Monetary policy strategy

  • Mandate

    Constitutional and legal mandate

    Article 99 of the Swiss Federal Constitution entrusts the SNB, as an independent central bank, with the conduct of monetary policy in the interest of the country as a whole. The mandate is explained in detail in the National Bank Act (art. 5 para. 1 NBA), which requires the SNB to ensure price stability and, in so doing, to take due account of economic developments.

    The SNB is thus charged with resolving in the best general interest any conflicts that may occur between the mandate of price stability on the one hand and business cycle considerations on the other, giving priority to price stability. The requirement to act in the interest of the country as a whole also means that the SNB must tailor its policy to the needs of the entire Swiss economy rather than the claims of individual regions or industries.

    Significance of price stability

    Price stability is an important condition for growth and prosperity. Inflation and deflation, by contrast, hamper economic development. They complicate decision making by consumers and producers, cause labour and capital to be misallocated, and lead to a redistribution of income and wealth.

    By seeking to keep prices stable, the SNB creates an environment in which the economy can fully exploit its productive capacity. The objective of monetary policy is to achieve price stability in the medium and long run. However, it cannot eliminate all short-term price fluctuations.

    Appropriate monetary conditions

    To secure price stability, the SNB must set appropriate monetary conditions. If interest rates remain too low for an extended period, this will trigger an excess demand for goods and services. There is also a risk of inflated asset prices. Although such factors may boost the economy initially, bottlenecks occur over time and production capacity becomes stretched, causing a rise in the price level. Conversely, an interest rate level which is too high lowers aggregate demand. This has a dampening effect on the prices of goods and services.

    Taking economic activity into account

    The economy is subject to numerous domestic and foreign shocks. The resulting business cycle fluctuations generate pressures on prices, which can be quite pronounced. Such fluctuations are unavoidable. Even though monetary policy is geared toward the medium and long term, it can still help contain certain short-run fluctuations that arise from various types of shocks.

    The most common cause of inflationary or deflationary pressure is when aggregate demand for goods and services does not move in line with the economy’s productive capacity. Such situations can arise, for example, because of unexpected economic developments abroad or major fluctuations in exchange rates. Inflationary pressures increase when the economy is overheating, and they decrease when production capacity is not fully utilised. The SNB must gradually restore price stability by tightening monetary policy, in the first case, and easing it, in the latter. Consequently, monetary policy that is geared to price stability has a smoothing effect on aggregate demand and thus fosters steady economic growth.

    The situation is more complex if price increases are triggered by shocks that increase companies’ costs and cause these companies to reduce production. A sustained rise in oil prices is an example of such a shock. In such circumstances, monetary policy must, on the one hand, make sure that a pass-through of the higher production costs does not create an inflationary spiral. On the other hand, it must ensure that the companies affected by the increased production costs are not overburdened. A hasty restoration of price stability could have adverse effects on the economy and on employment.

    The economic analyses which monetary policy decisions are based on are rendered more complex by a number of unavoidable uncertainties. These uncertainties relate, in part, to the causes and likely duration of the shocks that affect economic performance. The transmission mechanisms, the time lags and the extent to which the instruments of monetary policy affect the business cycle and prices are also subject to uncertainties.

  • Monetary policy strategy

    The SNB’s monetary policy strategy sets out how the SNB implements its monetary policy mandate. It has been in place since 2000, and it consists of three elements: a definition of price stability, a medium-term inflation forecast, and – at the operational level – a target range for a reference interest rate, which is the three-month Swiss franc Libor (London Interbank Offered Rate).

    Definition of price stability

    The SNB equates price stability with a rise in the national consumer price index (CPI) of less than 2% per annum. The objective of price stability is also breached by deflation – i.e., a protracted decline in the price level. In this definition, the SNB takes account of the fact that inflation cannot be managed with pinpoint accuracy; neither can it be measured accurately. Measurement issues arise, for instance, when the quality of goods and services improves over time. The CPI calculation methods do not fully adjust for changes of this kind; as a result, measured inflation tends to overstate actual inflation to a small degree.

    Inflation forecast

    The SNB reviews its monetary policy stance on a regular basis to ensure that it is appropriate for maintaining price stability. It publishes its conditional forecast for inflation over the next three years on a quarterly basis. The period of three years corresponds roughly to the time required for changes in monetary policy to be transmitted to the economy. Forecasts over such a long horizon naturally involve considerable uncertainties. Nevertheless, by publishing a medium-term forecast, the SNB emphasises the need to adopt a forward-looking stance and to react at an early stage to any inflationary or deflationary threats.

