Print

A changing role for central banks?

Welcome Event Master of Banking and Finance, St. Gallen, 22.09.2010

  • Complete text
    (105 KB)

The stable economic growth and low inflation of the last two decades could not prevent the emergence of vast imbalances in the global financial system, as the financial and economic crisis clearly showed. Such massive economic shocks are bound to have an impact on how central banks work. Nevertheless, ensuring price stability remains the top priority of central banks.

The crisis made it evident that central banks have an effective set of instruments that can be used to mitigate the negative impact of financial crises. The unconventional measures used in this regard also proved to be effective. Yet despite these measures, the cost of the crisis remains enormous. One central conclusion, therefore, is that more attention needs to be paid to crisis prevention in order to improve the stability of financial systems. However, monetary policy instruments are only suitable up to a point in countering the emergence of financial imbalances. Hence, a different approach is needed. Strengthening macroprudential regulation is one plausible option. Macroprudential regulation takes account of systemic risks in the financial sector through action geared to reducing such risks. As yet, however, there is little experience of this type of regulation. It is therefore vital that we act prudently and gradually when implementing any new measures, and that we give ourselves adequate time. The first step is to define clear and realistic mandates and objectives and to evaluate possible instruments. Collaboration between the various authorities involved – both nationally and internationally – is also of crucial importance.

Overall, we need to create conditions that allow the timely application of suitable instruments to counter emergent financial instabilities. These instruments would essentially supplement our set of monetary policy instruments. Within this framework, the SNB would be able to make an optimum contribution to ensuring that both objectives – price stability and financial stability – can be simultaneously addressed.

Banques centrales: un rôle en mutation ?

Thomas Jordan, vice-président de la Direction générale

Welcome Event Master of Banking and Finance, St. Gallen, 22.09.2010

La croissance économique stable et le faible niveau d’inflation des deux dernières décennies n’ont pu empêcher la formation de déséquilibres abyssaux au sein du système financier mondial. La récente crise économique et financière l’a illustré avec force. L’environnement économique a subi des bouleversements d’une intensité telle qu’ils ont eu des répercussions sur les activités des banques centrales, dont l’objectif prioritaire est et reste le maintien de la stabilité des prix.

La crise a montré que les banques centrales disposent d’instruments efficaces pour lutter contre les conséquences négatives des crises financières. A cet égard, bien que les mesures dites non conventionnelles aient également fait leurs preuves, le coût de la crise reste élevé. L’un des principaux enseignements à en tirer est qu’il faut davantage mettre l’accent sur la prévention des crises afin d’assurer une meilleure stabilité des systèmes financiers. Les instruments de politique monétaire ne pouvant contrecarrer la formation de déséquilibres financiers que de façon restreinte, une autre approche est nécessaire. Le renforcement de la réglementation macroprudentielle – laquelle tient compte du risque systémique inhérent au secteur financier et met en œuvre des mesures visant à le juguler – constitue précisément une option intéressante. Les expériences réalisées jusqu’ici avec ce type de réglementation sont toutefois limitées. C'est pourquoi il est crucial que la mise en œuvre de ces dispositifs soit progressive, mûrement réfléchie et s’inscrive dans un horizon temporel suffisamment large. Il convient dans un premier temps de définir clairement des mandats et des objectifs réalistes et d’évaluer les instruments envisageables. Par ailleurs, la collaboration entre les autorités concernées, tant au niveau national qu’international, doit impérativement jouer un rôle central.

Au total, il faut donc créer les bases nécessaires pour lutter suffisamment tôt contre les instabilités financières naissantes au moyen de mesures ciblées, qui viendront pour ainsi dire compléter les instruments de politique monétaire. Ainsi, la Banque nationale pourra contribuer de façon optimale à la réalisation simultanée de ces deux objectifs – stabilité des prix et stabilité financière – dans les meilleures conditions.