Monetary policy strategy

  • Mandate

    Constitutional and legal mandate

    Article 99 of the Swiss Federal Constitution entrusts the SNB, as an independent central bank, with the conduct of monetary policy in the interest of the country as a whole. The mandate is explained in detail in the National Bank Act (art. 5 para. 1 NBA), which requires the SNB to ensure price stability and, in so doing, to take due account of economic developments.

    The SNB is thus charged with resolving in the best general interest any conflicts that may occur between the mandate of price stability on the one hand and business cycle considerations on the other, giving priority to price stability. The requirement to act in the interest of the country as a whole also means that the SNB must tailor its policy to the needs of the entire Swiss economy rather than the claims of individual regions or industries.

    Significance of price stability

    Price stability is an important condition for growth and prosperity. Inflation and deflation, by contrast, hamper economic development. They complicate decision making by consumers and producers, cause labour and capital to be misallocated, and lead to a redistribution of income and wealth.

    By seeking to keep prices stable, the SNB creates an environment in which the economy can fully exploit its productive capacity. The objective of monetary policy is to achieve price stability in the medium and long run. However, it cannot eliminate all short-term price fluctuations.

    Appropriate monetary conditions

    To secure price stability, the SNB must set appropriate monetary conditions. If interest rates remain too low for an extended period, this will trigger an excess demand for goods and services. There is also a risk of inflated asset prices. Although such factors may boost the economy initially, bottlenecks occur over time and production capacity becomes stretched, causing a rise in the price level. Conversely, an interest rate level which is too high lowers aggregate demand. This has a dampening effect on the prices of goods and services.

    Taking economic activity into account

    The economy is subject to numerous domestic and foreign shocks. The resulting business cycle fluctuations generate pressures on prices, which can be quite pronounced. Such fluctuations are unavoidable. Even though monetary policy is geared toward the medium and long term, it can still help contain certain short-run fluctuations that arise from various types of shocks.

    The most common cause of inflationary or deflationary pressure is when aggregate demand for goods and services does not move in line with the economy’s productive capacity. Such situations can arise, for example, because of unexpected economic developments abroad or major fluctuations in exchange rates. Inflationary pressures increase when the economy is overheating, and they decrease when production capacity is not fully utilised. The SNB must gradually restore price stability by tightening monetary policy, in the first case, and easing it, in the latter. Consequently, monetary policy that is geared to price stability has a smoothing effect on aggregate demand and thus fosters steady economic growth.

    The situation is more complex if price increases are triggered by shocks that increase companies’ costs and cause these companies to reduce production. A sustained rise in oil prices is an example of such a shock. In such circumstances, monetary policy must, on the one hand, make sure that a pass-through of the higher production costs does not create an inflationary spiral. On the other hand, it must ensure that the companies affected by the increased production costs are not overburdened. A hasty restoration of price stability could have adverse effects on the economy and on employment.

    The economic analyses which monetary policy decisions are based on are rendered more complex by a number of unavoidable uncertainties. These uncertainties relate, in part, to the causes and likely duration of the shocks that affect economic performance. The transmission mechanisms, the time lags and the extent to which the instruments of monetary policy affect the business cycle and prices are also subject to uncertainties.

  • Monetary policy strategy

    The SNB’s monetary policy strategy sets out how the SNB implements its monetary policy mandate. It has been in place since 2000, and it consists of three elements: a definition of price stability, a medium-term inflation forecast, and – at the operational level – a target range for a reference interest rate, which is the three-month Swiss franc Libor (London Interbank Offered Rate).

    Definition of price stability

    The SNB equates price stability with a rise in the national consumer price index (CPI) of less than 2% per annum. The objective of price stability is also breached by deflation – i.e., a protracted decline in the price level. In this definition, the SNB takes account of the fact that inflation cannot be managed with pinpoint accuracy; neither can it be measured accurately. Measurement issues arise, for instance, when the quality of goods and services improves over time. The CPI calculation methods do not fully adjust for changes of this kind; as a result, measured inflation tends to overstate actual inflation to a small degree.

