Print

Summary of a speech delivered by the President of the Bank Council

Annual General Meeting of Shareholders, 26 April 2002, 26.04.2002

  • Complete text in German: "Präsidialansprache an der Generalversammlung der Schweizerischen Nationalbank"
    PDF (37 KB)
  • Complete text in French: "Allocution d'ouverture à l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires"
    PDF (38 KB)
At the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders, the retiring president of the Bank Council of the Swiss National Bank, Eduard Belser, elaborates on the central bank's annual accounts for 2001 and the new profit distribution agreement with the Confederation. Furthermore, he presents the Study Centre Gerzensee and discusses issues of international cooperation.
The business activity of the Swiss National Bank took its normal course in the past year. Aggregate income for 2001 amounted to Sfr 4.1 billion. At Sfr 425 million, ordinary expenditure fell considerably short of the previous year's level (Sfr 565 million).
In conformity with the new profit distribution agreement between the Federal Department of Finance and the SNB, annual profit distribution is to be increased in future from currently Sfr 1.5 billion to Sfr 2.5 billion. The new agreement is valid for a period of ten years, with the Confederation and the cantons already receiving a higher distribution as from spring 2003. At the end of this period, the distribution will be limited to the amount of earnings actually achieved.
The Study Centre Gerzensee, a foundation of the National Bank, was inaugurated in 1986. The main task of the Study Centre is to provide training courses for central bank staff from all over the world, notably from developing and emerging countries.
Aside from maintaining multilateral international relations with the central banks of major industrial countries, the National Bank concentrates on establishing close relations with the central banks of the group of countries with which Switzerland cooperates in the International Monetary Fund. The SNB currently grants technical aid primarily to the central banks of the countries of Central Asia.

Drucken

Präsidialansprache an der Generalversammlung der Schweizerischen Nationalbank

Eröffnungsansprache Generalversammlung der Schweizerischen Nationalbank vom 26. April 2002, 26.04.2002

  • Vollständiger Text
    (37 KB)

Der zurücktretende Präsident des Bankrates der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Eduard Belser, erläutert an der Generalversammlung den Jahresabschluss 2001 der Notenbank sowie die neue Gewinnausschüttungsvereinbarung mit dem Bund, stellt das Studienzentrum Gerzensee vor und erörtert Fragen der internationalen Zusammenarbeit.

Die Geschäftstätigkeit der Schweizerischen Nationalbank ist im vergangenen Jahr in normalen Bahnen verlaufen. Der Gesamterfolg des Jahres 2001 belief sich auf 4,1 Mrd. Franken. Der ordentliche Aufwand fiel mit 425 Mio. Franken bedeutend tiefer aus als im Vorjahr (565 Mio. Franken).

Gemäss der neuen Gewinnausschüttungsvereinbarung zwischen dem Eidg. Finanzdepartement und der SNB wird die jährliche Gewinnausschüttung von heute 1,5 Mrd. Franken auf neu 2,5 Mrd. Franken erhöht. Die neue Vereinbarung gilt für eine Periode von 10 Jahren, wobei Bund und Kantone bereits im Frühjahr 2003 erstmals in den Genuss einer erhöhten Ausschüttung kommen. Nach Ablauf dieser Periode wird die Ausschüttung nur noch der Höhe der tatsächlich erzielten Erträge entsprechen.

Das Studienzentrum Gerzensee, eine Stiftung der Nationalbank, wurde 1986 eröffnet. Zentrale Aufgabe des Studienzentrums ist die Ausbildung von Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern von Zentralbanken aus der ganzen Welt, insbesondere von Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern.

Neben den vielseitigen internationalen Beziehungen zu den Zentralbanken von wichtigen Industriestaaten bemüht sich die Nationalbank um enge Beziehungen zu den Zentralbanken der Gruppe jener Länder, mit denen die Schweiz im Internationalen Währungsfonds zusammenarbeitet. Die SNB gewährt gegenwärtig vor allem den Zentralbanken der zentralasiatischen Länder technische Hilfe.