Print

Banking sector

Structure

Banks in Switzerland differ significantly with regard to their size, business focus, geographical scope of activities and legal form. For its assessment of the stability of the Swiss banking sector, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) mainly focuses on the big banks (Credit Suisse and UBS) and the domestically focused commercial banks. The latter comprise banks whose share of domestic loans to total assets exceeds 50%. For more details about the number and categories of banks active in Switzerland, see the SNB statistical yearbook (Banks in Switzerland).

The SNB's assessment of the Swiss banking sector's stability is presented in the Financial Stability Report. 

Regulation and oversight

Banks operating in Switzerland are subject to the Federal Act on Banks and Savings Banks (Banking Act) (www.admin.ch, in German and French).

Detailed regulations - e.g. on capital, liquidity and risk diversification - are contained in the Ordinance on Banks and Savings Banks (Banking Ordinance) (www.admin.ch, in German and French). The banking legislation also takes account of international agreements and recommendations, e.g. the Basel Capital Adequacy Framework. The statutory provisions are supplemented by codes of conduct and recommendations that the banks themselves have adopted as a self-regulatory measure (www.swissbanking.org).

Within this regulatory framework, the SNB is assigned explicit responsibilities in two important areas: The regulatory framework stipulates that banks that are systemically important for Switzerland are subject to special capital, liquidity and organisational requirements (cf. Chapter 5 Banking Act). The SNB is responsible for the determination of systemically important banks and their systemically important functions (cf. Chapter 5 art. 8 Banking Act; Decrees issued by the Swiss National Bank concerning systemic importance).

Furthermore, the regulatory framework stipulates that capital requirements may be raised temporarily should imbalances on the Swiss lending market - and corresponding risks to financial stability - develop. The decisions on the activation, deactivation and level of this countercyclical capital buffer will be made by the Federal Council, upon the proposal of the SNB. The SNB consults FINMA before submitting its proposal to the Federal Council (Publications relating to the CCB).

The Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA, www.finma.ch) grants banking licences and is responsible for supervising banks.

Cooperation between FINMA and the SNB is governed by a memorandum of understanding (MoU).

Data and analysis

The financial intermediaries that are subject to the Federal Act on Banks and Saving Banks (Banking Ordinance) (www.admin.ch, in German and French) are obliged to report data on their balance sheet, income statement, capital and liquidity to the SNB. The SNB publishes the data in aggregated form - i.e. for the bank categories - in its statistical yearbook Banks in Switzerland and in the Publication set Monthly banking statistics (data.snb.ch). The analysis of the state and stability of Switzerland's banking sector is contained in the SNB's annual Financial Stability Report.

Secteur bancaire

  • Structure

    En Suisse, les banques se différencient sensiblement par leur taille, leur champ d'activité, leur rayon géographique et leur forme juridique. Pour évaluer la stabilité du secteur bancaire suisse, la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) se concentre principalement sur les grandes banques (Credit Suisse et UBS) et sur les banques commerciales axées sur le marché intérieur. Ces dernières sont des banques dont les actifs sont constitués pour plus de 50% par des créances en Suisse. De plus amples informations sur le nombre et les catégories de banques opérant en Suisse figurent dans l'ouvrage de la BNS Les banques suisses.

    L'évaluation de la BNS concernant la stabilité du secteur bancaire suisse est présentée dans le Rapport sur la stabilité financière. 

  • Réglementation et surveillance

    Les banques opérant en Suisse sont soumises à la loi fédérale sur les banques et les caisses d’épargne (LB, www.admin.ch).

    Des dispositions détaillées - en particulier sur les fonds propres, les liquidités et la diversification des risques - figurent dans l'ordonnance sur les banques et les caisses d'épargne (OB, www.admin.ch). La législation bancaire tient également compte des recommandations et accords internationaux, notamment de l'accord de Bâle sur les fonds propres. Des principes propres à la profession et différentes recommandations complètent cette législation. Ils ont été adoptés par les banques elles-mêmes dans le cadre de mesures d'autoréglementation (www.swissbanking.org).

    Dans ce cadre réglementaire, la BNS a reçu des responsabilités dans deux domaines importants: les banques d'importance systémique et le volant anticyclique de fonds propres. En Suisse, les banques d'importance systémique sont soumises à des exigences spécifiques en matière de fonds propres, de liquidités et d'organisation (voir chapitre V, LB). La BNS est chargée de déterminer quelles sont les banques d'importance systémique et, parmi leurs fonctions, lesquelles sont indispensables pour l'économie (voir chapitre V, art. 8, LB; Décisions de la Banque nationale suisse en matière d’importance systémique).

    En outre, les exigences en matière de fonds propres peuvent être relevées provisoirement en cas de croissance excessive du crédit en Suisse et de risques correspondants pour la stabilité financière. Sur proposition de la BNS, qui consulte préalablement la FINMA, le Conseil fédéral décide de l'activation, de la désactivation et du niveau du volant anticyclique de fonds propres (Publications concernant le volant anticyclique de fonds propres).

    L'Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA, www.finma.ch) accorde les licences bancaires. Elle est chargée de la surveillance des banques.

    La collaboration entre la FINMA et la BNS est régie par un Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).

  • Données et analyses

    Les intermédiaires financiers soumis à la loi fédérale sur les banques et les caisses d'épargne (LB, www.admin.ch) sont tenus de fournir à la BNS des données relatives au bilan, au compte de résultat, aux fonds propres et aux liquidités. La BNS publie ces données sous une forme agrégée - à l'échelle de la catégorie de banques - dans l'ouvrage Les banques suisses, qui paraît chaque année, et dans son Ensemble de statistiques Statistique bancaire mensuelle (data.snb.ch). Elle livre son analyse de la situation et de la stabilité du secteur bancaire suisse dans son Rapport sur la stabilité financière, qui paraît chaque année.