Print

How money is created by the central bank and the banking system

Z├╝rcher Volkswirtschaftliche Gesellschaft, Zurich, 16.01.2018

  • Complete text
    (153 KB)

The financial crisis and the massive expansion of liquidity by central banks have raised the level of public interest in monetary topics. This also applies to the question of how interaction between central banks, commercial banks and the general public affects the supply of money and credit.

Traditionally, a distinction is made between two types of money: central bank money created by central banks, and bank deposits created by commercial banks interacting with the central bank and the public. Central bank money is legal tender, while deposits with commercial banks represent a claim on central bank money. These deposits result from the banks' lending activities. When a bank grants a loan to a customer, it credits the amount in question to their account in the form of a sight deposit. This deposit disappears from the bank's books as soon as the customer uses it to make payments, but it remains in the banking system.

Constraints on the creation of bank deposits are imposed by the banks' risk/return considerations and by the central bank's monetary policy. When making lending decisions, banks take into account current and future interest rates, the likelihood of deposit withdrawals and credit defaults, and the liquidity and capital adequacy requirements in force. Central banks steer interest rates via their monetary policy, which has an impact on the public's demand for money and credit and curbs money creation.

Various proposals calling for broader access to central bank money have recently been put forward as an alternative to the present-day system. In Switzerland, a people's initiative known as the sovereign money initiative has been submitted and will be voted on by the electorate later this year. It aims to have sight deposits with commercial banks replaced by central bank money. Banks would no longer be permitted to create deposits through their lending activities. Acceptance of the initiative would have serious consequences for the structure and stability of the financial system, as well as for the monetary policy of the Swiss National Bank (SNB), and plunge the Swiss economy into a period of extreme uncertainty. Switzerland would have a financial system which is untested and fundamentally different from that of any other country. The Federal Council and the SNB therefore firmly oppose the sovereign money initiative.

As an alternative to the concept of sovereign money, some academics have launched the idea of allowing access to a sight deposit account at the SNB not only to commercial banks, as is currently the case, but also to the public. Unlike the sovereign money initiative, this would not bar commercial banks from creating deposits through lending. However, the proposal could well have consequences on the structure of the financial system similar to those of the sovereign money scenario. The SNB would assume a greater role in financial intermediation. Such a change would call into question the traditional, tried-and-tested division of tasks between the central bank and the commercial banks. The SNB therefore takes a critical stance on this proposal.

Drucken

Wie Geld durch die Zentralbank und das Bankensystem geschaffen wird

Zürcher Volkswirtschaftliche Gesellschaft, Zürich, 16.01.2018

  • Vollständiger Text
    (160 KB)

Die Finanzkrise und die von den Zentralbanken herbeigeführte massive Ausdehnung der Liquidität haben dazu geführt, dass das öffentliche Interesse an monetären Themen gewachsen ist. Dies trifft gerade auch auf die Frage zu, wie das Zusammenwirken von Zentralbank, Banken und Publikum die Geld- und Kreditmengen beeinflusst.

Traditionellerweise werden zwei Arten von Geld unterschieden: das von den Zentralbanken geschaffene Zentralbankgeld und das vom Bankensystem im Zusammenspiel mit Publikum und Zentralbank geschaffene Geschäftsbanken-Buchgeld. Zentralbankgeld ist gesetzliches Zahlungsmittel, während Geschäftsbanken-Buchgeld einen Anspruch auf Zentralbankgeld verkörpert. Das Geschäftsbanken-Buchgeld entsteht durch die Kreditvergabe der Banken. Eine Bank gewährt einem Kunden einen Kredit und schreibt ihm den Gegenwert als Sichteinlage gut. Diese verschwindet zwar mit Zahlungsüberweisungen des Kunden in der Regel wieder aus den Büchern der Bank, doch bleibt sie im Bankensystem.

Begrenzt wird die Schaffung von Geschäftsbanken-Buchgeld durch die Rendite-Risiko-Abwägung der Banken und die Geldpolitik der Zentralbank. Die Banken berücksichtigen bei ihrem Entscheid die Zinsen und Zinserwartungen, die Wahrscheinlichkeiten von Einlagenabzügen und Kreditausfällen sowie die Liquiditäts- und Eigenmittelvorschriften. Die Zentralbanken steuern mit ihrer Geldpolitik die Zinsen, was sich auf die Geld- und Kreditnachfrage des Publikums auswirkt und die Geldschöpfung begrenzt.

Derzeit kursieren verschiedene Vorschläge, die als Alternative zum heutigen System einen breiteren Zugang zu Zentralbankgeld fordern. In der Schweiz ist die Vollgeldinitiative zustande gekommen, die voraussichtlich dieses Jahr zur Abstimmung gelangen wird. Sie zielt darauf ab, das Geschäftsbanken-Buchgeld durch Zentralbankgeld zu ersetzen. Banken dürften mit der Kreditvergabe kein Buchgeld mehr schaffen. Die Initiative hätte Auswirkungen auf die Struktur und Stabilität des Finanzsystems sowie auf die Geldpolitik der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB). Sie würde die Volkswirtschaft zudem in eine Phase grosser Unsicherheit stürzen. Die Schweiz hätte ein unerprobtes Finanzsystem, das grundlegend anders wäre als jenes in allen anderen Ländern. Bundesrat und SNB lehnen die Vollgeldinitiative deshalb klar ab.

Als Alternative zu Vollgeld ist aus akademischen Kreisen die Idee zur Diskussion gestellt worden, den Zugang zu Sichtkonten bei der SNB nicht bloss auf Geschäftsbanken zu beschränken, sondern der breiten Bevölkerung einzuräumen. Im Unterschied zur Vollgeldinitiative wäre es den Banken nicht untersagt, Buchgeld zu schaffen. Der Vorschlag könnte aber ähnliche Auswirkungen auf die Struktur des Finanzsystems haben wie Vollgeld. Die Zentralbank würde eine grössere Rolle in der Finanzintermediation spielen. Damit würde die traditionelle und bewährte Rollenverteilung zwischen der Zentralbank und den Geschäftsbanken in Frage gestellt. Die SNB steht dem Vorschlag daher kritisch gegenüber.