Print

SNB monetary policy after the discontinuation of the minimum exchange rate

107th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 24.04.2015

  • Complete text
    (53 KB)

On 15 January 2015, the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) decided to discontinue the minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro because the international environment for its monetary policy had changed dramatically. Due to the sustained weakening of the euro during the first half of January 2015, the minimum exchange rate could only be enforced through permanent currency interventions of rapidly increasing magnitude. This meant that the minimum exchange rate was no longer sustainable.

However, the end of the minimum exchange rate does not mean that the SNB has reverted to business as usual for monetary policy. Overall, the Swiss franc is significantly overvalued. A correction of this overvaluation is to be expected over time. The SNB continues to take account of the exchange rate situation in formulating its monetary policy. It monitors developments on the foreign exchange market and their potential impact on Switzerland very closely. It will remain active in the foreign exchange market as necessary in order to influence monetary conditions.

When it discontinued the minimum exchange rate, the SNB lowered the interest rate for balances held in its sight deposit accounts to -0.75%. Low or negative interest rates are a worldwide trend which Switzerland cannot escape. Towards the end of last year, the interest rate differential between investments in foreign currencies and those in Swiss francs declined to almost zero because interest rates abroad fell more sharply during the financial crisis than they did in Switzerland. This made the Swiss franc even more attractive for domestic and foreign investors. Since foreign interest rates are close to zero or negative, Swiss interest rates cannot remain at zero. They have to move into negative territory in order to restore the traditional interest rate differential, thereby making it more expensive to hold Swiss francs than other currencies.

Imprimer

La politique monétaire de la BNS après la suppression du cours plancher

107e Assemblée générale ordinaire des actionnaires de la Banque nationale suisse, Berne, 24.04.2015

  • Texte intégral
    (54 KB)

Face aux profonds bouleversements du contexte international, déterminant pour la politique monétaire de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS), la Direction générale a décidé, le 15 janvier 2015, d'abolir le cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro. En effet, étant donné l'affaiblissement continu de la monnaie unique dans la première quinzaine de janvier, maintenir le cours plancher aurait nécessité des interventions répétées, et pour des montants croissants, sur le marché des changes. Aussi cette mesure n'était-elle plus durable.

La suppression du cours plancher n'est pas pour autant synonyme d'un retour à la normale. Le franc est dans l'ensemble nettement surévalué. Il devrait s'affaiblir avec le temps. La Banque nationale continuera de prendre en compte la situation sur le marché des changes pour définir sa politique monétaire. Elle observe avec la plus grande vigilance les développements sur ce marché et leurs éventuelles incidences pour la Suisse. Si nécessaire, elle interviendra de nouveau sur le marché des changes afin d'influer sur les conditions monétaires.

Le jour même de la suppression du cours plancher, la Banque nationale a abaissé à -0,75% le taux d'intérêt appliqué aux avoirs en comptes de virement à la BNS. Le phénomène des taux bas ou négatifs est mondial, et la Suisse ne peut pas y échapper. Vers la fin de l'année dernière, les taux d'intérêt à l'étranger ayant reculé plus fortement que les taux suisses du fait de la crise financière, l'écart de taux entre les placements en monnaies étrangères et les placements en francs a été quasi annulé; cela a rendu le franc encore plus attrayant, tant pour les investisseurs étrangers que pour les investisseurs suisses. Les taux d'intérêt à l'étranger étant proches de zéro, voire négatifs, les taux suisses doivent passer dans la zone négative afin de rétablir, au moins partiellement, l'écart de taux auquel le marché est habitué et, partant, de rendre la détention de francs plus onéreuse que celle d'autres monnaies.