Print

Information on the archives

The Swiss monetary and central bank policy records are stored in the Swiss National Bank archives. These historical records document the monetary policy issues and challenges with which the Swiss National Bank has been confronted since 1907. They show how the SNB viewed these issues, and how it solved them.

The SNB is subject to the Federal Act on Archiving, which requires the SNB to preserve documents of legal, political, economic, historical, social or cultural value on a long-term basis.

Information on using the archives

The contents of the SNB archives are accessible after a thirty year closure period has elapsed, unless such access is incompatible with an overriding public or private interest. In some cases, special provisions apply for personal data or for records from other institutions.

Opening hours

Visitors are requested to contact the archives in advance, by phone, e-mail or normal mail. The archives team will be pleased to help you in the search for relevant records. The archives may be visited during office hours.

Contact details

Email
Team
 
Dr. Patrick Halbeisen
+41 58 631 34 55
Evelyn Ingold
+41 58 631 39 79
 
Simone Epper
+41 58 631 39 58
Dominique Baumann
+41 58 631 39 75
 
Christina Henss
+41 58 631 20 70
 

Contents of the Swiss National Bank archives

The heart of the SNB archives is its collection of records relating to Swiss monetary and exchange rate policy. In the fixed exchange rate system, which lasted until 1973, the focus was on exchange rate and gold policy. This was reflected in the holdings of records on gold transactions, discount and Lombard policy, general exchange rate policy (e.g. devaluation) and relations with other central banks. Other major holdings were created as a result, in particular, of the administrative measures undertaken in the 1960s and 1970s to combat inflation. The relevant key words here are foreign funds, minimum balances and lending limits, economic policy. Also of interest for economic history are the monthly reports from the head and branch offices, the documents on exemptions for the export industry, e.g. the watchmaking and textile industry, and, for instance, the records on the Freigeldbewegung.

Following the transition to flexible exchange rates after 1973, SNB policy was focused on steering the supply of money with the objective of ensuring price stability. In this context, major holdings were created on changes in and measurement of the supply of money and monetary policy decision-making processes.

Since the foundation of the SNB, management has based its decisions on surveys, data collections and reports provided by the National Bank’s own statistical department. Statistical series contain a wide range of data on the SNB accounts and important monetary policy and exchange rate indicators, as well as a wealth of data on payment transactions, the development of the money and capital markets, on the business activities and development of banks in Switzerland, and on the balance of payments.

Internal SNB studies and investigations on a great variety of issues affecting economic and monetary policy show how the National Bank has viewed these matters since the 1920s, and handled them from an academic standpoint. In the mid-1970s, after the transition to flexible exchange rates, economic research within the SNB was greatly expanded. The development of modern monetary policy is closely related to the development of a global network of increasingly specialised monetary policy research activities.

The archives also contains numerous records on the SNB’s other tasks. These include extensive holdings relating to the development of and reforms to legislation, and also to the constitutional foundations of monetary policy in the Coinage Act, the National Bank Act and the relevant articles in the Federal Constitution, as well as records relating to regulation of the Swiss financial centre in the Banking Act, the Stock Exchange Act and various gentleman’s agreements with the banks. An important task for the SNB is to ensure the supply and distribution of cash. This is reflected in the records on the production and issuing of banknotes, banknote and coin security and the organisation of cash transactions.

In the 1930s, a number of interesting records that fall outside the scope of monetary and exchange rate policies were created in connection with both bilateralism and controlled payment transactions involving numerous trading partners. Such records were again created after the Second World War in connection with the continued management of the dollar market and the involvement in the European Payments Union. Throughout the entire period there are documents relating to SNB participation in international institutions such as the Bank for International Settlements (BIS), the OECD and – informally to 1992 and then as a member – the Bretton Woods institutions (IMF and the World Bank).

The most important sources – the minutes of the Governing Board (SNB executive management), as well as the minutes of the Bank Council and the Bank Committee (SNB authorities) – are fully documented.

Imprimer

Informations sur les archives

Les archives de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) renferment les dossiers se rapportant à la politique monétaire et à la politique de l’institut d’émission suisses. Ces dossiers renseignent sur les tâches et les problèmes en matière de politique monétaire auxquels la Banque nationale a dû faire face au cours de plus de cent années d’existence. Ils montrent en outre comment la Banque a accompli ses tâches et résolu les problèmes.

Base juridique

Les archives sont soumises à la loi fédérale sur l’archivage (LAr). En vertu de cette loi, la Banque nationale est tenue de conserver durablement «les documents qui ont une valeur juridique, politique, économique, historique, sociale et culturelle».