    Whereas the conditional inflation forecast serves as a main indicator for the monetary policy decision, it also plays an important role in communicating policy to the public. The forecast is based on a scenario for future global economic developments and on the assumption that the policy rate published along with the forecast will remain constant over the entire three-year forecast period (which is why it is conditional). The forecast thus projects how prices would develop given the SNB’s current scenario for global economic developments and with monetary policy in Switzerland remaining unchanged. For this reason, this forecast is not directly comparable with other forecasts which incorporate expectations that monetary policy will change over time.

    The SNB uses a number of economic and statistical models to make conditional inflation forecasts. In addition to employing model-based inflation forecasts, it also takes into consideration several indicators of domestic and international economic and monetary developments as well as of financial stability in its monetary policy decisions. These indicators include movements in interest rates and exchange rates as well as growth in credit and monetary aggregates. Particular weight is also attached to information obtained from the discussions which the SNB’s delegates for regional economic relations conduct with companies on their business outlook.

    The SNB does not respond in a mechanical fashion to its conditional inflation forecast. For instance, if inflation exceeds the 2% ceiling as a result of one-off factors such as a sudden surge in oil prices or strong exchange rate fluctuations, the stance of monetary policy would not necessarily need to be adjusted. The same applies to short-lived deflationary pressure.

    Libor target range

    The SNB implements its monetary policy by setting a target range for the three-month Swiss franc Libor. The Libor is a reference interest rate in the interbank market for unsecured loans. It is a trimmed mean of the rates charged by 11 leading banks and is published daily by the ICE Benchmark Administration. The SNB regularly publishes its target range, which generally extends over 1 percentage point. As a rule, it aims to keep the Libor in the middle of the target range.

    The SNB holds quarterly monetary policy assessments at which it reviews its monetary policy stance. If required by circumstances, it can also adjust the three-month Libor target range in between the regularly scheduled assessment dates.

    Against the backdrop of international reform efforts on benchmark interest rates for financial contracts, the UK’s Financial Conduct Authority announced in July 2017 that it would no longer compel banks to contribute to the Libor panel after 2021. The continued availability of the Libor is thus uncertain. The SNB will provide advance information on any adjustments that may be necessary for its monetary policy strategy. The changes will have no impact on its monetary policy objectives.

  • Set of monetary policy instruments

    The SNB has a range of instruments at its disposal for managing monetary conditions, including repo transactions, purchasing foreign currency and setting an interest rate on sight deposits held by banks and other financial market participants at the SNB. Further information may be found under Monetary policy instruments.

  • Communications

    Monetary policy decisions are taken on a quarterly basis (or more frequently, if necessary) by the SNB Governing Board, at its monetary policy assessment. The decisions are announced in press releases following the conclusion of each meeting. In addition, following the June and December monetary policy assessment meetings, a press conference is held at which the members of the Governing Board explain the monetary policy decision.

    The SNB’s conditional inflation forecast is an important communications tool for explaining monetary policy decisions. Due to the assumption of an unchanged policy interest rate for the next three years, its development allows people to draw inferences about the future course of monetary policy. For instance, if inflation is forecast to lie outside the range of price stability, an adjustment to the monetary policy stance could prove necessary: Should inflation be projected to exceed 2% on a sustained basis, the SNB would envisage a tightening of its monetary policy stance. Conversely, it would consider relaxing monetary policy if there were signs of inflation being too low in the medium run.

    After each monetary policy assessment round, the SNB publishes details of its decision in the Quarterly Bulletin, along with further analyses of economic and monetary developments in Switzerland and abroad. The publication also contains the results of discussions with private sector representatives conducted by the SNB’s delegates for regional economic relations. Apart from these quarterly communications related to the monetary policy assessment meetings, the SNB also explains its deliberations on monetary policy in its annual accountability report. In addition, members of the Governing Board regularly give speeches on monetary policy topics.

