgage market have to do with financial stability?

    Domestically focused banks have a particularly high proportion of mortgage loans. Therefore, excesses on the real estate market can present not only borrowers but also banks with considerable problems. Against this background, the mortgage and real estate markets constitute a potential source of risk for financial stability. Indeed, experience in Switzerland and abroad has shown that real estate crises can have a very detrimental impact on the financial system und ultimately the entire economy. This is why the SNB monitors developments in the mortgage and real estate markets closely and also participates in regulatory measures aimed at reducing the associated risks.

  • Other than the countercyclical capital buffer, which regulatory measures serve to contain the risks on the mortgage and real estate markets?

    To reduce the risks on the Swiss mortgage and real estate markets, the capital requirements for mortgage lending with a high loan-to-value ratio have been tightened and the banks' self-regulation rules for granting mortgage loans revised. Should there be a further build-up of imbalances on the Swiss mortgage and real estate markets, additional measures might be necessary.

  • What is the Basel Capital Adequacy Framework (Basel I, II and II) about?

    Issued by the Basel Committee for Banking Supervision, a permanent committee of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS, www.bis.org), the Basel Capital Adequacy Framework has the purpose of increasing the stability of the international financial system and promoting a level playing field in competition among banks. The original Basel Capital Framework (Basel I), which focused on the provision of minimum cover for credit risks, was issued in 1988. In 1996, capital requirements for market risk were added.

    The first revised framework (Basel II) was adopted in 2004. On the one hand, capital adequacy requirements were extended to include operational risks and were made more sensitive to risk in general. On the other hand, the minimum capital requirements were supplemented by two further pillars, one relating to the supervisory review process and the other to disclosure obligations for the purpose of strengthening market discipline.

    The second revised framework (Basel III) was adopted in the wake of the global financial crisis of 2008 and implemented in two stages. In a first step, stricter, countercyclical, risk-based capital requirements as well as limits on leverage (unweighted capital ratios, leverage ratio) were approved in 2010. In addition, internationally harmonised minimum liquidity requirements were introduced, consisting of the short-term liquidity coverage ratio and the net stable funding ratio (structural liquidity ratio).

    The Basel Committee finalised the second stage in 2017. The aim of these more recent measures is to restore the credibility of risk-weighted requirements. To this end, the Committee restricted the use of internal bank models and improved the risk sensitivity of the prescribed standardised approaches. In addition, it recalibrated the floor for model-based requirements, setting it at 72.5% of the requirements under the standardised approaches. The changes will enter into force on 1 January 2022, with a five-year transition period before the floor for the model-based requirements applies in full.

  • What are the criteria for determining whether a bank is to be designated as systemically important?

    Under the terms of the Federal Act on Banks and Savings Banks (Banking Act, www.admin.ch, in German, French and Italian), a bank or group of banks is systemically important if its failure would cause serious damage to the Swiss economy and the Swiss financial system. In assessing the systemic importance of banks or bank groups, their market share in domestic loan and deposit-taking business is an important criterion. Other criteria such as size, risk profile and interconnectedness are also taken into consideration when deciding on systemic importance. The Banking Act gives the SNB the authority, in the context of the implementation of 'too big to fail' regulations, to designate banks and bank functions as systemically important. FINMA and the systemically important bank concerned must be consulted in advance. As at the end of 2016, Credit Suisse, UBS, Zürcher Kantonalbank, the Raiffeisen Group and PostFinance Ltd. were considered systemically important (Press releases, decrees issued by the SNB).

  • What are the 'too big to fail' regulations, exactly?

    The 'too big to fail' regulations impose special requirements on systemically important banks. They are laid down in the Banking Act, the Ordinance on Banks and Savings Banks (Banking Ordinance, www.admin.ch, in German, French and Italian) the Ordinance on Capital Adequacy and Risk Diversification for Banks and Securities Dealers (Capital Adequacy Ordinance, CAO, www.admin.ch, in German, French and Italian) and the Ordinance on the Liquidity of Banks (Liquidity Ordinance, www.admin.ch, in German, French and Italian). The regulations are designed to resolve the 'too big to fail' issue in Switzerland so that systemically important banks do not have to be bailed out with taxpayers' money in the event of a crisis. The TBTF regulations include provisions in the areas of capital, liquidity, risk diversification and organisation. They comprise measures which should make it easier to ensure the resolution of a systemically important bank in a crisis. The Swiss regulations are in line with international requirements by the Financial Stability Board (FSB, www.fsb.org), an international body which brings together finance ministries, regulatory authorities, central banks and the Basel Committee for Banking Supervision.

