Print

The Swiss National Bank and the financial crisis

Club of Rome Forum, Zurich, 20.01.2011

  • Complete text in German: "Die Schweizerische Nationalbank und die Finanzkrise"
    PDF (100 KB)

Since August 2007, central banks have been continually at work, fighting the crisis. They have had to stabilise the financial system and limit the extent of the economic downturn.

In many countries, the repercussions of the financial crisis are reflected in both government finances and central bank balance sheets. In Switzerland, these repercussions – i.e. the costs of the financial crisis – have had relatively little impact on the budgets of either the Confederation or the cantons. The costs are mainly to be found in the SNB’s balance sheet, at the moment largely in the form of risks.

The SNB balance sheet has significantly lengthened, particularly as a result of foreign currency purchases. Inevitably, the large holdings of currency investments means greater risk. As the SNB announced on 14 January 2011, it is expecting a substantial loss for the year 2010. This is mainly attributable to exchange rate losses on foreign currency investments.

In view of these losses, it is very tempting to argue that the SNB should not have purchased any foreign exchange. However, the purpose of the SNB is not to make a profit. The decision on whether monetary policy measures in the form of foreign currency purchases are necessary is based on an evaluation of the threat of deflation and the  monetary policy expansion needed in order to counter this. Monetary policy inaction during the dramatic phases of 2009 and 2010 was not an option.

The primacy of monetary policy applies, and the top priority of monetary policy is to ensure price stability. The SNB’s legal mandate is explicit in this regard. This is the contribution which the SNB can and must make to economic prosperity in this country.

Drucken

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank und die Finanzkrise

Club of Rome Forum, Zürich, 20.01.2011

  • Vollständiger Text
    (100 KB)

Seit August 2007 sind die Zentralbanken im Rahmen der Krisenbekämpfung im Dauereinsatz. Es galt, das Finanzsystem zu stabilisieren und den Konjunktureinbruch zu begrenzen.

Die Folgen der Finanzkrise widerspiegeln sich in vielen Ländern sowohl in den Staatsfinanzen als auch in den Bilanzen der Zentralbanken. In der Schweiz haben sich die Folgen beziehungsweise Kosten der Finanzkrise vergleichsweise wenig in den Haushalten von Bund und Kantone niedergeschlagen. Die Kosten, zurzeit primär in der Form von Risiken, finden sich hauptsächlich in der Bilanz der Nationalbank.

Die Bilanzsumme der Nationalbank hat sich insbesondere wegen Devisen-Käufen deutlich ausgedehnt. Der hohe Bestand an Devisenanlagen bringt zwangsläufig höhere Risiken mit sich. Wie die Nationalbank am 14. Januar 2011 mitgeteilt hat, erwartet sie für das Jahr 2010 einen hohen Verlust. Hauptursache sind die Wechselkursverluste auf den Devisenanlagen.

Mit Blick auf diese Verluste ist die Versuchung gross zu argumentieren, die Nationalbank hätte keine Devisen kaufen sollen. Der Sinn und Zweck der Nationalbank ist jedoch nicht die Gewinnerzielung. Der Entscheid, ob geldpolitische Massnahmen in Form von Devisen-Käufen erforderlich sind, basiert auf der Beurteilung der Deflationsgefahr und des notwendigen geldpolitischen Expansionsgrades, um dieser entgegenzuwirken. Geldpolitische Untätigkeit in den dramatischen Phasen von 2009 und 2010 war keine Option.

Es gilt das Primat der Geldpolitik. Das oberste Ziel der Geldpolitik – der Auftrag des Gesetzgebers an die Nationalbank ist explizit – ist die Gewährleistung der Preisstabilität. Das ist der Beitrag, den die Nationalbank für das Wohlergehen dieses Landes leisten kann und muss.