Print

Monetary policy in the euro area's neighbouring countries

SAFE Policy Center Lecture, Frankfurt am Main, 23.02.2016

  • Complete text
    (1.8 MB)

For countries neighbouring the euro area, conducting an independent monetary policy has become more difficult since the onset of the financial crisis in 2008. This is particularly true of small open economies with both strong trade links to the euro area and currencies prone to increased pressure in times of crisis, for example Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Denmark and Sweden. With the exception of Denmark, these countries chose to continue pursuing an independent monetary policy following the introduction of the euro. The experiences of these countries, both shared and divergent, provide three conclusions about monetary policy in such economies.

First, it is possible for a small open economy neighbouring a large currency area to conduct an independent monetary policy. Such a policy allows a central bank to address the specific needs of its own economy and to ensure price stability in the medium term. Conventional and unconventional monetary policy measures have helped to absorb the shocks of the euro crisis.

Second, the room for manoeuvre using standard monetary policy measures can be rapidly exhausted in times of severe crisis, and conventional interest rate policy measures can reach their limits. The central banks of these four countries neighbouring the euro area succeeded in regaining a certain room for manoeuvre by deploying unconventional monetary policy measures, namely negative interest, foreign exchange market interventions and quantitative easing programmes.

Third, despite the expanded set of instruments available, the extent of what monetary policy can achieve is not unlimited. On the one hand, the effects of monetary policy measures can wane with duration and dosage, especially when the solution to structural problems lies in adjustments to economic policy. And on the other, when it comes to unconventional measures, central banks must continually weigh the short-term benefits against long-term costs, and adjust their monetary policy accordingly.

Drucken

Geldpolitik in der Nachbarschaft der Eurozone

SAFE Policy Center Lecture, Frankfurt am Main, 23.02.2016

  • Vollständiger Text
    (1.8 MB)

Das Führen einer eigenständigen Geldpolitik ist für Länder in der Nachbarschaft der Eurozone seit dem Ausbruch der Krise im Jahr 2008 schwieriger geworden. Dies gilt insbesondere für kleine offene Volkswirtschaften, die über ihre Handelsbeziehungen eng mit der Eurozone verbunden sind und gleichzeitig über Währungen verfügen, die in Krisenzeiten verstärktem Druck ausgesetzt sein können. Beispiele dafür sind die Schweiz, Dänemark, Schweden und die Tschechische Republik. Mit Ausnahme von Dänemark haben sich diese Länder entschieden, auch nach Einführung des Euros an einer eigenständigen Geldpolitik festzuhalten. Vor dem Hintergrund der gemeinsamen, aber auch unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen lassen sich für die Geldpolitik in solchen Volkswirtschaften drei Schlussfolgerungen ziehen.

Erstens ist eine eigenständige Geldpolitik auch für eine kleine offene Volkswirtschaft in der Nachbarschaft eines grossen Währungsraumes möglich. Eine eigenständige Geldpolitik erlaubt es einer Zentralbank, landesspezifischen Bedürfnissen Rechnung zu tragen und mittelfristig die Preisstabilität sicherzustellen. Konventionelle und unkonventionelle geldpolitische Massnahmen haben geholfen, die Schocks der Eurokrise zu absorbieren.

Zweitens kann in Zeiten grosser Krisen der übliche geldpolitische Spielraum rasch ausgeschöpft sein und die konventionelle Zinspolitik an ihre Grenzen stossen. Den Zentralbanken der vier Länder in der Nachbarschaft der Eurozone ist es gelungen, mit unkonventionellen geldpolitischen Massnahmen - Negativzinsen, Devisenmarktinterventionen und quantitativen Lockerungsprogrammen - einen gewissen Spielraum zurückzugewinnen.

Trotz der Erweiterung der Palette an Massnahmen sind drittens die Möglichkeiten der Geldpolitik nicht unbegrenzt. Zum einen kann die Wirkung von geldpolitischen Massnahmen mit der Dauer und der Dosis abnehmen, insbesondere dann, wenn die Lösung struktureller Probleme Anpassungen der Wirtschaftspolitik erfordern. Zum anderen müssen die Zentralbanken bei unkonventionellen Massnahmen immer den kurzfristigen Nutzen gegen die langfristigen Kosten abwägen und ihre Geldpolitik gegebenenfalls anpassen.