  • What does 'lender of last resort' mean specifically?

    In the event of a crisis, the SNB can act as lender of last resort. Under the emergency liquidity assistance arrangements (Guidelines on monetary policy instruments), it can provide one or several domestic banks with liquidity if they are no longer able to refinance their operations on the market. Emergency liquidity assistance is provided only if the bank or group of banks seeking credit is of importance for the stability of the financial system and is solvent. In addition, the liquidity assistance must be fully covered by sufficient collateral at all times. At the height of the financial crisis in October 2008, the Federal Council, the Swiss Federal Banking Commission (SFBC; now FINMA) and the SNB adopted measures to stabilise UBS, thereby strengthening the Swiss financial system. The SNB participated in this package of measures by establishing a stabilisation fund (StabFund). In so doing, it assumed its role as lender of last resort.

  • What was the purpose of the stabilisation fund?

    The stabilisation fund was a special purpose vehicle to which the illiquid assets of UBS were transferred. The SNB granted the stabilisation fund a loan to take over these assets. In November 2013, UBS repurchased the stabilisation fund from the SNB (press release).

  • Which financial market infrastructures are considered systemically important?

    The financial market infrastructures that could harbour risks for the stability of the financial system include the Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) payment system, the central securities depository SIX SIS and the central counterparty SIX x-clear. These are operated by SIX Interbank Clearing Ltd, SIX SIS Ltd and SIX x-clear Ltd, which are subsidiaries of SIX Group Ltd (www.six-group.com). Other systems that are important for the stability of the Swiss financial system are the Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS) foreign exchange settlement system and the central counterparties Eurex Clearing and LCH.Clearnet Ltd. The operators of these financial market infrastructures are domiciled in the US, the UK and Germany.

  • Why does the SNB monitor systemically important financial market infrastructures?

    The National Bank Act requires the SNB to oversee financial market infrastructures. By overseeing financial market infrastructures operated by the private sector, the SNB promotes their security. In so doing, it gives priority to reducing systemic risk. First, it is important to ensure that neither technical system failure nor financial difficulties on the part of financial market infrastructure operators give rise to major credit or liquidity problems for financial intermediaries, or that these result in severe disruption on financial markets. Second, the legal framework, and, in particular, the rules and procedures for the different systems should be formulated such that payment or delivery difficulties of individual participants in these financial market infrastructures do not spill over to other financial intermediaries, linked financial market infrastructures or the financial markets. To this end, the SNB cooperates with FINMA as well as with foreign supervisory and oversight authorities.

Questions et réponses sur la stabilité financière

  • Qu'entend-on par stabilité financière?

    Un système financier est stable lorsque ses diverses composantes - banques, marchés financiers et infrastructures des marchés financiers - remplissent leur fonction et sont en mesure de résister à d'éventuels chocs. La stabilité financière constitue une condition importante du développement de l'économie. La Banque nationale est elle aussi tributaire du bon fonctionnement des marchés financiers pour la mise en oeuvre de sa politique monétaire (Questions et réponses sur la mise en oeuvre de la politique monétaire).

  • Quelles tâches reviennent à la Banque nationale dans le domaine de la stabilité financière?

    Conformément à la loi sur la Banque nationale, la BNS contribue à la stabilité du système financier. Elle remplit ce mandat en analysant les sources de risques pour le système financier et en signalant tout éventuel besoin d'agir. La Banque nationale participe également, à l'échelle internationale, à l'aménagement et à la mise en oeuvre des réglementations relatives à la place financière, notamment dans le cadre des travaux du Comité de Bâle. En outre, elle détermine quelles banques sont d'importance systémique et assume des tâches relevant du domaine macroprudentiel. Elle surveille aussi les infrastructures des marchés financiers qui revêtent une importance systémique, c'est-à-dire qui peuvent engendrer des risques pour la stabilité du système financier. En cas de crise, elle accomplit sa mission en faisant office, si nécessaire, de prêteur ultime (lender of last resort).

