Print

A year without dividends and profit distribution - what are the reasons?

106th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 25.04.2014

  • Complete text
    (91 KB)

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) is breaking with a long-standing tradition. For the first time since its establishment more than one hundred years ago, it cannot pay its shareholders any dividends. The Confederation and the cantons are also left empty handed, a first since the introduction of the current distribution regulation twenty years ago. This is primarily due to the fact that in the 2013 financial year, the SNB had to accept a large valuation loss on its gold holdings, which could not be offset by other earnings. The SNB also increased its equity capital by creating additional provisions, since the legislator places substantial weight on the SNB maintaining a healthy balance sheet. The annual result of CHF -12 billion also completely exhausted the distribution reserve, and consequently, no earnings remain to be paid out as dividends to shareholders or as distributions to the Confederation and cantons. Therefore, the conditions laid down in the National Bank Act (NBA) for the payment of a dividend or distribution are not fulfilled.

The SNB's character as a special-statute joint-stock company is reflected in a number of features. These include not only the limitation of dividends to a maximum of 6% of a share's nominal value, but also the restriction of SNB shareholder rights compared to those of other companies in other matters. The approval of the popular initiative against excessive remuneration (the Minder initiative), which basically strengthens shareholders' rights, does not change this. The powers of the General Meeting of Shareholders of the SNB will thus continue to be determined by the NBA. The policy on compensation, in particular, remains within the remit of the Bank Council. For years, the SNB has attached great importance to transparency in this area. The principles governing compensation, and detailed information on the remuneration of senior management, are included in the Annual Report.

Since the beginning, the cantons have been linked with the SNB in many ways. Regarding the participation in the SNB's financial result, history shows that the share of distributions in cantonal income has fluctuated strongly. Special factors in the last two decades meant that payments were very handsome. Nevertheless, the SNB has regularly emphasised that there is no guarantee for the distributions. Since the financial result is dominated by valuation changes, the SNB gives neither earnings forecasts nor profit warnings. The Bank Council will continue to adhere to a prudent provisioning policy, with the focus on ensuring the SNB's room for manoeuvre over the long term.

Imprimer

Une année sans dividende ni distribution de bénéfice: pour quelles raisons?

106e Assemblée générale ordinaire des actionnaires de la Banque nationale suisse, Berne, 25.04.2014

  • Texte intégral
    (101 KB)

La Banque nationale suisse (BNS) rompt avec une tradition de longue date. En effet, pour la première fois depuis sa fondation, il y a plus d'un siècle, elle n'est pas en mesure de verser un dividende à ses actionnaires. C'est aussi la première fois, depuis l'introduction, il y a 20 ans, de l'actuelle règle de distribution, qu'aucun bénéfice n'est distribué à la Confédération et aux cantons. L'absence de versement est due essentiellement au fait que la BNS a enregistré une forte moins-value sur son stock d'or en 2013, moins-value que n'ont pas pu compenser d'autres revenus. Par ailleurs, le législateur attachant une grande importance à un bilan sain, la Banque nationale a constitué des provisions pour renforcer ses fonds propres. De surcroît, le résultat annuel de -12 milliards de francs a entièrement absorbé la réserve pour distributions futures, de sorte qu'il ne reste plus aucun bénéfice distribuable, que ce soit aux actionnaires sous forme de dividende, ou à la Confédération ou aux cantons. Les conditions fixées dans la loi sur la Banque nationale pour le versement d'un dividende et la distribution de bénéfice ne sont donc pas remplies.

La BNS est une société anonyme régie par une loi spéciale: ainsi, non seulement le dividende ne peut dépasser 6% de la valeur nominale de l'action, mais les droits des actionnaires de la BNS sont eux aussi restreints par rapport à ceux des actionnaires d'autres entreprises. L'acceptation de l'initiative Minder, qui renforce les droits des actionnaires, ne change rien à cette situation. Les attributions de l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires de la BNS continueront à être déterminées par la loi sur la Banque nationale. Notamment, la politique de rémunération incombe toujours au Conseil de banque. Dans ce domaine aussi, la BNS s'emploie depuis des années à faire preuve de transparence: les principes régissant la rémunération sont décrits dans le Rapport de gestion, et la rétribution des membres de la direction de la Banque y est également présentée de manière détaillée.

Depuis le début, des liens étroits et multiples unissent les cantons à la BNS. Concernant la participation de ces derniers au bénéfice de la Banque nationale, l'histoire montre que le montant des distributions dont ils ont bénéficié a beaucoup fluctué. Durant les deux dernières décennies, les versements effectués ont été particulièrement substantiels en raison de facteurs spéciaux. La BNS a cependant maintes fois souligné qu'il n'existe aucune garantie de distribution. Etant donné que des ajustements de valeur influent fortement sur le résultat de l'exercice, la BNS n'établit pas de prévisions de recettes, pas plus qu'elle ne formule d'éventuelles mises en garde concernant le bénéfice. En matière de provisions, le Conseil de banque continuera de mener une politique prudente, axée sur la préservation à long terme de la capacité d'action de la BNS.