Safeguarding the principles of regulatory policy

Thomas Jordan, Chairman of the Governing Board

University of Lucerne, 23.09.2022

Discussions surrounding regulatory policy have faded somewhat into the background. For the Swiss National Bank (SNB), however, two principles of regulatory policy in particular remain of great significance: independence from politics and a mandate that concentrates on ensuring price stability. Both of these closely related principles are firmly anchored in the legislation of many countries - and in Switzerland too.

In recent years, these principles have been consciously or unconsciously questioned by some in politics and among the public. For example, there have been calls from politicians for the SNB to directly finance government tasks. It is likely that these demands are tied above all to our high profits in the past few years. However, the good results were achieved during an exceptional financial market environment. This environment has now changed sharply. The SNB's loss for the first half of 2022 underlines that a larger balance sheet is accompanied by larger fluctuations in absolute terms in the annual result, and that substantial profits can be followed by substantial losses.

The direct financing of government tasks by the SNB is not in keeping with the principles of regulatory policy. Monetary policy decisions thus inevitably take on a political dimension, thereby endangering the SNB's independence. Furthermore, the direct financing of government tasks blurs the clear focus of monetary policy on price stability and creates unnecessary conflicts of interest.

The current high inflation underlines the importance of the SNB's focus on ensuring price stability. Price stability is the most important contribution the SNB can make to our country.

Prendre soin de l'ordre économique

Thomas Jordan, président de la Direction générale

Université de Lucerne, 23.09.2022

Les discussions concernant l'ordre économique (Ordnungspolitik) sont quelque peu passées à l'arrière-plan. Pour la Banque nationale suisse (BNS), deux principes relatifs à l'ordre économique continuent en particulier de revêtir une grande importance: l'indépendance face aux instances politiques et un mandat de politique monétaire qui se concentre sur le maintien de la stabilité des prix. Ces deux principes, étroitement liés entre eux, sont fermement ancrés dans les lois de nombreux pays, dont la Suisse.

Ces dernières années, un certain nombre d'acteurs politiques et une partie de l'opinion ont remis ces principes en question, consciemment ou non. Ainsi, des interventions politiques ont exigé que la BNS finance directement certaines tâches de l'État. Ces revendications ont certainement un rapport avec les bénéfices élevés des dernières années. Or ces bons résultats ont été enregistrés dans un contexte extraordinaire pour les marchés financiers, et ce contexte a désormais profondément changé. La perte accusée par la BNS au premier semestre 2022 démontre qu'un accroissement du bilan s'accompagne, en termes absolus, de fluctuations plus amples du résultat annuel, et que des bénéfices élevés peuvent être suivis par de fortes pertes.

Un financement direct de tâches étatiques par la BNS serait en inadéquation avec les principes de l'ordre économique. En effet, les décisions de politique monétaire se verraient alors conférer une dimension politique, ce qui compromettrait l'indépendance de la Banque nationale. De plus, un financement direct de tâches incombant à l'État ferait obstacle à une orientation claire de la politique monétaire sur la stabilité des prix et créerait inutilement des conflits d'objectifs.

La forte inflation qui prévaut actuellement illustre combien il importe que la Banque nationale se concentre sur la stabilité des prix. C'est en effet la principale contribution que la BNS puisse apporter à la Suisse.