Print

The SNB as a market player

Money Market Event, Zurich, 23.03.2017

  • Complete text in German: "Die SNB als Marktakteurin"
    PDF (1.4 MB)

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) is active on the financial markets for two reasons: to implement its monetary policy and its investment policy. In view of the SNB's mandate, monetary policy has priority. Investment policy is secondary and must not constrain room for manoeuvre in monetary policy. There is, therefore, a key difference in how the two are implemented. For monetary policy, the SNB employs its resources to ensure the greatest possible effect on the market, whereas for investment policy, the aim is minimal market impact. Prices should move as little as possible even if large amounts are invested. The SNB thereby avoids sending out any signals that may be misinterpreted. In its investment policy, as a financial investor, the SNB does not pursue any particular strategic objectives regarding businesses or industries. This guards against conflicts of interest that could impinge on monetary policy.

Investment policy considerations speak in favour of the broadest possible diversification across different currencies and investment categories. The SNB therefore currently holds a fifth of its currency reserves in equities. Around half of these are US equities. This sizeable portfolio - just like our other equity investments - passively replicates the corresponding total market. If adjustments are needed, the SNB aims for minimal market impact by splitting every order into hundreds of transactions that are executed throughout the trading day.

It is also necessary to exercise caution in foreign exchange transactions carried out for investment purposes. In order to shift high volumes with minimal market impact, they are split into small individual transactions, which are staggered over time using trading algorithms. This minimises the impact on the exchange rate. The challenge when investing is to find the right balance between sometimes contradictory goals, such as minimal market influence, minimal price risk, maximum confidentiality and the best price. That is why the SNB retains broad market access and selects the appropriate trading strategy and trading time. In addition, the SNB continually evaluates its transaction costs and optimises its course of action as necessary.

In recent years, foreign exchange reserves have grown significantly due to purchases of foreign currency for monetary policy reasons. This means that the need for - and scope of - investment policy transactions has increased considerably. Against this backdrop, the SNB continuously analyses market structure and uses modern tools for its transactions, thereby ensuring that it can continue to implement its investment policy with minimal market impact whilst obtaining the best possible price.

Drucken

Die SNB als Marktakteurin

Geldmarkt-Apéro, Zürich, 23.03.2017

  • Vollständiger Text
    (1.4 MB)

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) tritt aus zwei Gründen als Akteurin an den Finanzmärkten auf: Sie setzt dort sowohl ihre Geldpolitik als auch ihre Anlagepolitik um. Aufgrund des Auftrags der SNB kommt der Geldpolitik die Hauptrolle zu, die Anlagepolitik ist untergeordnet und darf den geldpolitischen Handlungsspielraum nicht einschränken. Daraus ergibt sich ein für die Umsetzung zentraler Unterschied: Bei der Geldpolitik setzt die SNB ihre Mittel so ein, dass die Wirkung am Markt möglichst gross ist. Bei der Anlagepolitik hingegen geht die SNB marktschonend vor; die Preise sollen sich möglichst nicht bewegen, auch wenn grosse Beträge investiert werden. So sendet die SNB keine Signale aus, die falsch interpretiert werden könnten. In der Anlagepolitik ist die SNB eine Finanzinvestorin, die keine strategischen Absichten z.B. mit Blick auf bestimmte Unternehmen oder Branchen verfolgt. Dadurch beugt sie Interessenkonflikten vor, die ihre Geldpolitik tangieren könnten.

Anlagepolitische Überlegungen sprechen dafür, möglichst breit über Anlageklassen und Währungen zu diversifizieren. So hält die SNB heute einen Fünftel ihrer Devisenreserven in Aktien. Davon entfällt rund die Hälfte auf US-Beteiligungspapiere. Dieses gewichtige Portfolio bildet - wie die übrigen Aktienanlagen - indexnah den entsprechenden Gesamtmarkt ab. Sind Anpassungen angezeigt, geht die SNB marktschonend vor, indem sie jede Order in Hunderte von Transaktionen portioniert, die im Verlauf des Handelstags ausgeführt werden.

Auch bei anlagepolitischen Devisengeschäften muss mit Umsicht vorgegangen werden. Hohe Volumen werden marktschonend umgeschichtet, indem sie in kleine Einzeltransaktionen gestückelt werden, die mit Hilfe von Handelsalgorithmen über die Zeit gestreckt zur Ausführung gelangen. Dadurch wird der Effekt auf den Wechselkurs minimiert. Die Herausforderung in der Anlagepraxis besteht darin, zwischen teilweise gegenläufigen Zielen wie minimaler Markteinfluss, minimales Preisrisiko, maximale Vertraulichkeit und bester Preis die richtige Balance zu finden. Deshalb hält sich die SNB einen breiten Marktzugang offen und wählt die geeignete Handelsstrategie sowie die günstigste Handelszeit. Zudem evaluiert die SNB laufend ihre Transaktionskosten und optimiert entsprechend ihr Vorgehen.

Die Devisenreserven sind in den letzten Jahren aufgrund der geldpolitisch bedingten Fremdwährungskäufe stark gewachsen. Dadurch haben der Bedarf an und der Umfang von anlagepolitischen Transaktionen deutlich zugenommen. Vor diesem Hintergrund analysiert die SNB kontinuierlich die Marktstruktur und setzt für ihre Transaktionen zeitgemässe Werkzeuge ein. So ist sichergestellt, dass die SNB ihre Anlagepolitik weiterhin marktschonend umsetzen kann und dabei den bestmöglichen Preis erzielt.