    Inflation forecast

    The SNB reviews its monetary policy stance on a regular basis to ensure that it is appropriate for maintaining price stability. It publishes its conditional forecast for inflation over the next three years on a quarterly basis. The period of three years corresponds roughly to the time required for changes in monetary policy to be transmitted to the economy. Forecasts over such a long horizon naturally involve considerable uncertainties. Nevertheless, by publishing a medium-term forecast, the SNB emphasises the need to adopt a forward-looking stance and to react at an early stage to any inflationary or deflationary threats.

    Whereas the conditional inflation forecast serves as a main indicator for the monetary policy decision, it also plays an important role in communicating policy to the public. The forecast is based on a scenario for future global economic developments and on the assumption that the policy rate published along with the forecast will remain constant over the entire three-year forecast period (which is why it is conditional). The forecast thus projects how prices would develop given the SNB’s current scenario for global economic developments and with monetary policy in Switzerland remaining unchanged. For this reason, this forecast is not directly comparable with other forecasts which incorporate expectations that monetary policy will change over time.

    The SNB uses a number of economic and statistical models to make conditional inflation forecasts. In addition to employing model-based inflation forecasts, it also takes into consideration several indicators of domestic and international economic and monetary developments as well as of financial stability in its monetary policy decisions. These indicators include movements in interest rates and exchange rates as well as growth in credit and monetary aggregates. Particular weight is also attached to information obtained from the discussions which the SNB’s delegates for regional economic relations conduct with companies on their business outlook.

    The SNB does not respond in a mechanical fashion to its conditional inflation forecast. For instance, if inflation exceeds the 2% ceiling as a result of one-off factors such as a sudden surge in oil prices or strong exchange rate fluctuations, the stance of monetary policy would not necessarily need to be adjusted. The same applies to short-lived deflationary pressure.

    Libor target range

    The SNB implements its monetary policy by setting a target range for the three-month Swiss franc Libor. The Libor is a reference interest rate in the interbank market for unsecured loans. It is a trimmed mean of the rates charged by 11 leading banks and is published daily by the ICE Benchmark Administration. The SNB regularly publishes its target range, which generally extends over 1 percentage point. As a rule, it aims to keep the Libor in the middle of the target range.

    The SNB holds quarterly monetary policy assessments at which it reviews its monetary policy stance. If required by circumstances, it can also adjust the three-month Libor target range in between the regularly scheduled assessment dates.

    Against the backdrop of international reform efforts on benchmark interest rates for financial contracts, the UK’s Financial Conduct Authority announced in July 2017 that it would no longer compel banks to contribute to the Libor panel after 2021. The continued availability of the Libor is thus uncertain. The SNB will provide advance information on any adjustments that may be necessary for its monetary policy strategy. The changes will have no impact on its monetary policy objectives.

  • Set of monetary policy instruments

    The SNB has a range of instruments at its disposal for managing monetary conditions, including repo transactions, purchasing foreign currency and setting an interest rate on sight deposits held by banks and other financial market participants at the SNB. Further information may be found under Monetary policy instruments.

  • Communications

    Monetary policy decisions are taken on a quarterly basis (or more frequently, if necessary) by the SNB Governing Board, at its monetary policy assessment. The decisions are announced in press releases following the conclusion of each meeting. In addition, following the June and December monetary policy assessment meetings, a press conference is held at which the members of the Governing Board explain the monetary policy decision.

    The SNB’s conditional inflation forecast is an important communications tool for explaining monetary policy decisions. Due to the assumption of an unchanged policy interest rate for the next three years, its development allows people to draw inferences about the future course of monetary policy. For instance, if inflation is forecast to lie outside the range of price stability, an adjustment to the monetary policy stance could prove necessary: Should inflation be projected to exceed 2% on a sustained basis, the SNB would envisage a tightening of its monetary policy stance. Conversely, it would consider relaxing monetary policy if there were signs of inflation being too low in the medium run.