  • Où trouve-t-on les analyses et les appréciations de la Banque nationale concernant l'évolution de la situation en matière de stabilité financière?

    La Banque nationale publie chaque année son évaluation de la stabilité du secteur bancaire suisse dans son Rapport sur la stabilité financière. Elle y met l'accent sur les tendances qui peuvent être observées au niveau du système bancaire, des marchés financiers et de l'environnement macroéconomique. Ce rapport lui permet principalement de mettre en évidence des tensions ou des déséquilibres qui pourraient, à court ou à moyen terme, constituer un risque pour la stabilité du système. La BNS y signale également tout éventuel besoin d'agir en vue de réduire ce risque. Elle analyse tant la situation des grandes banques suisses actives à l'échelle internationale que celle des établissements de crédit axés sur le marché intérieur. En outre, elle prend de temps à autre position, à l'occasion d'exposés, sur les développements actuels dans le domaine de la stabilité financière.

  • Qu'entend-on par mesures macroprudentielles?

    Les mesures macroprudentielles visent à accroître la stabilité du système financier. Elles permettent d'une part de renforcer la résilience du système financier face aux chocs et, d'autre part, d'endiguer l'accumulation de risques systémiques. Elles portent sur le secteur bancaire suisse dans son ensemble, et non pas uniquement sur certains acteurs des marchés financiers. Parmi les mesures macroprudentielles figurent notamment le volant anticyclique de fonds propres, mais aussi les exigences particulières imposées aux banques d'importance systémique.

  • Qu'est-ce que le volant anticyclique de fonds propres?

    Le volant anticyclique de fonds propres est une mesure par laquelle le Conseil fédéral exige des banques qu'elles détiennent davantage de fonds propres à titre préventif. Ce volant permet, d'une part, de renforcer la capacité de résistance des banques face aux risques découlant d'une croissance excessive du crédit; d'autre part, il contribue à contrer une telle croissance. Il peut être activé sur l'ensemble du marché du crédit ou sur l'un de ses segments, par exemple le marché hypothécaire. La Suisse dispose de cet instrument depuis juillet 2012. Le volant anticyclique représente au maximum 2,5% du total des actifs pondérés en fonction des risques et détenus en Suisse par une banque. En cas d'activation, les banques sont tenues d'accroître progressivement et temporairement leurs fonds propres.

  • Qui décide du recours au volant anticyclique de fonds propres?

    Lorsque la Banque nationale estime qu'une activation, un ajustement ou une désactivation du volant anticyclique de fonds propres est nécessaire, elle dépose une demande correspondante auprès du Conseil fédéral, après avoir consulté l'Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA, www.finma.ch). En février 2013, le Conseil fédéral a activé pour la première fois le volant anticyclique de fonds propres pour le marché hypothécaire, sur proposition de la BNS (communiqué de presse). En janvier 2014, il a donné suite à la demande de la BNS de relever le volant anticyclique (communiqué de presse).

  • Quel lien y a-t-il entre le marché hypothécaire et la stabilité financière?

    Les banques axées sur le marché intérieur, en particulier, présentent une grande part de prêts hypothécaires dans leur bilan. Des excès sur le marché immobilier peuvent donc poser de grands problèmes non seulement aux preneurs de crédit mais aussi aux banques. Dans ce contexte, les marchés hypothécaire et immobilier peuvent être une source de risque pour la stabilité financière. Comme le montre l'histoire en Suisse et dans d'autres pays, les crises immobilières peuvent nuire gravement au système financier et, en fin de compte, à l'économie dans son ensemble. C'est pourquoi la Banque nationale observe attentivement les développements sur les marchés hypothécaire et immobilier, et contribue à définir les mesures réglementaires visant à réduire les risques liés à ces marchés.

  • Outre le volant anticyclique de fonds propres, quelles mesures réglementaires servent à contrer les risques sur les marchés immobilier et hypothécaire?

