Questions and answers on financial stability

  • What is financial stability, exactly?

    A stable system is understood to be a system whose individual components - banks, financial markets and financial market infrastructures - fulfil their individual functions and are resilient to potential shocks. It is an important prerequisite for economic development. The SNB, too, depends on well-functioning financial markets to be able to implement its monetary policy (Questions and answers on monetary policy implementation).

  • What are the tasks of the SNB in the area of financial stability?

    In accordance with the National Bank Act, the SNB contributes to the stability of the financial system. It fulfils this mandate by analysing sources of risk to the financial system and identifying areas where action is needed. The SNB also participates at international level, in particular in connection with the efforts of the Basel Committee to create and implement a regulatory framework for the financial centre. In addition, the SNB designates systemically important banks and performs tasks in the macroprudential area. It also oversees systemically important financial market infrastructures which can pose a risk for financial stability. In the event of a crisis, the SNB fulfils its mandate by acting as lender of last resort where necessary.

  • Where can I find the SNB's analyses and assessments on developments in the area of financial stability?

    The SNB publishes its assessment of Swiss banking industry stability in its annual Financial Stability Report. In this report, the SNB focuses on trends that are observable at the levels of the banking system, the financial markets and the macroeconomic environment. The main purpose of the report for the SNB is to draw attention to tensions or imbalances which could pose a threat to system stability in the short or long term. In addition, it identifies areas where action may be needed to reduce this risk. In the report, the SNB analyses the situation at both the globally active Swiss big banks and the domestically focused commercial banks. It also frequently comments on current developments in the area of financial stability in its speeches and presentations.

  • What are macroprudential measures?

    The objective of macroprudential measures is to increase the stability of the financial system. First, they strengthen the resilience of the financial system to shocks. Second, they counter the build-up of systemic risk. Macroprudential measures not only target individual financial market participants but the Swiss banking sector as a whole. The countercyclical capital buffer is an important example of a macroprudential measure, as are the special requirements for systemically important banks.

  • What is the countercyclical capital buffer?

    The countercyclical capital buffer is an instrument through which the Federal Council can require the banks to hold additional capital as a precaution. On the one hand, the capital buffer is intended to strengthen the banks' resilience to risks emanating from excessive credit growth. On the other hand, it helps curb excessive credit growth. The capital buffer can be targeted at the entire credit market or just parts thereof, e.g. the mortgage market. The measure has been available in Switzerland since July 2012. The capital buffer is set at a maximum level of 2.5% of a bank's total domestic risk-weighted assets. If it is activated, banks are required to carry out a temporary and gradual capital increase.

  • Who decides on the use of the countercyclical capital buffer?

    If the SNB comes to the conclusion that an activation, adjustment or deactivation of the buffer is required, it makes a proposal to the Federal Council after consultation with the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA, www.finma.ch). In February 2013, at the proposal of the SNB, the Federal Council decided to activate the countercyclical capital buffer for the mortgage market for the first time (press release). In January 2014, the Federal Council approved the SNB's proposal to increase the capital buffer (press release).

  • What does the mortgage market have to do with financial stability?

    Domestically focused banks have a particularly high proportion of mortgage loans. Therefore, excesses on the real estate market can present not only borrowers but also banks with considerable problems. Against this background, the mortgage and real estate markets constitute a potential source of risk for financial stability. Indeed, experience in Switzerland and abroad has shown that real estate crises can have a very detrimental impact on the financial system und ultimately the entire economy. This is why the SNB monitors developments in the mortgage and real estate markets closely and also participates in regulatory measures aimed at reducing the associated risks.

  • Other than the countercyclical capital buffer, which regulatory measures serve to contain the risks on the mortgage and real estate markets?

    To reduce the risks on the Swiss mortgage and real estate markets, the capital requirements for mortgage lending with a high loan-to-value ratio have been tightened and the banks' self-regulation rules for granting mortgage loans revised. Should there be a further build-up of imbalances on the Swiss mortgage and real estate markets, additional measures might be necessary.

  • What is the Basel Capital Adequacy Framework (Basel I, II and II) about?

    Issued by the Basel Committee for Banking Supervision, a permanent committee of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS, www.bis.org), the Basel Capital Adequacy Framework has the purpose of increasing the stability of the international financial system and promoting a level playing field in competition among banks. The original Basel Capital Framework (Basel I), which focused on the provision of minimum cover for credit risks, was issued in 1988. In 1996, capital requirements for market risk were added.

