Print

Asset structure

Function of assets

The assets of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) fulfil important monetary policy functions. They consist largely of foreign currency assets, gold and, to a lesser extent, financial assets in Swiss francs. Their size and composition are determined by the established monetary order and the requirements of monetary policy. Under art. 5 para. 2 of the National Bank Act (NBA), the SNB is responsible for managing the currency reserves, part of which must be held in the form of gold (art. 99 para. 3 Federal Constitution). The currency reserves also include international payment instruments and the reserve position in the International Monetary Fund (IMF). The SNB requires currency reserves to ensure that it has room for manoeuvre in its monetary policy at all times. These reserves serve to build confidence, and to prevent and overcome potential crises. The level of the currency reserves is largely dictated by the implementation of monetary policy.

Breakdown of assets

At the end of 2016, the SNB’s assets amounted to CHF 747 billion, which was CHF 106 billion higher than one year earlier. They consisted almost exclusively of currency reserves. In addition, a Swiss franc bond portfolio amounting to CHF 4 billion was held.

Debtor categories and instruments

At the end of 2016, the bond portfolios in the foreign exchange reserves contained government and quasi-government bonds as well as bonds issued by supranational organisations, local authorities, financial institutions (mainly covered bonds and comparable securities) and other companies. The equity portfolios in the foreign exchange reserves were comprised of shares from mid-cap and large-cap companies in advanced economies and, to a lesser extent, shares of small-cap companies. Since 2015, a small proportion of the equity portfolio has also been invested in shares of companies in emerging economies. The SNB does not engage in equity selection; it only invests passively. Thus, equities are managed according to a set of rules based on a strategic benchmark comprising a combination of equity indices in various markets and currencies.

Drucken

Aktivenstruktur

Funktion der Aktiven

Die Aktiven der Nationalbank erfüllen wichtige geld- und währungspolitische Funktionen. Sie bestehen vorwiegend aus Anlagen in Fremdwährungen, aus Gold sowie zu einem kleinen Teil aus Aktiven in Franken. Ihre Höhe und Zusammensetzung wird durch die geltende Währungsordnung und die Bedürfnisse der Geldpolitik bestimmt. Art. 5 Abs. 2 des Nationalbankgesetzes (NBG) überträgt der Nationalbank die Aufgabe, die Währungsreserven zu verwalten. Gemäss Art. 99 Abs. 3 der Bundesverfassung hält sie einen Teil davon in Gold. Zu den Währungsreserven gehören auch die Reserveposition beim Internationalen Währungsfonds und die internationalen Zahlungsmittel. Die Nationalbank benötigt Währungsreserven, um jederzeit über geld- und währungspolitischen Handlungsspielraum zu verfügen. Währungsreserven wirken überdies vertrauensbildend und dienen der Vorbeugung und Überwindung allfälliger Krisen. Ihre Höhe ergibt sich weitgehend aus der Umsetzung der Geldpolitik.

Zusammensetzung der Aktiven

Ende 2016 betrugen die Aktiven der Nationalbank 747 Mrd. Franken und lagen damit 106 Mrd. Franken über dem Vorjahreswert. Sie bestanden fast ausschliesslich aus Währungsreserven. Zudem wurde ein Anleihenportfolio in Franken in der Höhe von 4 Mrd. Franken gehalten.

Schuldnerkategorien und Instrumente

Die Anleihenportfolios der Devisenreserven enthielten Ende 2016 Anleihen von Staaten und staatsnahen Instituten, supranationalen Organisationen, lokalen Gebietskörperschaften, Finanzinstituten (hauptsächlich Pfandbriefe und vergleichbare Papiere) und übrigen Unternehmen. Die Aktienportfolios der Devisenreserven setzten sich aus Aktien mittel- und grosskapitalisierter Unternehmen und zu einem kleinen Teil aus Aktien kleinkapitalisierter Unternehmen (Small Caps) aus Industrieländern zusammen. Seit 2015 wird ausserdem ein kleiner Teil der Aktien in Unternehmen aus Schwellenländern investiert. Die Nationalbank betreibt in ihrem Aktienportfolio keine Titelselektion, sondern investiert ausschliesslich indexnah. Die Aktien werden passiv und regelgebunden auf der Basis einer strategischen Benchmark bewirtschaftet, die aus einer Kombination von Aktienindizes in verschiedenen Märkten und Währungen besteht.