Indications pour la consultation

Les fonds d’archives de la BNS sont accessibles après un délai de protection de 30 ans, pour autant qu’aucun intérêt privé ou public prépondérant ne s’oppose à une consultation. Pour des données ou des fonds d’institutions tierces, qui portent sur des personnes, des dispositions spéciales sont en partie applicables.

Heures d’ouverture

Les visiteurs sont priés de s’annoncer à l’avance par écrit ou par téléphone. Les archivistes apportent volontiers leur aide dans la recherche des dossiers. Les visites sont possibles durant les heures de bureau.

Adresses

Email
Team
 
Dr. Patrick Halbeisen
+41 58 631 34 55
Evelyn Ingold
+41 58 631 39 79
 
Simone Epper
+41 58 631 39 58
Dominique Baumann
+41 58 631 39 75
 
Christina Henss
+41 58 631 20 70
 

Fonds d’archives de la Banque nationale suisse

Les fonds d’archives de la Banque nationale suisse portent avant tout sur la politique monétaire de la Suisse. Dans le système des cours de change fixe (jusqu’en 1973), les politiques de change et de l’or jouaient un rôle central. Les fonds d’archives de cette époque se rapportent aux opérations sur l’or, à la politique de l’escompte et des avances sur nantissement, à la politique de change en général (à la dévaluation, par exemple) et à la collaboration avec les autres banques centrales. D’autres fonds importants concernent surtout les mesures administratives prises dans les années 1960 et 1970 pour lutter contre l’inflation. A ce propos, il convient de mentionner les fonds étrangers, les avoirs minimaux, la limitation des crédits et la politique conjoncturelle. Sous l’angle de l'histoire économique, il est intéressant de relever les rapports mensuels des sièges et des succursales, la documentation relative aux facilités octroyées à l’industrie d’exportation, notamment à l’horlogerie et à l’industrie textile, ou même les dossiers afférents au mouvement franchiste.

Après le passage aux changes flottants (à partir de 1973), la gestion de la monnaie centrale liée à un objectif de stabilité des prix est devenue un élément central de la politique de la Banque nationale. Il en a résulté des fonds d’archives importants sur l’évolution et la mesure de la masse monétaire et les processus de décision en matière de politique monétaire.

Pour prendre ses décisions, la Direction de la Banque s’est fondée, depuis la création de l’institut d’émission, sur les enquêtes, les séries de données et les rapports de son Service de statistique. Les séries statistiques contiennent d’abondantes données sur les situations (états du bilan) de la Banque nationale, des indicateurs importants de la politique monétaire, mais aussi sur le trafic des paiements, les marchés monétaire et des capitaux, l’activité et l’évolution du secteur bancaire en Suisse ainsi que la balance des paiements.

Des études internes et des analyses abordant des questions importantes relatives à l’économie et à la politique monétaire montrent comment la Banque nationale a perçu les problèmes depuis les années 1920 et de quelle manière elle les a traités. Au milieu des années 1970, après le passage aux changes flottants, le Service de recherche de la BNS a connu une forte expansion. Le développement d’une politique monétaire moderne est étroitement lié aux travaux de recherche dans ce domaine, travaux de plus en plus spécialisés et interconnectés sur le plan international.

En outre, les archives renferment de nombreux fonds thématiques concernant les autres tâches de l’institut d’émission. Il s’agit notamment de fonds se rapportant à l’extension et aux réformes des bases juridiques et aux dispositions monétaires de la loi sur la monnaie, de la loi sur la Banque nationale ainsi que des articles constitutionnels correspondants, mais aussi de fonds afférents à la régulation de la place financière suisse dans le cadre de la loi sur les banques et de la loi sur les bourses ainsi qu'à différents gentlemen’s agreements et conventions conclues avec les banques. Une tâche importante de la Banque nationale consiste à assurer l'approvisionnement du pays en numéraire. Elle se reflète dans les documents relatifs à la fabrication et l'émission de billets de banques, à la sécurité des billets et des pièces de monnaie et à l'organisation des mouvements de numéraire.

Des fonds intéressants, outre ceux sur la politique monétaire, ont été constitués depuis les années 1930 et concernent le bilatéralisme et le trafic réglementé des paiements avec plusieurs partenaires commerciaux ainsi que, après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, la poursuite du contrôle des changes sur le dollar et la collaboration avec l’Union européenne de paiement. Des documents relatifs à la collaboration avec des institutions internationales, telles la Banque des Règlements Internationaux (BRI), l’OCDE et les institutions de Bretton Woods (FMI et Banque mondiale) – sur une base informelle jusqu’en 1992, puis officielle en tant que membre – couvrent toute cette période.

Les sources les plus importantes, à savoir les procès-verbaux de la Direction générale (direction de la Banque) et les procès-verbaux du Conseil de banque et du Comité de banque (autorités de la Banque), sont toutes disponibles.

Informations supplémentaires