Safeguarding the principles of regulatory policy

Thomas Jordan, Chairman of the Governing Board

University of Lucerne, 23.09.2022

Discussions surrounding regulatory policy have faded somewhat into the background. For the Swiss National Bank (SNB), however, two principles of regulatory policy in particular remain of great significance: independence from politics and a mandate that concentrates on ensuring price stability. Both of these closely related principles are firmly anchored in the legislation of many countries - and in Switzerland too.

In recent years, these principles have been consciously or unconsciously questioned by some in politics and among the public. For example, there have been calls from politicians for the SNB to directly finance government tasks. It is likely that these demands are tied above all to our high profits in the past few years. However, the good results were achieved during an exceptional financial market environment. This environment has now changed sharply. The SNB's loss for the first half of 2022 underlines that a larger balance sheet is accompanied by larger fluctuations in absolute terms in the annual result, and that substantial profits can be followed by substantial losses.

The direct financing of government tasks by the SNB is not in keeping with the principles of regulatory policy. Monetary policy decisions thus inevitably take on a political dimension, thereby endangering the SNB's independence. Furthermore, the direct financing of government tasks blurs the clear focus of monetary policy on price stability and creates unnecessary conflicts of interest.

The current high inflation underlines the importance of the SNB's focus on ensuring price stability. Price stability is the most important contribution the SNB can make to our country.

Ordnungspolitischen Prinzipien Sorge tragen

Thomas Jordan, Präsident des Direktoriums

Universität Luzern, 23.09.2022

Diskussionen rund um die Ordnungspolitik sind etwas in den Hintergrund gerückt. Für die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) sind insbesondere zwei ordnungspolitische Prinzipien aber nach wie vor von grosser Bedeutung: Die Unabhängigkeit von der Politik und ein Mandat, das sich auf die Gewährleistung der Preisstabilität konzentriert. Diese beiden eng verbundenen Prinzipien sind in den Gesetzen vieler Länder fest verankert - auch in der Schweiz.

In den letzten Jahren haben Teile der Politik und Öffentlichkeit diese Prinzipien bewusst oder unbewusst in Frage gestellt. So gab es Vorstösse aus der Politik, die von der SNB eine direkte Finanzierung von Staatsaufgaben fordern. Diese Forderungen dürften vor allem mit unseren hohen Gewinnen der vergangenen Jahre zu tun haben. Die guten Ergebnisse fielen aber in einem aussergewöhnlichen Finanzmarktumfeld an. Dieses Umfeld hat sich nun stark verändert. Der Verlust der SNB für das erste Halbjahr 2022 verdeutlicht, dass eine grössere Bilanz auch mit grösseren absoluten Schwankungen der Jahresergebnisse einhergeht, und dass auf hohe Gewinne hohe Verluste folgen können.

Eine direkte Finanzierung von Staatsaufgaben durch die SNB steht nicht im Einklang mit den ordnungspolitischen Prinzipien. Denn damit erhalten geldpolitische Entscheide unweigerlich eine politische Dimension, was die Unabhängigkeit der Nationalbank gefährdet. Zudem verwischt eine direkte Finanzierung von Staatsaufgaben die klare Ausrichtung der Geldpolitik auf die Preisstabilität und schafft unnötige Zielkonflikte.

Die gegenwärtig hohe Inflation verdeutlicht, wie wichtig die Fokussierung der Nationalbank auf die Gewährleistung der Preisstabilität ist. Preisstabilität ist der wichtigste Beitrag, den die SNB für unser Land leisten kann.