Print

Key factors for the Swiss economy – financial market regulation in Switzerland

Swiss Economic Forum, Interlaken, 04.06.2010

  • Complete text in German: "Schlüsselfaktoren für die Schweizer Volkswirtschaft: Finanzmarktregulierung in der Schweiz"
    PDF (81 KB)

The financial system is the life blood of our economy. Key measures to increase the resilience of the financial system have already been implemented in Switzerland. However, they have not addressed the fundamental problem, which is that systemically important banks cannot at present be allowed to fail.

The commission of experts set up by the government to examine ways of alleviating this problem published its interim report a few weeks ago. The report proposes measures in the areas of capital, liquidity and organisational structure. This approach is in line with the key points on the Financial Stability Board’s agenda. The interim report is an important milestone in the efforts to address the ‘too big to fail’ issue.

Naturally, we still face considerable challenges. Moreover, cross-border solutions are required for the ‘too big to fail’ question. The commission’s proposals represent a constructive step towards global cooperation.

If the key points on the Financial Stability Board’s agenda are not implemented in the major financial centres, we will ultimately be left empty handed. One of the few positive aspects of the financial crisis has been the unprecedented international collaboration to combat the crisis and the endeavours to cooperate internationally on regulatory reform. Successful further cooperation along these lines is in the interests of us all.

Drucken

Schlüsselfaktoren für die Schweizer Volkswirtschaft: Finanzmarktregulierung in der Schweiz

Swiss Economic Forum, Interlaken, 04.06.2010

  • Vollständiger Text
    (81 KB)

Das Finanzsystem ist der Blutkreislauf unserer Volkswirtschaft. Wichtige Massnahmen, welche die Widerstandskraft des Finanzsystems erhöhen, sind in der Schweiz bereits getroffen worden. Das fundamentale Problem, dass systemrelevante Banken derzeit nicht scheitern dürfen, wurde aber damit noch nicht entschärft.

Die von der Regierung eingesetzte Expertenkommission zur Limitierung dieses Problems hat vor ein paar Wochen ihren Zwischenbericht publiziert. Der Bericht schlägt Massnahmen in den Bereichen Eigenmittel, Liquidität und Organisationsstruktur vor. Diese Stossrichtung steht im Einklang mit dem Kern der Agenda des Financial Stability Board. Der Zwischenbericht ist ein wichtiger Meilenstein in den Bemühungen, die Too-big-to-fail-Problematik anzugehen.

Selbstverständlich liegen noch erhebliche Herausforderungen vor uns. Zudem bedarf es im Bereich der Too-big-to-fail-Problematik grenzüberschreitender Lösungen. Die Vorschläge der Kommission sind ein konstruktiver Schritt in Richtung globaler Kooperation.

Falls in den wichtigsten Finanzzentren der Kern der Agenda des Financial Stability Board nicht umgesetzt wird, stehen wir am Ende mit leeren Händen da. Zu den wenigen positiven Aspekten der Finanzkrise zählen die beispiellose internationale Zusammenarbeit bei der Krisenbekämpfung und die Bemühungen, bei der Regulierungsreform international zu kooperieren. Es ist im Interesse von uns allen, diese Kooperation erfolgreich weiterzuführen.