    The first revised framework (Basel II) was adopted in 2004. On the one hand, capital adequacy requirements were extended to include operational risks and were made more sensitive to risk in general. On the other hand, the minimum capital requirements were supplemented by two further pillars, one relating to the supervisory review process and the other to disclosure obligations for the purpose of strengthening market discipline.

    The second revised framework (Basel III) was adopted in the wake of the global financial crisis of 2008 and implemented in two stages. In a first step, stricter, countercyclical, risk-based capital requirements as well as limits on leverage (unweighted capital ratios, leverage ratio) were approved in 2010. In addition, internationally harmonised minimum liquidity requirements were introduced, consisting of the short-term liquidity coverage ratio and the net stable funding ratio (structural liquidity ratio).

    The Basel Committee finalised the second stage in 2017. The aim of these more recent measures is to restore the credibility of risk-weighted requirements. To this end, the Committee restricted the use of internal bank models and improved the risk sensitivity of the prescribed standardised approaches. In addition, it recalibrated the floor for model-based requirements, setting it at 72.5% of the requirements under the standardised approaches. The changes will enter into force on 1 January 2022, with a five-year transition period before the floor for the model-based requirements applies in full.

  • What are the criteria for determining whether a bank is to be designated as systemically important?

    Under the terms of the Federal Act on Banks and Savings Banks (Banking Act, www.admin.ch, in German, French and Italian), a bank or group of banks is systemically important if its failure would cause serious damage to the Swiss economy and the Swiss financial system. In assessing the systemic importance of banks or bank groups, their market share in domestic loan and deposit-taking business is an important criterion. Other criteria such as size, risk profile and interconnectedness are also taken into consideration when deciding on systemic importance. The Banking Act gives the SNB the authority, in the context of the implementation of 'too big to fail' regulations, to designate banks and bank functions as systemically important. FINMA and the systemically important bank concerned must be consulted in advance. As at the end of 2016, Credit Suisse, UBS, Zürcher Kantonalbank, the Raiffeisen Group and PostFinance Ltd. were considered systemically important (Press releases, decrees issued by the SNB).

  • What are the 'too big to fail' regulations, exactly?

    The 'too big to fail' regulations impose special requirements on systemically important banks. They are laid down in the Banking Act, the Ordinance on Banks and Savings Banks (Banking Ordinance, www.admin.ch, in German, French and Italian) the Ordinance on Capital Adequacy and Risk Diversification for Banks and Securities Dealers (Capital Adequacy Ordinance, CAO, www.admin.ch, in German, French and Italian) and the Ordinance on the Liquidity of Banks (Liquidity Ordinance, www.admin.ch, in German, French and Italian). The regulations are designed to resolve the 'too big to fail' issue in Switzerland so that systemically important banks do not have to be bailed out with taxpayers' money in the event of a crisis. The TBTF regulations include provisions in the areas of capital, liquidity, risk diversification and organisation. They comprise measures which should make it easier to ensure the resolution of a systemically important bank in a crisis. The Swiss regulations are in line with international requirements by the Financial Stability Board (FSB, www.fsb.org), an international body which brings together finance ministries, regulatory authorities, central banks and the Basel Committee for Banking Supervision.

  • What does 'lender of last resort' mean specifically?

    In the event of a crisis, the SNB can act as lender of last resort. Under the emergency liquidity assistance arrangements (Guidelines on monetary policy instruments), it can provide one or several domestic banks with liquidity if they are no longer able to refinance their operations on the market. Emergency liquidity assistance is provided only if the bank or group of banks seeking credit is of importance for the stability of the financial system and is solvent. In addition, the liquidity assistance must be fully covered by sufficient collateral at all times. At the height of the financial crisis in October 2008, the Federal Council, the Swiss Federal Banking Commission (SFBC; now FINMA) and the SNB adopted measures to stabilise UBS, thereby strengthening the Swiss financial system. The SNB participated in this package of measures by establishing a stabilisation fund (StabFund). In so doing, it assumed its role as lender of last resort.

  • What was the purpose of the stabilisation fund?

    The stabilisation fund was a special purpose vehicle to which the illiquid assets of UBS were transferred. The SNB granted the stabilisation fund a loan to take over these assets. In November 2013, UBS repurchased the stabilisation fund from the SNB (press release).