Geldpolitische Strategie

  • Mandat

    Verfassungs- und Gesetzesauftrag

    Die Bundesverfassung beauftragt die Nationalbank als unabhängige Zentralbank, die Geld- und Währungspolitik im Gesamtinteresse des Landes zu führen (Art. 99 BV). Der Auftrag wird im Nationalbankgesetz (Art. 5 Abs. 1) präzisiert. Dieses betraut die Nationalbank mit der Aufgabe, die Preisstabilität zu gewährleisten und dabei der konjunkturellen Entwicklung Rechnung zu tragen.

    Die Nationalbank muss somit allfällige Zielkonflikte zwischen Preisstabilität und Konjunkturentwicklung im Gesamtinteresse des Landes bestmöglich lösen, wobei die Preisstabilität Vorrang hat. Die Verpflichtung auf das Gesamtinteresse bedeutet auch, dass die Nationalbank ihre Politik auf die Bedürfnisse der schweizerischen Volkswirtschaft als Ganzes ausrichtet und nicht einzelne Regionen oder Branchen begünstigt.

    Bedeutung der Preisstabilität

    Preisstabilität ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für Wachstum und Wohlstand. Inflation und Deflation beeinträchtigen dagegen die Entwicklung der Wirtschaft. Sie erschweren die Entscheide von Konsumenten und Produzenten, verursachen Fehler beim Einsatz von Arbeit und Kapital und führen zu Umverteilungen von Einkommen und Vermögen.

    Mit ihrem Streben nach Preisstabilität schafft die Nationalbank Rahmenbedingungen, die es der Wirtschaft ermöglichen, ihr Produktionspotenzial voll auszuschöpfen. Die Geldpolitik zielt dabei auf mittel- und langfristige Preisstabilität ab. Vorübergehende Preisschwankungen hingegen kann sie nicht ausgleichen.

    Angemessene monetäre Bedingungen

    Um Preisstabilität zu gewährleisten, muss die Nationalbank für angemessene monetäre Bedingungen sorgen. Sind die Zinsen während einer langen Zeit zu tief, führt dies zu einer überhöhten Nachfrage nach Gütern und Dienstleistungen. Auch besteht die Gefahr, dass es an den Märkten für Vermögenswerte zu Übertreibungen kommt. Zwar kurbelt all dies die Produktion zunächst an; auf die Dauer entstehen aber Engpässe. Die Produktionskapazitäten werden dann zu stark beansprucht und das Preisniveau steigt. Umgekehrt führt ein hohes Zinsniveau zu einer geringen Gesamtnachfrage. Dies wirkt sich dämpfend auf die Preise von Gütern und Dienstleistungen aus.

    Berücksichtigung der Konjunkturentwicklung

    Die Wirtschaft ist zahlreichen Einflüssen aus dem In- und Ausland ausgesetzt. Die daraus entstehenden konjunkturellen Schwankungen erzeugen einen mehr oder weniger starken Preisdruck. Solche Entwicklungen lassen sich nicht vermeiden. Obwohl die Geldpolitik grundsätzlich mittel- und langfristig ausgerichtet ist, kann sie dennoch dazu beitragen, derartige Schwankungen abzuschwächen.

    Am häufigsten kommt es zu Inflations- oder Deflationsdruck, wenn sich die Nachfrage nach Gütern und Dienstleistungen nicht im Gleichschritt mit den Produktionskapazitäten der Wirtschaft entwickelt. Eine solche Situation kann z. B. bei unvorhergesehenen Schwankungen des Konjunkturverlaufs im Ausland oder starken Wechselkursbewegungen entstehen. Die preistreibenden Effekte nehmen zu, wenn die Wirtschaft überhitzt, und lassen nach, wenn die Produktionskapazitäten nicht voll ausgelastet sind. Die Nationalbank muss dann schrittweise die Preisstabilität wiederherstellen. Sie wird im ersten Fall ihre Geldpolitik tendenziell straffen, im zweiten Fall lockern. Eine auf Preisstabilität ausgerichtete Geldpolitik hat folglich einen glättenden Einfluss auf die Gesamtnachfrage und verstetigt so die Konjunkturentwicklung.

    Die Situation ist komplexer, wenn Preiserhöhungen durch Faktoren ausgelöst werden, welche die Kosten der Unternehmen steigen lassen und diese zu einer Verringerung des gesamtwirtschaftlichen Angebots führen. Eine anhaltende Verteuerung des Erdöls wäre hierfür ein Beispiel. In einem solchen Fall muss die Geldpolitik einerseits dafür sorgen, dass die höheren Produktionskosten nicht in eine Inflationsspirale münden, und andererseits verhindern, dass die von den erhöhten Produktionskosten betroffenen Unternehmen zu stark belastet werden. Eine übereilte Wiederherstellung der Preisstabilität würde die Gefahr starker negativer Auswirkungen auf Konjunktur und Beschäftigung in sich bergen.