    Deux autres mesures permettent de réduire les risques sur les marchés hypothécaire et immobilier suisses: le durcissement des exigences en matière de fonds propres pour les prêts hypothécaires à quotité de financement élevée, ainsi que la révision des directives d'autoréglementation des banques afférentes à l'octroi de prêts hypothécaires. Si les déséquilibres sur les marchés hypothécaire et immobilier suisses devaient s'accroître, des mesures supplémentaires pourraient s'avérer nécessaires.

  • En quoi consiste l'Accord de Bâle sur les fonds propres (Bâle I, II et III)?

    L'Accord de Bâle sur les fonds propres vise à renforcer la stabilité du système financier international et à mettre les banques sur un pied d'égalité en matière de concurrence. Il a été formulé par le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire, un comité permanent de la Banque des Règlements Internationaux (BRI, www.bis.org). La première version, ratifiée en 1988 (Bâle I), mettait l'accent sur la couverture minimale des risques de crédit. En 1996, les exigences de fonds propres pour les risques de marché ont été ajoutées.

    Lors de la première révision (Bâle II), qui date de 2004, les exigences de fonds propres ont, d'une part, été étendues aux risques opérationnels, et leur sensibilité aux risques a été accrue dans l’ensemble. D'autre part, deux piliers ont été ajoutés aux exigences minimales en matière de fonds propres: le processus de surveillance prudentielle et l'obligation de fournir des informations en vue de renforcer la discipline de marché.

    La deuxième révision (Bâle III), qui a été décidée à la suite de la crise financière mondiale de 2008, s'est faite en deux temps. Dans une première étape, des exigences plus strictes de fonds propres à effet anticyclique et pondérés en fonction des risques ainsi qu'une limitation de l'endettement (ratio de fonds propres non pondéré en fonction des risques, ratio de levier ou leverage ratio en anglais) ont été adoptées en 2010. Des exigences minimales en matière de liquidités ont de plus été établies à l'échelle internationale. Elles comprennent le ratio de liquidité à court terme (liquidity coverage ratio) et le ratio structurel de liquidité à long terme (net stable funding ratio).

    Le Comité de Bâle a finalisé la deuxième étape en 2017. Les dernières mesures arrêtées ont pour objectif de rétablir la crédibilité des actifs pondérés en fonction des risques. Le Comité de Bâle a ainsi restreint la possibilité pour les banques de recourir à des modèles internes et amélioré la sensibilité au risque des modèles standard. En outre, il a remanié le plancher applicable aux actifs calculés sur la base des modèles internes, le fixant à 72,5% des actifs calculés sur la base des modèles standard. Ces mesures entreront en vigueur le 1er janvier 2022; le plancher applicable aux actifs calculés sur la base des modèles internes devra être entièrement respecté après une période transitoire de cinq ans.

  • Quels sont les critères permettant de déterminer si une banque est d'importance systémique?

    Au sens de la loi sur les banques (www.admin.ch), une banque ou un groupe bancaire est réputé d'importance systémique lorsque sa défaillance porterait gravement atteinte à l'économie suisse ou au système financier suisse. Un critère important pour l'évaluation de l'importance systémique d'une banque ou d'un groupe bancaire est sa part de marché dans les opérations intérieures de crédit et de dépôt. D'autres critères comme la taille, le profil de risque et l'imbrication dans le système financier et l'économie sont également pris en considération dans la décision. Dans le cadre de la réglementation too big to fail, la loi sur les banques attribue à la BNS la compétence de déterminer quelles banques et quelles fonctions de celles-ci ont une importance systémique. La BNS doit toutefois consulter au préalable la FINMA et la banque en question. Fin 2016, le Credit Suisse, UBS, la Banque Cantonale de Zurich (ZKB), Raiffeisen et PostFinance étaient considérés comme banques d'importance systémique (décisions de la Banque nationale suisse).

  • Qu'entend-on par réglementation too big to fail?

