Swiss Reference Rates

  • Introduction

    The Swiss National Bank (SNB), in cooperation with SIX Swiss Exchange, developed CHF reference rates for the financial markets in 2009. These reference rates are based on CHF repo interbank market data provided by SIX Repo Ltd. The Swiss reference rates comprise the Swiss Average Rates (SAR®) and the Swiss Current Rates (SCR®), covering a term spectrum ranging from overnight (ON) to 12 months (12M). SIX Swiss Exchange is the Swiss reference rates administrator and is thus responsible for their daily calculation and publication.

    Internationally, overnight interest rates play a significant role in determining yield curves, and the Swiss franc yield curve is to be based on the Swiss Average Rate Overnight (SARON®) in future. Since 13 June 2019, the SNB has been implementing its monetary policy by setting the SNB policy rate. The SNB seeks to keep the secured short-term Swiss franc money market rates close to its policy rate and is focussing on the SARON in this regard.

  • Swiss Average Rate

    The Average Rate is a rolling, volume-weighted average based on transactions concluded and reference prices posted on a given trading day. The reference price is calculated on the basis of tradable quotes in the order book of the SIX Repo Ltd electronic trading platform, provided they lie within the parameters of the quote filter. The quote filter is parameterised in a way that limits the risk of manipulation to an absolute minimum. The Average Rate is calculated continuously in real time and published every ten minutes. In addition, a fixing is conducted three times a day at 12 noon, 16:00 and at the close of the trading day (18:00 at the earliest). SARON - with fixing at the close of the trading day - is used in the derivatives market.

  • Swiss Current Rate

    The Current Rate is based on the price of a transaction or, alternatively, specific quotes. In contrast to the way in which the Average Rate is calculated, volume is not taken into account. The risk of manipulation of the Current Rate is also minimised through the application of appropriate filtering criteria. The Current Rate is calculated every three minutes and published immediately thereafter. The Current Rate reflects the latest pricing in the money market and is an indicator of short-term changes.

  • Overview of the Swiss Reference Rates

    Term
    Average Rate
    Current Rate
    Overnight (ON)
    SARON
    SCRON
    Tom/Next (TN)
    SARTN
    SCRTN
    Spot/Next (SN)
    SARSN
    SCRSN
    1 week (1W)
    SAR1W
    SCR1W
    2 weeks (2W)
    SAR2W
    SCR2W
    3 weeks (3W)
    SAR3W
    SCR3W
    1 month (1M)
    SAR1M
    SCR1M
    2 months (2M)
    SAR2M
    SCR2M
    3 months (3M)
    SAR3M
    SCR3M
    6 months (6M)
    SAR6M
    SCR6M
    9 months (9M)
    SAR9M
    SCR9M
    12 months (12M)
    SAR12M
    SCR12M

  • Further information

    The regulations containing detailed information on the calculation of the CHF reference rates as well as historical data can be accessed on the SIX Swiss Exchange website.

Swiss Reference Rates

  • Introduction

    En 2009, la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) a élaboré avec SIX Swiss Exchange SA (SWX) des taux de référence en francs pour les marchés financiers, qui reposent sur les données du marché interbancaire des pensions de titres contre francs de la société SIX Repo SA. Les Swiss Reference Rates englobent les Swiss Average Rates (SAR®) et les Swiss Current Rates (SCR®) pour des durées allant d'une journée (overnight, taux au jour le jour) à douze mois. Ils sont administrés par SIX Swiss Exchange, à qui incombe également le calcul et la publication des taux de référence au quotidien.

    Les taux d'intérêt au jour le jour jouent un rôle central sur le plan international, car ils servent à déterminer la courbe des taux. La courbe des taux en francs doit se baser sur le Swiss Average Rate Overnight (SARON®). Depuis le 13 juin 2019, la Banque nationale utilise son propre taux directeur (taux directeur de la BNS) pour la mise en oeuvre de sa politique monétaire. Elle vise un niveau proche de ce taux directeur pour les taux d'intérêt à court terme du marché monétaire gagé en francs. Ce faisant, elle concentre son attention sur le SARON.

  • Swiss Average Rate

    L'Average Rate est un taux d'intérêt moyen pondéré par le volume et actualisé en permanence, qui se base sur les transactions conclues et sur les prix de référence du jour de négoce concerné. Le calcul du prix de référence repose sur les offres (quotes) négociables dans le carnet d'ordres de la plate-forme électronique de négoce SIX Repo SA, dans la mesure où elles se situent dans la plage retenue (quote filter). Celle-ci est définie de façon à réduire les possibilités de manipulation autant que faire se peut. L'Average Rate est calculé en continu (real time) et publié toutes les dix minutes. Des fixings sont en outre effectués trois fois par jour, à 12h00, à 16h00 et à la fin de la journée de négoce (au plus tôt à 18h00). Le SARON avec fixing en fin de journée de négoce est utilisé sur le marché des produits dérivés.

  • Swiss Current Rate

    Le Current Rate se base sur le prix d'une transaction ou éventuellement sur des offres. A la différence de l'Average Rate, le calcul ne tient pas compte des volumes. Le Current Rate est également doté de critères de filtrage qui réduisent les possibilités de manipulation autant que faire se peut. Il est calculé toutes les trois minutes et publié immédiatement après. Le Current Rate reflète le prix actuel sur le marché monétaire et sert d'indicateur pour les variations à court terme.

  • Aperçu des Swiss Reference Rates

    Durée
    Average Rate
    Current Rate
    Overnight (ON)
    SARON
    SCRON
    Tom/Next (TN)
    SARTN
    SCRTN
    Spot/Next (SN)
    SARSN
    SCRSN
    1 semaine (1W)
    SAR1W
    SCR1W
    2 semaines (2W)
    SAR2W
    SCR2W
    3 semaines (3W)
    SAR3W
    SCR3W
    1 mois (1M)
    SAR1M
    SCR1M
    2 mois (2M)
    SAR2M
    SCR2M
    3 mois (3M)
    SAR3M
    SCR3M
    6 mois (6M)
    SAR6M
    SCR6M
    9 mois (9M)
    SAR9M
    SCR9M
    12 mois (12M)
    SAR12M
    SCR12M

  • Informations complémentaires

    Le règlement explicatif détaillé sur le calcul des taux de référence en francs ainsi que les données historiques sont disponibles sur le site Internet de SIX Swiss Exchange.