Initiative against war trade

The Swiss popular initiative 'For a ban on financing war material manufacturers' (Initiative against war trade) will be put to a national vote on 29 November 2020. The SNB opposes the initiative. This page provides background information and explains the rationale for the SNB's position.

The aim of the initiative

The proposal is to prohibit the old-age and survivors' insurance scheme (AHV), pension funds, foundations and also the SNB from holding securities issued by companies that derive more than 5% of their annual turnover from the production of war material. It would also be illegal to grant credit to such companies.

Why the SNB opposes the initiative

  • The new constitutional requirement would create legal uncertainty and major practical difficulties for the SNB, as a directly affected institution. Given that there is no generally accepted definition of 'war material manufacturers', such a classification would be complex and unclear, particularly as the pertinent proportion of a company's turnover may be subject to change over time and may thus exceed or fall below the 5% threshold.
  • Adoption of the initiative would significantly restrict the SNB's investment options and the professional management of its equity investments. The SNB would probably have to exclude more than 300 companies from its equity portfolio, which corresponds to roughly 11% of the portfolio's market value. This would considerably reduce diversification within the portfolio. As a result of this narrower distribution of equity investments, the weighting of the remaining companies would rise substantially which would have a negative impact on the risk/return ratio, in that there would likely be a tendency towards higher risks.
  • Adoption of the initiative would lead to additional costs and added risks in asset management. Since all stock index derivatives contain shares that would be prohibited, they would no longer be able to be used. These index futures are important instruments for managing investment risk. Without futures, higher transaction costs or added risks would be inevitable.
  • The initiative calls into question the SNB's independence in a key area of its remit, namely asset management. The Federal Constitution explicitly grants the SNB extensive independence in fulfilling its mandate. This is to ensure that the SNB is able to perform its tasks independently of short-term political considerations and in the country's best interests.

What the SNB already does

  • The SNB already refrains entirely from investing in any firms that produce internationally condemned weapons (anti-personnel mines, cluster munitions, and biological and chemical weapons, as well as nuclear weapons for countries that are not among the five nuclear-weapon states defined under the UN's Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty).
  • The SNB generally does not engage in any direct financing of specific projects or products.

Initiative contre le commerce de guerre

L'initiative populaire "Pour une interdiction du financement des producteurs de matériel de guerre" (initiative contre le commerce de guerre) sera soumise le 29 novembre 2020 à la votation populaire. La BNS rejette l'initiative. Ce dossier contient des informations sur la position de la Banque nationale et les motifs qu'elle invoque.

Objectif poursuivi par l'initiative

Interdire à l'AVS, aux caisses de pensions, aux fondations et à la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) de détenir des titres d'entreprises qui réalisent plus de 5% de leur chiffre d'affaires annuel dans la production de matériel de guerre. Interdire aussi l'octroi de crédits à de telles entreprises.

Pourquoi la BNS rejette cette initiative

  • La nouvelle disposition constitutionnelle entraînerait une insécurité juridique et des problèmes pratiques importants pour la BNS, directement concernée. En effet, il n'existe aucune définition universelle de ce qu'est une entreprise "productrice de matériel de guerre". Aussi une telle classification serait-elle compliquée et fluctuante, d'autant plus que la part du "matériel de guerre" dans le chiffre d'affaires des entreprises concernées peut évoluer au cours du temps.
  • Si cette initiative était acceptée, tant les possibilités de placement que la gestion professionnelle des placements en actions de la BNS seraient considérablement restreintes. La Banque nationale devrait vraisemblablement exclure plus de 300 entreprises de son portefeuille d'actions, soit environ 11% de la valeur de marché de ce dernier. La diversification de son portefeuille d'actions serait par là même fortement réduite. La BNS devrait par conséquent acquérir davantage de titres des entreprises non concernées par l'initiative, et le rapport risque/rendement de son portefeuille se détériorerait. En d'autres termes, elle devrait faire face à des risques accrus.
  • L'acceptation de l'initiative entraînerait en outre des coûts et des risques supplémentaires dans la gestion des placements. En effet, étant donné que tous les produits dérivés sur indices boursiers comprennent des titres dont la détention lui serait dès lors interdite, la BNS ne pourrait plus y recourir. Or, ces contrats à terme sur indice sont des instruments importants dans la gestion des risques de placement. Sans eux, la BNS devrait faire face à des frais de transaction accrus ou à des risques supplémentaires.
  • L'initiative remet en question l'indépendance de la Banque nationale dans le domaine de compétences important qu'est la gestion des placements. Afin que la BNS soit à même d'accomplir ses tâches dans l'intérêt général du pays, sans être influencée par des considérations politiques de court terme, la Constitution fédérale lui accorde expressément une large indépendance.

Ce que fait déjà la BNS

  • La BNS s'abstient d'ores et déjà complètement d'acquérir des actions ou des obligations d'entreprises qui produisent des armes condamnées sur le plan international (mines antipersonnel, armes à sous-munitions, armes biologiques, armes chimiques et armes nucléaires produites pour d'autres pays que les cinq puissances nucléaires légitimes selon le traité des Nations Unies sur la non-prolifération des armes nucléaires).
  • D'une manière générale, la BNS ne finance directement aucun projet ou produit déterminé.