  • Which financial market infrastructures are considered systemically important?

    The financial market infrastructures that could harbour risks for the stability of the financial system include the Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) payment system, the central securities depository SIX SIS and the central counterparty SIX x-clear. These are operated by SIX Interbank Clearing Ltd, SIX SIS Ltd and SIX x-clear Ltd, which are subsidiaries of SIX Group Ltd (www.six-group.com). Other systems that are important for the stability of the Swiss financial system are the Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS) foreign exchange settlement system and the central counterparties Eurex Clearing and LCH.Clearnet Ltd. The operators of these financial market infrastructures are domiciled in the US, the UK and Germany.

  • Why does the SNB monitor systemically important financial market infrastructures?

    The National Bank Act requires the SNB to oversee financial market infrastructures. By overseeing financial market infrastructures operated by the private sector, the SNB promotes their security. In so doing, it gives priority to reducing systemic risk. First, it is important to ensure that neither technical system failure nor financial difficulties on the part of financial market infrastructure operators give rise to major credit or liquidity problems for financial intermediaries, or that these result in severe disruption on financial markets. Second, the legal framework, and, in particular, the rules and procedures for the different systems should be formulated such that payment or delivery difficulties of individual participants in these financial market infrastructures do not spill over to other financial intermediaries, linked financial market infrastructures or the financial markets. To this end, the SNB cooperates with FINMA as well as with foreign supervisory and oversight authorities.

Drucken

Fragen und Antworten zur Finanzstabilität

Was ist unter Finanzstabilität zu verstehen?

Ein stabiles Finanzsystem zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass seine einzelnen Teile - Banken, Finanzmärkte und Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen - ihre jeweilige Funktion erfüllen und sich gegenüber möglichen Schocks als widerstandsfähig erweisen. Finanzstabilität ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung dafür, dass sich eine Volkswirtschaft zu entfalten vermag. Auch die Nationalbank ist auf funktionierende Finanzmärkte angewiesen, damit sie ihre Geldpolitik umsetzen kann (Fragen und Antworten zur Umsetzung der Geldpolitik).

Welche Aufgaben kommen der Nationalbank im Bereich der Finanzstabilität zu?

Die Nationalbank trägt gemäss Nationalbankgesetz zur Stabilität des Finanzsystems bei. Sie erfüllt diesen Auftrag, indem sie die Gefahrenquellen für das Finanzsystem analysiert und allfälligen Handlungsbedarf aufzeigt. Die Nationalbank wirkt auch auf internationaler Ebene, insbesondere im Rahmen der Arbeiten des Basler Ausschusses, bei der Gestaltung und der Umsetzung der regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen für den Finanzplatz mit. Ferner bezeichnet die Nationalbank die systemrelevanten Banken und nimmt im makroprudenziellen Bereich Aufgaben wahr. Sie überwacht zudem die Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen, die systemisch bedeutsam sind, d.h., von denen Risiken für die Finanzstabilität ausgehen könnten. Im Falle einer Krise erfüllt die Nationalbank ihren Auftrag dadurch, dass sie gegebenenfalls als Kreditgeberin in letzter Instanz (lender of last resort) auftritt.

Wo sind die Analysen und Einschätzungen der Nationalbank zu den Entwicklungen im Bereich der Finanzstabilität zu finden?

Die Nationalbank publiziert ihre Beurteilung der Stabilität des Schweizer Bankensektors im jährlichen Bericht zur Finanzstabilität. Darin konzentriert sie sich auf Trends, die auf den Ebenen des Bankensystems und der Finanzmärkte sowie im makroökonomischen Umfeld zu beobachten sind. Der Bericht dient der Nationalbank in erster Linie dazu, auf Spannungen oder Ungleichgewichte hinzuweisen, die kurz- oder längerfristig ein Risiko für die Systemstabilität darstellen könnten. Ausserdem zeigt sie darin einen allfälligen Handlungsbedarf zur Reduktion dieses Risikos auf. Die Nationalbank analysiert im Bericht sowohl die Lage der international tätigen Schweizer Grossbanken als auch diejenige der inlandorientierten Kreditbanken. Daneben nimmt sie auch in Referaten immer wieder Stellung zu aktuellen Entwicklungen im Bereich der Finanzstabilität.

Was sind makroprudenzielle Massnahmen?

