Print

Comments on Swiss monetary policy

106th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 25.04.2014

  • Complete text
    (102 KB)

The environment in which Swiss monetary policy operates remains very challenging. With interest rates close to zero and a Swiss franc which is still high, the minimum exchange rate continues to be the SNB's most important monetary policy instrument for ensuring appropriate monetary conditions. An appreciation of the Swiss franc would entail a threat of deflation.

For 2014, the SNB is forecasting that the Swiss economy will grow at around 2%, driven by domestic demand and, increasingly, also by foreign demand. Given this situation, it can be expected that investment will gather momentum. Unemployment is likely to decline slightly during the course of the year. The underutilisation which still prevails is continuing to restrain consumer prices in Switzerland. Declining inflation abroad and the slightly stronger Swiss franc are having a similar impact by dampening imported inflation. The SNB's inflation forecast shows that there is no risk of inflation in the foreseeable future. In 2014, inflation in Switzerland is likely to be only 0%.

The global environment continues to present considerable uncertainties for Switzerland. Although it has not been necessary to enforce the minimum exchange rate by means of foreign currency purchases since autumn 2012, the danger has not been averted that the Swiss franc, as a safe haven, will suddenly become subject to further upward pressure. Short-term interest rates are practically zero. For this reason, the minimum exchange rate is the right tool to avoid an undesirable tightening of monetary conditions, and thereby ensure price stability.

At the same time, in the SNB's view, developments on the Swiss mortgage and real estate markets represent a risk for financial stability. Consequently, in 2013, for the first time, the SNB proposed that the countercyclical capital buffer (CCB) be activated, and at the beginning of 2014, that it be increased. Momentum on the mortgage and real estate markets was dampened somewhat. However, based on the data currently available for the first quarter of 2014, an all-clear still cannot be given. However, to obtain an idea of the overall picture we are still lacking important data.  For a definitive assessment of the latest developments it is therefore too early.

The SNB will continue to examine regularly whether the CCB needs to be adjusted. The authorities are also working on the specification of measures to target risks in the area of affordability.

Drucken

Erläuterungen zur Schweizer Geldpolitik

106. ordentliche Generalversammlung der Aktionäre der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Bern, 25.04.2014

  • Vollständiger Text
    (110 KB)

Das Umfeld für die Schweizer Geldpolitik ist nach wie vor sehr anspruchsvoll. Bei Zinsen nahe null sowie einem immer noch hoch bewerteten Franken bleibt der Mindestkurs das zentrale geldpolitische Instrument für die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB), um adäquate monetären Bedingungen sicherzustellen. Eine Aufwertung des Franken brächte eine Deflationsgefahr mit sich.

Für 2014 erwartet die SNB, dass die Schweizer Wirtschaft mit rund 2% wachsen wird. Die Binnen- und vermehrt auch die Auslandnachfrage sollten dazu beitragen. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist zu erwarten, dass die Investitionstätigkeit an Schwung gewinnt. Die Arbeitslosigkeit dürfte im Laufe des Jahres leicht sinken. Die zurzeit noch vorherrschende Unterauslastung wirkt sich weiterhin dämpfend auf die Konsumentenpreise in der Schweiz aus. Einen ähnlichen Effekt üben die rückläufige Teuerung im Ausland und der leicht stärkere Franken aus, indem sie die Importteuerung ermässigen. Die Inflationsprognose der SNB zeigt, dass es auf absehbare Zeit keine Inflationsrisiken gibt. Für 2014 dürfte die Teuerung in der Schweiz bei nur 0% liegen.

Vom internationalen Umfeld gehen nach wie vor hohe Unsicherheiten für die Schweiz aus. Obwohl der Mindestkurs seit Herbst 2012 nicht mehr mittels Devisenkäufe durchgesetzt werden musste, ist die Gefahr nicht gebannt, dass der Franken als sicherer Hafen plötzlich unter weiteren Aufwertungsdruck kommt. Die kurzfristigen Zinsen sind praktisch bei null. Daher ist der Mindestkurs das angemessene Instrument, um eine unerwünschte Verschärfung der monetären Rahmenbedingungen zu verhindern und so die Preisstabilität zu gewährleisten.

Gleichzeitig stellt die Entwicklung am Schweizer Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt aus Sicht der SNB ein Risiko für die Finanzstabilität dar. Deshalb beantragte die SNB im Jahr 2013 erstmalig die Aktivierung des antizyklischen Kapitalpuffers sowie Anfang 2014 dessen Erhöhung. Die Dynamik am Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt konnte zwar etwas gedämpft werden. Basierend auf den bis anhin für das erste Quartal 2014 verfügbaren Daten lässt sich jedoch nach wie vor keine Entwarnung geben. Es fehlen aber noch wichtige Daten für ein Gesamtbild. Für eine abschliessende Einschätzung der jüngsten Entwicklung ist es deshalb zu früh.

Die SNB wird auch künftig regelmässig prüfen, ob der Kapitalpuffer angepasst werden muss. Zudem arbeiten die Behörden an der Konkretisierung von Massnahmen, um die Risiken im Bereich der Tragbarkeit gezielt anzugehen.