    After each monetary policy assessment round, the SNB publishes details of its decision in the Quarterly Bulletin, along with further analyses of economic and monetary developments in Switzerland and abroad. The publication also contains the results of discussions with private sector representatives conducted by the SNB’s delegates for regional economic relations. Apart from these quarterly communications related to the monetary policy assessment meetings, the SNB also explains its deliberations on monetary policy in its annual accountability report. In addition, members of the Governing Board regularly give speeches on monetary policy topics.

Stratégie de politique monétaire

  • Mandat

    Mandat constitutionnel et légal

    En vertu de la Constitution fédérale, la Banque nationale est chargée de mener, en sa qualité de banque centrale indépendante, une politique monétaire servant les intérêts généraux du pays (art. 99 Cst.). La loi sur la Banque nationale précise ce mandat à l’art. 5, al. 1. Elle assigne à la BNS la tâche d’assurer la stabilité des prix en tenant compte de l’évolution de la conjoncture.

    Il incombe ainsi à la Banque nationale de résoudre, au mieux de l’intérêt général du pays, d’éventuels conflits entre le maintien de la stabilité des prix et la prise en compte de l’évolution de la conjoncture, la stabilité des prix restant prioritaire. La notion d’intérêt général implique également que la Banque nationale axe sa politique sur les besoins de l’économie suisse dans son ensemble, sans privilégier des régions ou des branches particulières.

    Importance de la stabilité des prix

    La stabilité des prix est essentielle à la croissance et à la prospérité. L’inflation et la déflation entravent le développement de l’économie: elles rendent les décisions plus difficiles pour le consommateur comme pour le producteur, entraînent une mauvaise allocation du travail et du capital et provoquent une redistribution des revenus et de la fortune.

    En visant la stabilité des prix, la Banque nationale crée des conditions permettant à l’économie d’utiliser pleinement son potentiel de production. La politique monétaire est axée sur le maintien de la stabilité des prix à moyen et à long terme. Elle ne peut corriger les variations temporaires du niveau des prix.

    Conditions monétaires appropriées

    Pour assurer la stabilité des prix, la Banque nationale doit établir des conditions monétaires appropriées. Si les taux d’intérêt demeurent longtemps trop bas, ils conduisent à une demande excessive de biens et de services. Ils peuvent en outre provoquer des excès sur certains marchés d’actifs. Tout cela stimule certes la production dans un premier temps, mais des goulets d’étranglement apparaissent à terme. Les capacités de production sont alors trop fortement sollicitées, et le niveau des prix augmente. Inversement, si le niveau des taux d’intérêt est trop élevé, la demande globale sera faible, ce qui freinera également les prix des biens et services.

    Prise en compte de l’évolution de la conjoncture

    De nombreux facteurs, tant sur le marché intérieur qu’à l’extérieur, influent sur l’économie. Les fluctuations conjoncturelles qui en résultent engendrent des pressions plus ou moins prononcées sur les prix. De tels phénomènes sont inévitables. Cependant, la politique monétaire, bien qu’elle soit axée sur le moyen et le long terme, peut contribuer à atténuer ces fluctuations.

    Des pressions à la hausse ou à la baisse des prix apparaissent le plus souvent lorsque la demande de biens et de services n’évolue pas au même rythme que les capacités de production de l’économie. Une telle situation peut se présenter par exemple lors de fluctuations imprévues de la conjoncture extérieure ou de mouvements importants des cours de change. Une surchauffe de l’économie entraîne une pression à la hausse des prix; à l’inverse, lorsque les capacités de production ne sont pas pleinement utilisées, s’exerce une pression à la baisse des prix. La Banque nationale doit alors rétablir graduellement la stabilité des prix. Ainsi, elle aura tendance à durcir sa politique dans le premier cas et à l’assouplir dans le second. Par conséquent, une politique monétaire axée sur la stabilité des prix exerce une influence stabilisatrice sur la demande globale et régularise l’évolution de la conjoncture.