Makroprudenzielle Massnahmen zielen darauf ab, die Stabilität des Finanzsystems zu erhöhen. Zum einen stärken sie die Widerstandsfähigkeit des Finanzsystems gegen Schocks, und zum anderen wirken sie dem Aufbau von systemischen Risiken entgegen. Makroprudenzielle Massnahmen haben nicht nur einzelne Finanzmarktteilnehmer, sondern den schweizerischen Bankensektor als Ganzes im Visier. Ein wichtiges Beispiel für eine makroprudenzielle Massnahme ist der antizyklische Kapitalpuffer. Ein weiteres Beispiel sind die besonderen Anforderungen für systemrelevante Banken.

Was ist der antizyklische Kapitalpuffer?

Mit der Vorschrift des antizyklischen Kapitalpuffers kann der Bundesrat von den Banken verlangen, dass diese vorsorglich mehr Eigenkapital halten müssen. Der Kapitalpuffer bezweckt einerseits, die Widerstandskraft der Banken gegenüber den Risiken, die von einem übermässigen Kreditwachstum ausgehen, zu stärken. Andererseits hilft er einem übermässigen Kreditwachstum entgegenzuwirken. Der Kapitalpuffer kann auf den gesamten Kreditmarkt oder nur auf Teile davon, z.B. auf den Hypothekarmarkt, ausgerichtet werden. Die Massnahme steht in der Schweiz seit Juli 2012 zur Verfügung. Der Kapitalpuffer beträgt maximal 2,5% der gesamten risikogewichteten Aktiven einer Bank im Inland. Wird er aktiviert, werden die Banken verpflichtet, ihr Eigenkapital temporär und schrittweise aufzustocken.

Wer entscheidet über den Einsatz des antizyklischen Kapitalpuffers?

Gelangt die Nationalbank zum Schluss, dass eine Aktivierung, Anpassung oder Deaktivierung des Kapitalpuffers notwendig ist, stellt sie dem Bundesrat nach Konsultation der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht FINMA (www.finma.ch) einen entsprechenden Antrag. Im Februar 2013 beschloss der Bundesrat erstmals, den antizyklischen Kapitalpuffer auf Antrag der Nationalbank für den Hypothekarmarkt zu aktivieren (Medienmitteilung). Sodann gab der Bundesrat im Januar 2014 dem Antrag der Nationalbank statt, den Kapitalpuffer zu erhöhen (Medienmitteilung).

Was hat der Hypothekarmarkt mit der Finanzstabilität zu tun?

Insbesondere inlandorientierte Banken weisen in ihrer Bilanz einen hohen Anteil an Hypothekardarlehen auf. Übertreibungen am Immobilienmarkt können somit nicht nur die Kreditnehmer, sondern auch Banken vor grosse Probleme stellen. Vor diesem Hintergrund bildet der Hypothekar- bzw. der Immobilienmarkt für die Finanzstabilität eine potenzielle Gefahrenquelle. Erfahrungen im In- und Ausland zeigen denn auch, dass Immobilienkrisen das Finanzsystem und letztlich die ganze Volkswirtschaft schwer beeinträchtigen können. Deshalb beobachtet die Nationalbank die Entwicklungen am Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt aufmerksam und wirkt auch bei regulatorischen Massnahmen mit, die zum Ziel haben, die entsprechenden Risiken zu reduzieren.

Welche regulatorischen Massnahmen dienen neben dem antizyklischen Kapitalpuffer zur Eindämmung der Risiken am Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt?

Um die Risiken am Schweizer Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt zu reduzieren, sind die Eigenmittelanforderungen für Hypothekarkredite mit hohem Belehnungsgrad verschärft und die Selbstregulierungsrichtlinien der Banken für die Vergabe von Hypothekarkrediten revidiert worden. Sollten sich die Ungleichgewichte am Schweizer Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt weiter aufbauen, könnten zusätzliche Massnahmen notwendig werden.

Worum geht es bei der Basler Eigenkapitalvereinbarung (Basel I, II und III)?