    Die den geldpolitischen Entscheiden zugrundeliegende Konjunkturanalyse wird durch Unsicherheit erschwert. Konkret bestehen Unsicherheiten einerseits hinsichtlich des Auslösers und der Dauer der Störungen, welche die Wirtschaft treffen. Andererseits sind auch die Übertragungsmechanismen, die Verzögerungen und das Ausmass, mit denen die geldpolitischen Massnahmen auf Konjunktur und Preise wirken, mit Unsicherheit behaftet.

  • Geldpolitisches Konzept

    Das geldpolitische Konzept der Nationalbank legt fest, wie sie den geldpolitischen Auftrag umsetzt. Es ist seit dem Jahr 2000 in Kraft und beruht auf drei Elementen: einer Definition der Preisstabilität, einer mittelfristigen Inflationsprognose und – auf operativer Ebene – einem Zielband für einen Referenzzinssatz, dem Libor (London Interbank Offered Rate) für dreimonatige Anlagen in Franken.

    Definition der Preisstabilität

    Die Nationalbank setzt Preisstabilität mit einem Anstieg des Landesindexes der Konsumentenpreise (LIK) von weniger als 2% pro Jahr gleich. Auch Deflation, d.h. ein anhaltender Rückgang des Preisniveaus, verletzt das Ziel der Preisstabilität. Mit dieser Definition trägt die Nationalbank der Tatsache Rechnung, dass die Teuerung nicht punktgenau gesteuert und präzise gemessen werden kann. Messprobleme ergeben sich etwa bei qualitativen Verbesserungen von Gütern und Dienstleistungen. Solche Veränderungen sind bei der Berechnung des LIK nur unvollständig berücksichtigt; sie tragen dazu bei, dass die gemessene Teuerung die effektive Teuerung tendenziell leicht überzeichnet.

    Inflationsprognose

    Die Nationalbank prüft regelmässig, ob ihre Geldpolitik im Hinblick auf die Gewährleistung der Preisstabilität angemessen ist. Dazu veröffentlicht sie vierteljährlich eine bedingte Inflationsprognose für die kommenden drei Jahre, was ungefähr dem Zeitbedarf für die Übertragung geldpolitischer Impulse auf die Wirtschaft entspricht. Ein so langer Prognosezeitraum ist mit grossen Unsicherheiten behaftet. Mit der Publikation einer mittelfristigen Prognose unterstreicht die Nationalbank indessen die Notwendigkeit, eine vorausschauende Haltung einzunehmen und frühzeitig auf Inflations- und Deflationsgefahren zu reagieren.

    Die bedingte Inflationsprognose dient als Hauptindikator für den geldpolitischen Entscheid, spielt aber auch in der Kommunikation eine wichtige Rolle. Sie beruht auf einem Szenario der zukünftigen internationalen Konjunkturentwicklung und wird unter der Annahme erstellt, dass der zum Zeitpunkt der Prognoseveröffentlichung publizierte Referenzzinssatz über die nächsten drei Jahre unverändert bleibt (daher «bedingte» Prognose). Die Prognose zeigt damit auf, wie sich die Preise im aktuellen Szenario der Weltkonjunktur und einer unveränderten schweizerischen Geldpolitik entwickeln würden. Sie lässt sich daher nicht direkt mit Prognosen vergleichen, welche die erwarteten geldpolitischen Entscheide einbeziehen.

    Die Nationalbank verwendet mehrere ökonomische und statistische Modelle zur Erstellung der bedingten Inflationsprognose. Neben der Inflationsprognose berücksichtigt sie für ihren Entscheid eine Vielzahl von Indikatoren zur konjunkturellen und monetären Entwicklung im In- und Ausland sowie zur Finanzstabilität. Hierzu zählen u.a. Zins- und Wechselkursentwicklungen und das Geld- und Kreditwachstum. Von grosser Bedeutung sind auch Informationen aus den Gesprächen, die die Delegierten für regionale Wirtschaftskontakte der Nationalbank mit Unternehmen über deren wirtschaftliche Aussichten führen.