    La situation est plus complexe lorsqu’une augmentation des coûts des entreprises entraîne un recul de l’offre globale et, par conséquent, une hausse des prix, comme lors d’une hausse durable du cours du pétrole. La politique monétaire doit alors empêcher à la fois que la hausse des coûts de production ne déclenche une spirale inflationniste et que les entreprises touchées par cette hausse ne soient trop pénalisées. Un rétablissement précipité de la stabilité des prix comporterait le risque d’effets négatifs importants sur la conjoncture et sur l’emploi.

    L’analyse de la conjoncture qui entre dans les décisions de politique monétaire est rendue plus difficile du fait de l’incertitude. Concrètement, celle-ci concerne d’une part l’origine et la durée des turbulences frappant l’économie, et d’autre part, s’agissant de l’impact de la politique monétaire sur la conjoncture et les prix, elle touche les mécanismes en jeu, les délais de transmission et l’amplitude même du phénomène.

  • Stratégie de politique monétaire

    La stratégie de politique monétaire de la Banque nationale fixe les modalités de mise en œuvre du mandat de cette dernière. En vigueur depuis l’année 2000, elle comprend trois éléments: une définition de la stabilité des prix, une prévision d’inflation à moyen terme et, sur le plan opérationnel, une marge de fluctuation assignée à un taux d’intérêt de référence, le Libor (London Interbank Offered Rate) pour les dépôts à trois mois en francs.

    Définition de la stabilité des prix

    La Banque nationale assimile la stabilité des prix à une hausse annuelle de l’indice suisse des prix à la consommation (IPC) inférieure à 2%. La déflation, soit une baisse persistante du niveau des prix, est elle aussi contraire à l’objectif de stabilité des prix. Dans sa définition, la BNS tient également compte du fait que le renchérissement ne peut être ni mesuré avec exactitude ni piloté avec précision. Des problèmes de mesure découlent, par exemple, de l’amélioration de la qualité des biens et des services, laquelle n'est pas complètement prise en compte dans le calcul de l’IPC, ce qui contribue à ce que le renchérissement soit tendanciellement surestimé.

    Prévision d’inflation

    La Banque nationale s’assure régulièrement que sa politique monétaire est appropriée au maintien de la stabilité des prix. A cette fin, elle publie chaque trimestre une prévision d’inflation conditionnelle pour les trois années suivantes. Cet horizon correspond approximativement au temps nécessaire à la transmission des impulsions de la politique monétaire à l’économie. Si toute projection sur une période aussi longue est très incertaine, la Banque nationale souligne, en publiant une prévision à moyen terme, la nécessité d’adopter une attitude prospective et de réagir suffisamment tôt aux risques à la fois d’inflation et de déflation.

    Principal indicateur pris en compte dans la décision de politique monétaire, la prévision d’inflation conditionnelle joue également un rôle important dans la communication. Elle est dite conditionnelle, car elle s’appuie sur l’hypothèse que le taux d’intérêt de référence annoncé au moment de la publication de la prévision restera inchangé pendant les trois années suivantes. De plus, la prévision d'inflation repose sur un scénario concernant l’évolution future de l’économie mondiale comprenant. Elle montre ainsi quelle serait l’évolution des prix dans un scénario donné de la conjoncture mondiale et avec une politique monétaire suisse inchangée. Cette prévision n’est donc pas directement comparable à d’autres prévisions qui intègrent les anticipations de décisions de politique monétaire.

    La Banque nationale élabore sa prévision d’inflation conditionnelle en utilisant différents modèles économiques et statistiques. Par ailleurs, elle tient compte, dans ses décisions de politique monétaire, de nombreux indicateurs relatifs à l’évolution conjoncturelle et monétaire en Suisse et à l’étranger, ainsi qu’à la stabilité financière, tels que les variations des taux d’intérêt et des cours de change ou la croissance de la masse monétaire et du volume des crédits. Elle prend également en considération les informations recueillies par ses délégués aux relations avec l’économie régionale sur les perspectives économiques des chefs d’entreprise.

