Print

The SNB's monetary policy and the Swiss financial centre

Rencontres économiques de Genève, première édition , 03.11.2015

  • Complete text
    (507 KB)

The activities of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) and the Swiss financial sector are closely interlinked. On the one hand, the SNB acts as the bank of banks, providing a stable currency, liquidity and a payment system on which banks rely. By ensuring price stability and contributing to financial stability, the SNB helps create the conditions in which the financial sector can flourish. On the other hand, the financial sector acts as an intermediary between monetary policy decisions and the overall economy. It contributes to an efficient economic system and to the prosperity of our country.

The long-term goals of the SNB and the banking sector usually go hand-in-hand. Monetary stability and a strong financial sector are in our common interest. However, the benefits of Switzerland having its own currency and conducting its own monetary policy can imply substantial costs in times of crisis. Since the beginning of the financial crisis, Switzerland has been particularly heavily affected by international disturbances. The entire Swiss economy has had to adapt to new international monetary conditions and a significantly overvalued Swiss franc. It is crucial for the Swiss economy that the Swiss financial sector adapts to the new environment and meets the current challenges.

The SNB has geared monetary policy to this new and difficult international situation. The goal of the SNB has been to steer policy responses in a way that reduces the painful short-term adjustment costs while preserving the stability achieved over the past four decades of independent monetary policy. The two pillars of its current monetary policy, negative interest rates and foreign exchange interventions as required, serve to reduce the current significant overvaluation of the Swiss franc and to guarantee price stability in the long run.

Imprimer

Politique monétaire de la BNS et place financière suisse

Rencontres économiques de Genève, première édition, 03.11.2015

  • Texte intégral
    (275 KB)

Il existe un lien étroit entre les activités de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) et celles du secteur financier suisse. D'une part, la BNS agit comme la banque des banques: elle fournit une monnaie stable, des liquidités et un système de paiement indispensables aux banques. En garantissant la stabilité des prix et en contribuant à la stabilité financière, la BNS concourt à la mise en place des conditions permettant l'essor du secteur financier. D'autre part, le secteur financier agit comme intermédiaire entre les décisions de politique monétaire et l'ensemble de l'économie. Il contribue à l'efficacité du système économique et à la prospérité de notre pays.

En règle générale, les objectifs à long terme de la BNS et ceux du secteur bancaire vont de pair. La stabilité monétaire et un système financier robuste sont dans leur intérêt commun. Toutefois, les avantages découlant du fait que la Suisse dispose de sa propre monnaie et conduise sa propre politique monétaire peuvent s'accompagner de coûts considérables en temps de crise. Les turbulences internationales ont fortement affecté notre pays depuis le début de la crise financière. L'ensemble de l'économie helvétique a dû faire face aux nouvelles conditions monétaires internationales et à la nette surévaluation du franc. Il est primordial pour l'économie suisse que le secteur financier s'adapte à l'environnement actuel et qu'il relève les défis auxquels il est confronté.

La BNS a axé sa politique monétaire sur cette situation nouvelle et difficile. Il s'agissait d'ajuster ses réactions afin de réduire les douloureux coûts à court terme tout en préservant la stabilité acquise au cours de quarante années de politique monétaire indépendante. Les deux piliers de la politique monétaire actuelle - le taux d'intérêt négatif et la disposition de la BNS à intervenir au besoin sur le marché des changes - contribuent à réduire la nette surévaluation du franc et à garantir la stabilité des prix à long terme.