    Die Nationalbank reagiert nicht mechanisch auf die bedingte Inflationsprognose. Steigt die Inflation infolge von aussergewöhnlichen Faktoren, etwa einem plötzlichen massiven Anstieg des Erdölpreises oder starken Wechselkursschwankungen, vorübergehend über 2%, muss nicht unbedingt eine Korrektur der Geldpolitik erfolgen. Das Gleiche gilt bei kurzzeitigem Deflationsdruck.

    Zielband für den Dreimonats-Libor

    Zur Umsetzung ihrer Geldpolitik legt die Nationalbank ein Zielband für den Libor für dreimonatige Anlagen in Franken fest. Der Libor ist ein Referenzzinssatz des Interbankenmarkts für unbesicherte Kredite. Er entspricht dem getrimmten Mittelwert der aktuellen Zinskonditionen von elf führenden Banken. Der Libor wird täglich von der ICE Benchmark Administration veröffentlicht. Die Nationalbank gibt das Zielband, das gewöhnlich eine Breite von einem Prozentpunkt aufweist, regelmässig bekannt und hält den Libor in der Regel in der Mitte des Zielbands.

    Die Nationalbank überprüft ihre Geldpolitik jeweils anlässlich der vierteljährlichen Lagebeurteilung. Falls die Umstände es erfordern, passt sie das Zielband für den Dreimonats-Libor auch an, ohne die nächste reguläre Lagebeurteilung abzuwarten.

    Vor dem Hintergrund der internationalen Reformbestrebungen im Bereich der Referenzzinssätze für Finanzkontrakte gab die britische Finanzmarktaufsichtsbehörde im Juli 2017 bekannt, dass sie die Banken nur noch bis Ende 2021 zur Teilnahme am Libor-Panel verpflichten wird. Damit ist der Fortbestand des Libors in Frage gestellt. Die SNB wird rechtzeitig über die Anpassungen, die sich daraus für ihr geldpolitisches Konzept ergeben, informieren. Auf die Ausrichtung der Geldpolitik werden diese Anpassungen keine Auswirkungen haben.

  • Geldpolitisches Instrumentarium

    Zur Steuerung der monetären Bedingungen stehen der Nationalbank eine Reihe von Instrumenten zur Verfügung. Diese beinhalten unter anderem Repo-Geschäfte, Devisenkäufe und die Festlegung eines Zinses auf die Sichtguthaben von Banken und anderen Finanzmarktteilnehmern bei der SNB. Weiterführende Informationen finden Sie unter Das geldpolitische Instrumentarium.

  • Kommunikation

    Der geldpolitische Entscheid wird vierteljährlich (und bei Bedarf öfter) an der Lagebeurteilung durch das Direktorium der Nationalbank getroffen und in einer Medienmitteilung veröffentlicht. An den Lagebeurteilungen im Juni und Dezember erläutern die Direktoriumsmitglieder den geldpolitischen Entscheid zusätzlich in einer Medienkonferenz.

    Für die Erläuterung des geldpolitischen Entscheids stellt die bedingte Inflationsprognose ein wichtiges Kommunikationsmittel dar, weil ihr Verlauf, wegen der Annahme eines unveränderten Zinses über die nächsten drei Jahre, Rückschlüsse auf die künftige Geldpolitik zulässt. Wenn die prognostizierte Inflation ausserhalb des Bereichs der Preisstabilität zu liegen kommt, kann eine künftige Anpassung der Geldpolitik nötig werden. Droht die Inflation dauerhaft über 2% zu steigen, wird die Nationalbank demnach eine Straffung ihrer Geldpolitik ins Auge fassen. Umgekehrt wird sie eine Lockerung erwägen, wenn sich eine dauerhaft zu tiefe Inflation abzeichnet.

    Das Quartalsheft publiziert nach den Lagebeurteilungen neben dem geldpolitischen Entscheid weitere Analysen zur wirtschaftlichen und monetären Entwicklung in der Schweiz und im Ausland. Es enthält auch die Ergebnisse aus den Unternehmensgesprächen der Delegierten für regionale Wirtschaftskontakte. Ergänzend zur Kommunikation an den Lagebeurteilungen erläutert die Nationalbank ihre Überlegungen zur Geldpolitik im jährlichen Rechenschaftsbericht. Zudem halten die Mitglieder des Direktoriums regelmässig Referate zu geldpolitischen Themen.