    La réglementation too big to fail (TBTF) impose aux banques d'importance systémique de satisfaire à des exigences spécifiques. Celles-ci sont fixées dans la loi sur les banques, l'ordonnance sur les banques (www.admin.ch), l'ordonnance sur les fonds propres (www.admin.ch) ainsi que l'ordonnance sur les liquidités (www.admin.ch). Cette réglementation vise à résoudre la problématique TBTF en Suisse et à empêcher ainsi qu'une banque d'importance systémique doive être sauvée avec l'argent du contribuable en cas de crise. Elle comprend des dispositions relatives aux fonds propres, aux liquidités, à la répartition des risques et à l'organisation. Ces dernières englobent des mesures qui devraient améliorer la capacité de liquidation d'une banque d'importance systémique en cas de crise. La réglementation suisse concorde avec les exigences internationales du Conseil de stabilité financière (CSF, www.fsb.org), un organe international constitué de représentants de ministères des finances, d'autorités de surveillance, de banques centrales et du Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire.

  • Que signifie prêteur ultime?

    En cas de crise, la Banque nationale peut intervenir en tant que prêteur ultime (lender of last resort). Ainsi, dans le cadre de l'aide extraordinaire sous forme de liquidités, elle peut fournir des liquidités à une ou plusieurs banques suisses qui ne seraient plus en mesure de se refinancer sur le marché (Directives générales de la BNS sur ses instruments de politique monétaire). Une telle aide n'est accordée que si la banque ou le groupe bancaire demandant des liquidités revêt une importance systémique et est solvable. De plus, elle doit être couverte en permanence par des garanties suffisantes. En octobre 2008, au paroxysme de la crise financière, le Conseil fédéral, la Commission fédérale des banques (CFB; aujourd'hui la FINMA) et la Banque nationale ont arrêté un train de mesures en vue de stabiliser UBS et, partant, de renforcer le système financier suisse. La BNS y a participé en créant un fonds de stabilisation (SNB StabFund). Elle a ainsi assumé son rôle de prêteur ultime.

  • Quel était l'objectif du fonds de stabilisation?

    La Banque nationale a créé le fonds de stabilisation SNB StabFund, une société à but spécial, pour y placer des actifs illiquides d'UBS. Elle a financé la reprise de ces actifs au moyen d'un prêt au fonds de stabilisation. En novembre 2013, UBS a racheté SNB StabFund à la Banque nationale (communiqué de presse).

  • Quelles infrastructures des marchés financiers sont réputées d'importance systémique?

    Les infrastructures qui peuvent entraîner des risques pour la stabilité du système financier sont, en Suisse, le système de paiement Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC), le dépositaire central SIX SIS et la contrepartie centrale SIX x-clear. Elles sont toutes exploitées par les filiales de SIX Group (www.six-group.com), à savoir respectivement SIX Interbank Clearing SA, SIX SIS SA et SIX x-clear SA. Trois autres infastructures sont également essentielles pour la stabilité du système financier suisse: le système CLS (Continuous Linked Settlement), qui sert au règlement des opérations de change, ainsi que les contreparties centrales Eurex Clearing et LCH.Clearnet Ltd. Les exploitants de ces trois infrastructures sont respectivement domiciliés aux Etats-Unis, en Allemagne et au Royaume-Uni.

  • Pourquoi la Banque nationale surveille-t-elle les infrastructures des marchés financiers d'importance systémique?

    En vertu de la loi sur la Banque nationale, la BNS a pour tâche de surveiller les infrastructures des marchés financiers d'importance systémique. Elle renforce la sécurité de ces infrastructures exploitées par des entreprises privées en mettant l'accent sur la réduction des risques systémiques. Il s'agit d'une part d'empêcher qu'une panne technique ou des difficultés financières subies par les exploitants de ces infrastructures ne causent de graves problèmes de crédit ou de liquidité aux intermédiaires financiers ou n'entraînent de graves dysfonctionnements sur les marchés financiers. D'autre part, les bases contractuelles, et en particulier les règles et les processus des systèmes, doivent être définis de telle sorte que les difficultés de paiement ou de livraison d'un participant ne se transmettent pas de façon incontrôlée à d'autres intermédiaires financiers, à des infrastructures connexes des marchés financiers ou aux marchés financiers eux-mêmes. La BNS collabore à cette fin avec la FINMA et des autorités de surveillance étrangères.