Print

Monetary policy – achieving a balance between inflation and growth

Swiss Venture Club, Mitgliederversammlung 2008, Berne, Hotel Bellevue Palace, 02.09.2008

  • Complete text in German: "Geldpolitik im Spannungsfeld zwischen Inflation und Wachstum"
    PDF (351 KB)

Following several settled years, the international downturn in the economy, high commodity prices and the ongoing financial market crisis is challenging central banks on a number of fronts simultaneously. By comparison with other countries, Switzerland is in a relatively good position thanks to the continued strength of consumption, full order books, full employment, low inflation by international standards and few excesses in the real estate market.

However, the global economic decline is likely to reach Switzerland, albeit with a certain lag. In particular, the economic slowdown now becoming apparent in Europe could have a considerable impact on the Swiss business cycle by reducing the demand for our exports. Moreover, the pessimistic mood in the financial markets is not likely to be conducive to the creation of value in the financial sector. However, the relative stability of the Swiss franc should continue to support our exports.  

The recent rise in the Swiss rate of inflation to over 3% is mainly attributable to first round effects, i.e. to the direct results of the increase in oil prices. If, as expected, second round effects remain contained, the rate of inflation should drop back below 2% during the course of 2009, and long-term inflation expectations should remain low. Based on these assumptions, current monetary policy is appropriate. However, if inflation does not fall back due to second round effects as expected, the SNB would need to counter this development in order to anchor price stability.

Geldpolitik im Spannungsfeld zwischen Inflation und Wachstum

Thomas Jordan, Mitglied des Direktoriums

Swiss Venture Club, Mitgliederversammlung 2008, Bern, Hotel Bellevue Palace, 02.09.2008

Nach mehreren ruhigen Jahren fordern der weltweite Konjunkturabschwung, hohe Rohstoffpreise sowie die andauernde Finanzmarktkrise die Notenbanken gleich an mehreren Fronten heraus. Die Schweiz ist im internationalen Vergleich dank eines anhaltend robusten Konsums, voller Auftragsbücher, Vollbeschäftigung auf dem Arbeitsmarkt, im internationalen Vergleich tiefen Inflationsraten und wenig Übertreibungen im Immobilienmarkt in einer vergleichsweise guten Ausgangslage.

Mit etwas Verzögerung dürfte der globale Konjunkturabschwung jedoch auch die Schweiz erreichen - insbesondere die sich abzeichnende Konjunkturverlangsamung in Europa könnte über eine rückläufige Nachfrage nach unsern Exporten auch in der schweizerischen Konjunktur deutliche Bremsspuren hinterlassen. Ferner dürfte die schlechte Stimmung auf den Finanzmärkten die Wertschöpfung im Finanzsektor beeinträchtigen. Die relative Stabilität des Frankenkurses sollte hingegen weiterhin eine Stütze für unsere Exporte darstellen.

Der jüngste Anstieg der schweizerischen Inflationsrate auf über 3% ist hauptsächlich auf Erstrundeneffekte zurückzuführen, also auf die direkten Folgen des Anstiegs der Erdölpreise. Sofern sich die Zweitrundeneffekte wie erwartet im Rahmen halten werden, sollten die Inflationsrate im Verlauf von 2009 wieder auf unter 2% fallen und die langfristigen Inflationserwartungen tief bleiben. Unter diesen Annahmen ist die gegenwärtige Geldpolitik angemessen. Sollte die Inflation jedoch aufgrund von Zweitrundeneffekten nicht wie erwartet zurückkommen, müsste die SNB dieser Entwicklung zur Sicherung der Preisstabilität entgegenwirken.