Network for Greening the Financial System

International response to climate and environment-related risks

The Central Banks and Supervisors Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS), launched at the 'Paris One Planet Summit' in December 2017, is committed to better understanding and managing the financial risks associated with climate change.

The NGFS's activities are organised into a number of work streams covering microeconomic factors as well as the macroeconomic channels through which climate change can affect the real economy and financial stability. The NGFS also aims, on a voluntary basis, to share best practice in order to protect consumers and guide asset managers seeking sustainable asset allocations.

SNB participation

Building on its long tradition of international cooperation, the SNB became a member of the NGFS in April 2019. The SNB's goal in joining the NGFS is to engage in dialogue and share knowledge in order to better understand - and anticipate - the potential impact of climate risks on macroeconomics and financial stability. The SNB and the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) are both represented in the NGFS Plenary.

Réseau pour le verdissement du système financier

Réponse internationale aux risques climatiques et environnementaux

Lancé lors du "One Planet Summit" organisé à Paris en décembre 2017, le Réseau des banques centrales et des superviseurs pour le verdissement du système financier (Central Banks and Supervisors Network for Greening the Financial System, NGFS) s'engage à améliorer la compréhension et la gestion des risques financiers liés au changement climatique.

Les activités du réseau s'inscrivent dans un certain nombre de programmes de travail. Ces derniers portent aussi bien sur les facteurs macroéconomiques que sur les canaux microéconomiques à travers lesquels le changement climatique peut affecter l'économie réelle et la stabilité financière. Le réseau a également pour vocation de partager, sur une base volontaire, les meilleures pratiques en vue de protéger les consommateurs et de guider les gestionnaires aspirant à une allocation durable de leurs actifs.

Participation de la BNS

S'appuyant sur une longue tradition en matière de coopération internationale, la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) a intégré le NGFS en avril 2019. Elle entend ainsi participer au dialogue et à l'échange de savoirs afin de mieux comprendre et anticiper l'impact potentiel des risques climatiques, tant au niveau macroéconomique que pour la stabilité financière. La BNS et l'Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) sont toutes deux représentées au sein de l'assemblée plénière du réseau.