Die vom Basler Ausschuss für Bankenaufsicht, einem ständigen Ausschuss der Bank für Internationalen Zahlungsausgleich (BIZ, www.bis.org), erlassene Basler Eigenkapitalvereinbarung verfolgt das Ziel, die Stabilität des internationalen Finanzsystems zu stärken und die Wettbewerbsgleichheit unter den Banken zu fördern. 1988 wurde die ursprüngliche Version der Basler Eigenkapitalvereinbarung (Basel I) verabschiedet, bei der die Mindestdeckung von Kreditrisiken im Vordergrund stand. 1996 wurden Eigenmittelvorschriften für Marktrisiken hinzugefügt.

Die erste Revision (Basel II) erfolgte im Jahr 2004. Dabei wurden zum einen die Eigenmittelvorschriften auf operationelle Risiken ausgedehnt und insgesamt risikosensitiver ausgestaltet. Zum anderen wurden neben den minimalen Eigenmittelanforderungen zwei weitere Säulen errichtet: die aufsichtsrechtlichen Überprüfungsverfahren und die Offenlegungspflichten zur Stärkung der Marktdisziplin.

Die zweite Revision (Basel III) wurde im Nachgang zur globalen Finanzkrise von 2008 beschlossen und erfolgte in zwei Etappen. In einem ersten Schritt wurden im Jahr 2010 strengere und antizyklisch wirkende, risikobasierte Eigenkapitalanforderungen sowie eine Begrenzung der Verschuldung (nicht risikogewichtete Kapitalquote, Leverage Ratio) verabschiedet. Weiter wurden international abgestimmte Minimalvorschriften für die Liquidität beschlossen, bestehend aus der Quote für die kurzfristige Liquidität (Liquidity Coverage Ratio) und der strukturellen Liquiditätsquote (Net Stable Funding Ratio).

Die zweite Etappe hat der Basler Ausschuss 2017 finalisiert. Das Ziel dieser zuletzt beschlossenen Massnahmen ist die Wiederherstellung der Glaubwürdigkeit der risikogewichteten Anforderungen. Hierzu schränkte der Ausschuss die Verwendung bankinterner Modelle ein und verbesserte die Risikosensitivität der vorgegebenen Standardansätze. Zudem gestaltete er die Untergrenze für modellbasierte Anforderungen neu aus und legte diese auf 72,5% der mit Standardansätzen bestimmten Anforderungen fest. Die Neuerungen treten per 1. Januar 2022 in Kraft, mit einer fünfjährigen Übergangszeit für die volle Anwendung der Untergrenze auf modellbasierten Anforderungen.

Nach welchen Kriterien wird beurteilt, ob eine Bank als systemrelevant einzustufen ist?

Eine Bank oder Bankengruppe ist gemäss Bundesgesetz über die Banken und Sparkassen (Bankengesetz, www.admin.ch) systemrelevant, wenn deren Ausfall die Schweizer Volkswirtschaft und das schweizerische Finanzsystem erheblich schädigen würde. Ein wichtiges Kriterium zur Beurteilung der Systemrelevanz einer Bank oder Bankengruppe ist ihr Marktanteil im inländischen Kredit- und Einlagengeschäft. Andere Kriterien wie Grösse, Risikoprofil und Vernetzung werden bei einem Entscheid ebenfalls berücksichtigt. Das Bankengesetz erteilt der Nationalbank im Rahmen der "Too big to fail"-Regulierung den Auftrag, die systemrelevanten Banken und deren systemrelevanten Funktionen zu bezeichnen. Dabei müssen die FINMA sowie die jeweilige systemrelevante Bank vorgängig angehört werden. Ende 2016 galten die Credit Suisse, die UBS, die ZKB, die Raiffeisen und die PostFinance als systemrelevant (Medienmitteilungen Verfügungen der SNB).

Was ist unter der "Too big to fail"-Regulierung zu verstehen?

Die "Too big to fail"-Regulierung (TBTF) stellt an systemrelevante Banken besondere Anforderungen. Festgehalten sind diese im Bankengesetz, der Verordnung über die Banken und Sparkassen (Bankenverordnung, www.admin.ch), der Verordnung über die Eigenmittel und Risikoverteilung für Banken und Effektenhändler (Eigenmittelverordnung, www.admin.ch) sowie der Verordnung über die Liquidität der Banken (Liquiditätsverordnung, www.admin.ch). Ziel der Regulierung ist, die "Too big to fail"-Problematik in der Schweiz zu lösen und damit zu verhindern, dass systemrelevante Banken im Krisenfall mit Steuergeldern gerettet werden müssen. Die TBTF-Regulierung umfasst Vorschriften im Bereich der Eigenmittel, der Liquidität, der Risikoverteilung sowie der Organisation. Letztere umfassen Massnahmen, mit denen es besser als bisher möglich sein soll, eine systemrelevante Bank im Krisenfall abzuwickeln. Die Schweizer Regulierung steht im Einklang mit internationalen Anforderungen des Financial Stability Board (FSB, www.fsb.org) einem internationalen Gremium von Finanzministerien, Aufsichtsbehörden und Zentralbanken, und des Basler Ausschusses für Bankenaufsicht.

