Print

The Swiss franc in the heart of Euroland

Centre for European Policy Studies, Bruxelles, 20 April 1999, 20.04.1999

  • Complete text in French: "Le franc suisse au coeur de l'Euroland"
    PDF (28 KB)

The launch of the euro has radically altered Switzerland's monetary environment. The new currency will play an increasingly important role in the European economy. In three years the euro may even be used ever more widely in Swiss border and tourist areas.

As the single currency gains in significance, the Swiss franc/euro exchange rate will become a major factor for the development of the Swiss economy, and therefore also for the monetary policy of the Swiss National Bank.

Despite imponderables, the high degree of economic convergence between Switzerland and Euroland is expected to ensure a natural stability between the Swiss franc and the euro. In this respect the experience of the past three months is extremely encouraging. It would, however, be premature to conclude that Switzerland should peg its currency to the euro. Such a step would lead to a marked rise in the Swiss interest rate level - which is approximately 1.5 percentage points lower than in Euroland - and this would have an adverse effect on the Swiss economy. In any case, it may be assumed that in the years ahead the interest differential will narrow in line with the financial markets' confidence in the new European currency.

Le franc suisse au coeur de l'Euroland

Jean-Pierre Roth, vice-président de la Direction générale

Centre for European Policy Studies, Bruxelles, le 20 avril 1999, 20.04.1999

Avec l'apparition de l'euro, l'environnement monétaire de la Suisse s'est profondément modifié. La nouvelle monnaie européenne va jouer un rôle croissant dans les échanges européens. D'ici trois ans, son usage pourra même se développer dans les régions frontières et les zones touristiques de Suisse.

La montée en puissance de la monnaie unique fera de la relation de change entre le franc et l'euro un paramètre important pour le développement de l'économie suisse, donc pour la politique de la Banque nationale suisse.

En dépit des incertitudes, le degré élevé de convergence économique entre la Suisse et l'Euroland devrait assurer une stabilité naturelle entre le franc et l'euro. L'expérience de ces trois derniers mois est fort encourageante à cet égard. Il serait toutefois prématuré d'imaginer que la Suisse puisse maintenant lier sa monnaie à l'euro. Une telle décision provoquerait une montée rapide des taux d'intérêt suisses - inférieurs de 1,5 point de pourcentage aux taux de l'euro - ce qui pèserait sur la conjoncture helvétique. On peut toutefois s'attendre à ce que ce différentiel de taux diminue dans les années à venir au fur et à mesure que les marchés seront convaincus par la stabilité de la nouvelle monnaie européenne.