Print

Comments on monetary policy and banking regulation

110th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 27.04.2018

  • Complete text
    (121 KB)

The Swiss economy picked up markedly last year against a pleasing global economic backdrop. There were also favourable developments on the foreign exchange markets, with the Swiss franc having weakened since the second half of 2017. There has thus been a reduction in the significant overvaluation, but the Swiss franc nevertheless remains highly valued. Inflation remains low and inflationary pressure modest.

In this environment, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) is continuing to pursue its expansionary monetary policy. The negative interest rate and the SNB's willingness to intervene in the foreign exchange market as necessary remain essential. Tightening monetary conditions would be premature at this juncture, and would risk unnecessarily jeopardising the positive economic momentum that has been established.

In the wake of the global financial crisis, efforts were undertaken at both national and international level to markedly increase the resilience of the financial system with a view to withstanding future crises. On the one hand, the relevant international bodies defined new liquidity and capital adequacy requirements for all banks. On the other hand, systemically important banks must now hold an additional capital buffer and take financial and organisational precautions in case they get into difficulty.

Switzerland's banking sector is of major importance to the country's economy. Efficient and internationally active banks play a key role in this context. A break-up of systemically important banks would therefore not be in Switzerland's overall economic interests, making it all the more crucial that these banks be sufficiently robust. Swiss regulations thus require systemically important banks to hold a larger capital buffer than the minimum standard laid down in the international framework. However, these stricter requirements must not be viewed solely as a cost driver. A robust banking system is a significant advantage for a business location in the face of international competition, and therefore desirable not only in the interests of financial stability, but also from the perspective of the banks themselves. Switzerland has also opted for a streamlined regulatory approach that refrains from actively intervening in banks' business models or organisational structures.

Ten years on from the financial crisis, Switzerland's banking system is clearly more resilient. It is now incumbent on us to complete the implementation of the regulations rigorously. The authorities will of course have to continually review the effectiveness and costs of the regulations going forward.

The new banking regulations substantially reduce the likelihood and severity of any future financial crisis. At the same time, the Swiss regulations will resolve the 'too big to fail' issue. Together these measures will strengthen the resilience of the banking sector, which can surely only benefit our economy and enhance our prosperity.

Imprimer

Commentaires sur la politique monétaire et la réglementation bancaire

110e Assemblée générale ordinaire des actionnaires de la Banque nationale suisse, Berne, 27.04.2018

  • Texte intégral
    (128 KB)

L'année dernière, l'économie suisse a enregistré un net regain de vigueur, dans un environnement conjoncturel international positif. L'évolution s'est également montrée favorable sur le marché des changes, le franc s'étant affaibli à partir du second semestre 2017. Néanmoins, même si la surévaluation marquée du franc s'est atténuée, celui-ci s'inscrit toujours à un niveau élevé. L'inflation quant à elle demeure faible, et les pressions à la hausse sur les prix restent modérées.

Dans ce contexte, la Banque nationale suisse poursuit sa politique monétaire expansionniste. Il est nécessaire qu'elle maintienne le taux d'intérêt négatif et sa disposition à intervenir au besoin sur le marché des changes. Un resserrement des conditions monétaires serait prématuré pour le moment et compromettrait inutilement la dynamique positive de l'économie.

Dans le sillage de la crise financière mondiale, des efforts ont été déployés sur le plan national et international. Ils ont considérablement renforcé la capacité de résistance du système financier dans l'optique de crises futures. Ainsi, d'une part, les instances internationales ont défini pour toutes les banques de nouvelles normes en matière de liquidités et de fonds propres. D'autre part, les banques dites d'importance systémique doivent détenir un volant supplémentaire de fonds propres et prendre des dispositions sur le plan financier et organisationnel pour le cas où elles se retrouveraient dans une situation critique.

En Suisse, le secteur bancaire revêt une importance majeure pour l'économie. Des banques efficaces, actives sur le plan international, y jouent un rôle essentiel. Du point de vue économique, il ne serait donc pas dans l'intérêt général du pays de démanteler les banques d'importance systémique. Il est d'autant plus nécessaire de s'assurer que ces dernières sont suffisamment robustes. C'est la raison pour laquelle la réglementation suisse exige de ces banques qu'elles détiennent un volant de fonds propres dépassant les exigences minimales fixées dans les normes internationales. Un tel relèvement des exigences ne doit toutefois pas être considéré sous le seul aspect des coûts qui en découlent. Un système bancaire robuste constitue un atout majeur face à la concurrence internationale; il s'agit donc d'un objectif souhaitable non seulement du point de vue de la stabilité financière, mais aussi pour les banques elles-mêmes. La Suisse s'est par ailleurs dotée d'une réglementation succincte qui n'intervient ni dans le modèle d'affaires ni dans la structure organisationnelle des banques.

Dix ans après la crise financière, le système bancaire suisse affiche une résilience nettement accrue. Il y a lieu à présent de mener à bonne fin la mise en oeuvre de la réglementation. Bien entendu, les autorités devront, à l'avenir également, évaluer régulièrement l'efficacité et les coûts de la réglementation.

La nouvelle réglementation réduit notablement la probabilité qu'une crise financière éclate et, si le cas devait se produire, la gravité d'une telle crise. Les exigences définies pour la Suisse permettront en outre de résoudre la problématique du too big to fail. La résilience ainsi renforcée du secteur bancaire devrait avoir un impact positif sur l'évolution de l'économie et sur la prospérité.