Was bedeutet "lender of last resort"?

Die Nationalbank kann in einer Krise als Kreditgeberin in letzter Instanz oder eben als "lender of last resort" auftreten. Im Rahmen der ausserordentlichen Liquiditätshilfe (Richtlinien über das geldpolitische Instrumentarium) kann sie dabei einer oder mehreren inländischen Banken Liquidität zur Verfügung stellen, wenn sich diese Institute nicht mehr am Markt refinanzieren können. Ausserordentliche Liquiditätshilfe wird nur geleistet, wenn die um einen Kredit nachsuchende Bank oder Bankengruppe für die Stabilität des Finanzsystems von Bedeutung und solvent ist. Zudem muss die Liquiditätshilfe jederzeit vollständig durch ausreichende Sicherheiten gedeckt sein. Auf dem Höhepunkt der Finanzkrise im Oktober 2008 beschlossen der Bundesrat, die Eidgenössische Bankenkommission EBK (Vorgängerin der FINMA) und die Nationalbank ein Massnahmenpaket, das dazu diente, die UBS zu stabilisieren und damit das Schweizer Finanzsystem zu stärken. Die Nationalbank beteiligte sich mit einem Stabilisierungsfonds (StabFund) an diesem Paket. Damit nahm sie ihre Rolle als Kreditgeberin in letzter Instanz wahr.

Welchen Zweck hatte der Stabilisierungsfonds?

Der StabFund war eine von der Nationalbank gegründete Zweckgesellschaft, in die illiquide Aktiven der UBS eingebracht wurden. Die Nationalbank gewährte dem StabFund für die Übernahme dieser Aktiven ein Darlehen. Im November 2013 kaufte die UBS den Stabilisierungsfonds von der Nationalbank zurück (Medienmitteilung).

Welche Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen gelten als systemisch bedeutsam?

Zu den Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen, von denen Risiken für die Stabilität des Finanzsystems ausgehen können, zählen in der Schweiz das Zahlungssystem Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC), der Zentralverwahrer SIX SIS und die zentrale Gegenpartei SIX x-clear. Betrieben werden sie von der SIX Group (www.six-group.com) bzw. deren Tochtergesellschaften SIX Interbank Clearing AG, SIX SIS AG und SIX x-clear AG. Für die Stabilität des schweizerischen Finanzsystems ebenfalls bedeutsam sind das Devisenabwicklungssystem Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS) sowie die zentralen Gegenparteien Eurex Clearing und LCH.Clearnet Ltd. Die Betreiber dieser Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen sind in den USA, in Deutschland und in Grossbritannien ansässig.

Weshalb überwacht die Nationalbank die systemisch bedeutsamen Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen?

Das Nationalbankgesetz beauftragt die Nationalbank damit, solche Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen zu überwachen. Mit der Überwachung der privatwirtschaftlich betriebenen Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen fördert die Nationalbank deren Sicherheit. Dabei steht die Reduktion der systemischen Risiken im Vordergrund. Zum einen gilt es zu verhindern, dass ein technisch bedingter Ausfall oder finanzielle Schwierigkeiten der Betreiber dieser Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen zu schwerwiegenden Kredit- oder Liquiditätsproblemen der Finanzintermediäre führen oder sich daraus gravierende Störungen an den Finanzmärkten ergeben. Zum anderen sollen die vertraglichen Grundlagen und insbesondere die Regeln und Verfahren der Systeme so gestaltet sein, dass sich Zahlungs- oder Lieferschwierigkeiten einzelner Teilnehmer dieser Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen nicht unkontrolliert auf andere Finanzintermediäre, verbundene Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen oder auf die Finanzmärkte ausbreiten. Die Nationalbank arbeitet zu diesem Zweck mit der FINMA sowie ausländischen Aufsichts- und Überwachungsbehörden zusammen.