    La Banque nationale n’agit pas automatiquement en fonction de sa prévision d’inflation conditionnelle. Si, en raison de circonstances exceptionnelles, par exemple à la suite d’une hausse forte et soudaine du cours du pétrole ou d’importantes fluctuations des cours de change, l’inflation dépasse temporairement les 2%, il n’est pas toujours indispensable de modifier la politique monétaire. Il en va de même en cas de pressions passagères à la baisse des prix.

    Marge de fluctuation assignée au Libor à trois mois

    Pour mettre en œuvre sa politique monétaire, la Banque nationale assigne une marge de fluctuation à un taux d’intérêt de référence du marché interbancaire pour les prêts non gagés: le Libor à trois mois pour le franc. Publié quotidiennement par ICE Benchmark Administration, ce taux correspond à la moyenne tronquée des taux appliqués par onze banques importantes. La Banque nationale annonce régulièrement la marge de fluctuation, normalement d’un point, et vise en général à maintenir le Libor au milieu de cette marge.

    La Banque nationale réexamine sa politique monétaire à l’occasion des examens de la situation économique et monétaire auxquels elle procède chaque trimestre. Si les circonstances l’exigent, elle peut ajuster la marge de fluctuation du Libor entre deux examens trimestriels.

    Dans le cadre des réformes engagées au niveau mondial dans le domaine des taux d’intérêt de référence utilisés dans les contrats financiers, l’autorité britannique de surveillance des marchés financiers a annoncé en juillet 2017 que les banques concernées ne seraient plus tenues de participer au panel pour la fixation du Libor au-delà de fin 2021. Cela remet en question le maintien de ce taux de référence. La BNS communiquera en temps opportun les changements qui en résulteront dans sa stratégie de politique monétaire. Ces derniers n’auront toutefois pas d’impact sur le cap de cette politique.

  • Instruments de politique monétaire

    La Banque nationale dispose de divers instruments pour influer sur les conditions monétaires. Il s’agit notamment des pensions de titres, des achats de devises, ainsi que du taux d’intérêt appliqué aux avoirs à vue détenus à la BNS par les banques et d’autres intervenants sur les marchés financiers. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations veuillez cliquer sur Les instruments de politique monétaire.

  • Communication

    La Direction générale de la Banque nationale prend une décision de politique monétaire tous les trimestres (voire plus souvent si nécessaire) et la publie dans un communiqué de presse. Lors des examens de juin et de décembre, les membres de la Direction générale commentent cette décision dans le cadre d’une conférence de presse.

    Ce commentaire s’appuie tout spécialement sur la prévision d’inflation conditionnelle, car la prévision d’inflation élaborée sur l’hypothèse d’un taux d’intérêt inchangé durant les trois années suivantes fournit des éléments sur la future politique monétaire. Lorsque l’inflation prévue s’écarte de la zone assimilée à la stabilité des prix, il peut s’avérer nécessaire d’adapter la politique monétaire. La Banque nationale envisagera donc de durcir sa politique monétaire si l’inflation menace de dépasser durablement 2%, et de l’assouplir, si le renchérissement menace d’être durablement trop faible.

    Après chaque examen trimestriel, la BNS publie, dans son Bulletin trimestriel, sa décision de politique monétaire ainsi que des analyses concernant l’évolution économique et monétaire en Suisse et à l’étranger, et les résultats des entretiens menés avec les chefs d’entreprise par ses délégués aux relations avec l’économie régionale. En complément aux examens trimestriels, la BNS publie chaque année, dans son compte rendu d’activité, ses réflexions sur la politique monétaire. Enfin, les membres de la Direction générale présentent régulièrement des exposés concernant la politique monétaire.