Print

Developments on the Swiss franc capital market and the SNB's monetary policy

Money Market Event, Geneva, 16.11.2017

  • Complete text
    (1.4 MB)

Against the backdrop of low interest rates worldwide, the cost of borrowing has steadily fallen in recent years. The SNB's policy of negative interest has further accentuated this trend in Switzerland. Despite this, the Swiss franc bond market has contracted in recent years.

This is primarily due to the decline of the foreign segment. The domestic segment, by contrast, has grown continually, mainly as a result of higher issuance by the central mortgage bond institutions and corporations. Nevertheless, bank lending continues to be the most important source of external financing for Swiss companies.

In the public sector, the volume of outstanding bonds has fallen over the last ten years. Although the volume issued by the cantons and municipalities has increased, that issued by the Confederation has decreased markedly.

The decline of the foreign segment is largely attributable to lower issuance by European banks. Moreover, certain distortions on the foreign currency swap market have made financing on the Swiss franc bond market more expensive for foreigner investors.

Low interest rates have made Swiss franc bonds less attractive in relative terms. This is borne out in several developments, not least in the declining share of foreign investors on the Swiss franc bond market since 2008.

The SNB has been active in the foreign exchange market since the global financial crisis and the European debt crisis in order to react to greater demand for Swiss francs and prevent renewed appreciation of the currency. Investors have placed only a modest portion of their newly acquired Swiss francs in Swiss franc-denominated securities.

Instead, investors have increasingly built up additional Swiss franc positions in the form of Swiss franc forward transactions. In other words, demand for Swiss franc positions in the form of deposits is less strong than it has been in the past.

Imprimer

Evolution du marché des capitaux en francs et politique monétaire de la BNS

Apéritif "Marché monétaire", Genève, 16.11.2017

  • Texte intégral
    (1.4 MB)

Etant donné l'environnement de taux d'intérêt bas au niveau mondial, les coûts de l'endettement ont constamment baissé ces dernières années. Le taux d'intérêt négatif appliqué par la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) a encore accentué cette évolution en Suisse. Or, malgré ce contexte, le marché obligataire en francs a perdu du terrain.

Ce recul est essentiellement dû au repli du segment étranger. Par contre, le segment suisse a enregistré une croissance continue, qui a été portée principalement par l'augmentation du volume des émissions des centrales de lettres de gage et des entreprises. Malgré cette évolution, les crédits bancaires restent la principale source de financement externe des entreprises en Suisse.

Dans le secteur public, l'encours des emprunts a diminué durant les dernières années. Les cantons et les communes ont certes accru leurs emprunts, mais la Confédération a fortement réduit les siens.

Le recul du segment étranger s'explique surtout par une baisse du volume des émissions de la part des banques européennes. En outre, certaines distorsions sur le marché des swaps de devises rendent le financement sur le marché obligataire en francs plus onéreux pour les émetteurs non résidents.

Du fait du bas niveau des taux d'intérêt, les obligations en francs ont perdu de leur attrait. Depuis 2008, la part des investisseurs non résidents sur ce marché a diminué.

Depuis la crise financière mondiale et celle de la dette européenne, la BNS est intervenue sur le marché des changes afin de réagir à la demande accrue de francs et d'empêcher une nouvelle hausse du franc. Les francs supplémentaires n'ont été investis que dans une mesure restreinte dans des titres libellés en francs.

Ces dernières années, les investisseurs ont davantage constitué les positions supplémentaires en francs à l'aide d'opérations à terme sur devises. Ils n'ont donc plus demandé autant qu'auparavant de positions en francs sous forme de placements en francs.