Print

Comments on monetary policy and banking regulation

110th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 27.04.2018

  • Complete text
    (121 KB)

The Swiss economy picked up markedly last year against a pleasing global economic backdrop. There were also favourable developments on the foreign exchange markets, with the Swiss franc having weakened since the second half of 2017. There has thus been a reduction in the significant overvaluation, but the Swiss franc nevertheless remains highly valued. Inflation remains low and inflationary pressure modest.

In this environment, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) is continuing to pursue its expansionary monetary policy. The negative interest rate and the SNB's willingness to intervene in the foreign exchange market as necessary remain essential. Tightening monetary conditions would be premature at this juncture, and would risk unnecessarily jeopardising the positive economic momentum that has been established.

In the wake of the global financial crisis, efforts were undertaken at both national and international level to markedly increase the resilience of the financial system with a view to withstanding future crises. On the one hand, the relevant international bodies defined new liquidity and capital adequacy requirements for all banks. On the other hand, systemically important banks must now hold an additional capital buffer and take financial and organisational precautions in case they get into difficulty.

Switzerland's banking sector is of major importance to the country's economy. Efficient and internationally active banks play a key role in this context. A break-up of systemically important banks would therefore not be in Switzerland's overall economic interests, making it all the more crucial that these banks be sufficiently robust. Swiss regulations thus require systemically important banks to hold a larger capital buffer than the minimum standard laid down in the international framework. However, these stricter requirements must not be viewed solely as a cost driver. A robust banking system is a significant advantage for a business location in the face of international competition, and therefore desirable not only in the interests of financial stability, but also from the perspective of the banks themselves. Switzerland has also opted for a streamlined regulatory approach that refrains from actively intervening in banks' business models or organisational structures.

Ten years on from the financial crisis, Switzerland's banking system is clearly more resilient. It is now incumbent on us to complete the implementation of the regulations rigorously. The authorities will of course have to continually review the effectiveness and costs of the regulations going forward.

The new banking regulations substantially reduce the likelihood and severity of any future financial crisis. At the same time, the Swiss regulations will resolve the 'too big to fail' issue. Together these measures will strengthen the resilience of the banking sector, which can surely only benefit our economy and enhance our prosperity.

Drucken

Erläuterungen zur Geldpolitik und Bankenregulierung

110. ordentliche Generalversammlung der Aktionäre der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Bern, 27.04.2018

  • Vollständiger Text
    (131 KB)

Im vergangenen Jahr hat die Schweizer Wirtschaft deutlich an Schwung gewonnen, und das globale Konjunkturumfeld entwickelte sich erfreulich. Mit der Abschwächung des Frankens seit der zweiten Hälfte 2017 war auch an den Devisenmärkten eine günstige Entwicklung zu verzeichnen. Die deutliche Überbewertung des Frankens hat sich damit abgebaut. Dennoch ist er nach wie vor hoch bewertet. Die Inflation ist immer noch tief und der Inflationsdruck weiterhin gering.

Vor diesem Hintergrund setzt die Schweizerische Nationalbank ihre expansive Geldpolitik fort. Der Negativzins und die Bereitschaft, bei Bedarf am Devisenmarkt zu intervenieren, sind unverändert notwendig. Eine Straffung der monetären Bedingungen zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt wäre verfrüht und würde die positive Wirtschaftsdynamik unnötig aufs Spiel setzen.

Im Nachgang zur globalen Finanzkrise wurden national und international Anstrengungen unternommen, welche die Resistenz des Finanzsystems mit Blick auf künftige Krisen markant erhöht haben. So haben die internationalen Gremien einerseits neue Liquiditäts- und Eigenmittelstandards für alle Banken definiert. Andererseits müssen sogenannt systemrelevante Banken zusätzliche Eigenkapitalpuffer vorhalten und finanzielle und organisatorische Vorkehrungen treffen für den Fall, dass sie in Schieflage geraten.

In der Schweiz hat der Bankensektor eine grosse volkswirtschaftliche Bedeutung. Dabei spielen leistungsfähige und international aktive Banken eine wichtige Rolle. Eine Zerschlagung systemrelevanter Banken läge deshalb nicht im Gesamtinteresse der Schweiz. Umso wichtiger ist es, dass diese Banken genügend robust sind. Deshalb sieht die Schweizer Regulierung höhere Eigenkapitalpuffer für systemrelevante Banken vor als die im internationalen Regelwerk festgehaltenen Mindestanforderungen. Diese höheren Anforderungen dürfen aber nicht einseitig als Kostentreiber betrachtet werden. Ein robustes Bankensystem ist ein wesentlicher Standortvorteil im internationalen Wettbewerb, und damit nicht nur aus Sicht der Finanzstabilität wünschenswert, sondern auch aus Sicht der Banken selbst. Die Schweiz hat zudem einen schlanken Regulierungsansatz gewählt, der weder in das Geschäftsmodell noch in die Organisationsstruktur der Banken aktiv eingreift.

Zehn Jahre nach der Finanzkrise hat die Widerstandskraft des Schweizer Bankensystems deutlich zugenommen. Nun gilt es, die Umsetzung der Regulierung konsequent abzuschliessen. Selbstverständlich müssen die Behörden auch in Zukunft die Regulierung immer wieder auf Wirksamkeit und Kosten überprüfen.

Die neue Bankenregulierung verringert die Wahrscheinlichkeit und das Ausmass einer Finanzkrise deutlich. Gleichzeitig wird die Schweizer Regulierung auch das "Too big to fail"-Problem lösen. Alles in allem dürfte sich die so erhöhte Widerstandskraft des Bankensektors positiv auf die Wirtschaftsentwicklung und den Wohlstand auswirken.