Print

How money is created by the central bank and the banking system

Z├╝rcher Volkswirtschaftliche Gesellschaft, Zurich, 16.01.2018

  • Complete text
    (153 KB)

The financial crisis and the massive expansion of liquidity by central banks have raised the level of public interest in monetary topics. This also applies to the question of how interaction between central banks, commercial banks and the general public affects the supply of money and credit.

Traditionally, a distinction is made between two types of money: central bank money created by central banks, and bank deposits created by commercial banks interacting with the central bank and the public. Central bank money is legal tender, while deposits with commercial banks represent a claim on central bank money. These deposits result from the banks' lending activities. When a bank grants a loan to a customer, it credits the amount in question to their account in the form of a sight deposit. This deposit disappears from the bank's books as soon as the customer uses it to make payments, but it remains in the banking system.

Constraints on the creation of bank deposits are imposed by the banks' risk/return considerations and by the central bank's monetary policy. When making lending decisions, banks take into account current and future interest rates, the likelihood of deposit withdrawals and credit defaults, and the liquidity and capital adequacy requirements in force. Central banks steer interest rates via their monetary policy, which has an impact on the public's demand for money and credit and curbs money creation.

Various proposals calling for broader access to central bank money have recently been put forward as an alternative to the present-day system. In Switzerland, a people's initiative known as the sovereign money initiative has been submitted and will be voted on by the electorate later this year. It aims to have sight deposits with commercial banks replaced by central bank money. Banks would no longer be permitted to create deposits through their lending activities. Acceptance of the initiative would have serious consequences for the structure and stability of the financial system, as well as for the monetary policy of the Swiss National Bank (SNB), and plunge the Swiss economy into a period of extreme uncertainty. Switzerland would have a financial system which is untested and fundamentally different from that of any other country. The Federal Council and the SNB therefore firmly oppose the sovereign money initiative.

As an alternative to the concept of sovereign money, some academics have launched the idea of allowing access to a sight deposit account at the SNB not only to commercial banks, as is currently the case, but also to the public. Unlike the sovereign money initiative, this would not bar commercial banks from creating deposits through lending. However, the proposal could well have consequences on the structure of the financial system similar to those of the sovereign money scenario. The SNB would assume a greater role in financial intermediation. Such a change would call into question the traditional, tried-and-tested division of tasks between the central bank and the commercial banks. The SNB therefore takes a critical stance on this proposal.

Imprimer

Comment la banque centrale et le secteur bancaire créent de la monnaie

Zürcher Volkswirtschaftliche Gesellschaft, Zurich, 16.01.2018

  • Texte intégral
    (162 KB)

La crise financière et la forte expansion des liquidités résultant de l'action des banques centrales ont accru l'intérêt du public pour les thèmes monétaires. La question de savoir comment l'interaction entre banque centrale, banques commerciales et public influe sur la masse monétaire et les crédits en fait partie.

On distingue traditionnellement deux formes de monnaie: la monnaie centrale, qui est émise par les banques centrales, et la monnaie scripturale, qui est créée par le système bancaire en interaction avec le public et la banque centrale. La monnaie centrale constitue un moyen de paiement ayant cours légal, tandis que la monnaie scripturale des banques commerciales représente un droit sur la monnaie centrale. La monnaie scripturale provient des crédits octroyés par les banques. Lorsqu'un établissement accorde un prêt à un client, il lui crédite la contre-valeur sous forme de dépôt à vue. Certes, ce dernier disparaît en règle générale des livres de la banque prêteuse du fait des paiements effectués par le client, mais il reste dans le système bancaire.

La création de monnaie scripturale par les banques commerciales est limitée par la prise en considération du rapport rendement/risque et par la politique monétaire de la Banque nationale. Dans leurs décisions, les banques tiennent compte de facteurs tels que les intérêts actuels et futurs, la probabilité de retraits de dépôts ou de défauts de crédit, ou encore les prescriptions régissant les liquidités et les fonds propres. Les banques centrales agissent, dans le cadre de leur politique monétaire, sur les taux d'intérêt, ce qui influe sur la demande de monnaie et de crédits de la part du public et freine la création monétaire.

Différentes propositions circulant actuellement visent à changer le système actuel et à élargir l'accès à la monnaie centrale. En Suisse, l'initiative Monnaie pleine a abouti et devrait être soumise cette année au scrutin populaire. Elle revendique le remplacement de la monnaie scripturale des banques commerciales par de la monnaie centrale. Les banques n'auraient ainsi plus le droit de créer de la monnaie scripturale en octroyant des crédits. Si elle était adoptée, l'initiative aurait des répercussions sur la structure et la stabilité du système financier ainsi que sur la politique monétaire de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS). En outre, l'économie plongerait dans une période de grande incertitude. La Suisse se retrouverait alors avec un système financier jamais encore expérimenté et fondamentalement différent des systèmes financiers de tous les autres pays. C'est pourquoi le Conseil fédéral et la BNS rejettent clairement cette initiative.

Comme alternative à la monnaie pleine, des cercles universitaires ont lancé un débat en proposant de ne plus limiter aux seules banques commerciales l'accès aux comptes à vue auprès de la BNS, mais de l'élargir au public. A la différence de l'initiative Monnaie pleine, cette proposition n'interdirait pas aux banques de créer de la monnaie scripturale. Toutefois, ses répercussions sur la structure du système financier pourraient être similaires à celles d'un "oui" à l'initiative Monnaie pleine. La banque centrale jouerait un rôle plus important en matière d'intermédiation financière, ce qui remettrait en question la répartition traditionnelle des tâches entre la banque centrale et les banques commerciales, une répartition qui a fait ses preuves jusqu'ici. Aussi la Banque nationale considère-t-elle cette proposition d'un oeil critique.