Print

Monetary policy and financial markets: What may we expect in 2008?

Messe Fonds 2008, Zurich, 31.01.2008

  • Complete text in German: "Geldpolitik und Finanzm√§rkte: Was bringt das Jahr 2008? "
    PDF (326 KB)

The problems linked to the US housing and mortgage market dominated international financial markets in 2007. Despite the difficulties on the financial markets in the second half of the year, the global economy was robust last year. For 2008, the outlook for global economic growth has deteriorated and become more uncertain.

The turbulence in the financial sector led to a considerable increase in risk premiums in 2007. In the past few years, these premiums had been very low, and even after the recent increase they remain modest by historic standards. Due to the higher level of economic uncertainty in 2008, the process of adjustment in risk premiums looks set to continue in various markets.

From the current standpoint, the Swiss National Bank anticipates a somewhat slower pace of growth for Switzerland in 2008, although the economy should remain robust. However, the risks have increased in the recent period. As a result of the oil price hikes, inflation in Switzerland is likely to rise above 2% in the first half of 2008. Despite raised stock exchange volatility, the SNB does not judge that any additional actions are necessary at present. The quarterly assessment in mid-March 2008 will provide the opportunity to assess the inflation and economic outlook on the basis of new data.

Drucken

Geldpolitik und Finanzmärkte: Was bringt das Jahr 2008?

Messe Fonds 2008, Zürich, 31.01.2008

  • Vollständiger Text
    (326 KB)

Die Probleme im Zusammenhang mit dem amerikanischen Häuser- und Hypothekenmarkt dominierten die Entwicklungen an den internationalen Finanzmärkten im Jahr 2007. Trotz den Problemen auf den Finanzmärkten in der zweiten Jahreshälfte entwickelte sich die Weltwirtschaft 2007 robust. Die Aussichten für das globale Wirtschaftswachstum haben sich für 2008 verschlechtert und sind unsicherer geworden.

Die Verwerfungen im Finanzsektor führten 2007 zu einem deutlichen Anstieg der Risikoprämien, die in letzten Jahren sehr tief waren. Auch nach dem erfolgten Anstieg sind diese Prämien im historischen Vergleich immer noch bescheiden. Die höhere ökonomische Unsicherheit in 2008 dürfte dazu führen, dass der Prozess der Anpassung der Risikoprämien auf verschiedenen Märkten weitergeht.

Für die Schweiz erwartet die Schweizerische Nationalbank aus heutiger Sicht für 2008 eine etwas abgeschwächte, aber weiterhin robuste Wirtschaftsentwicklung. Die Risiken haben jedoch in letzter Zeit zugenommen. Wegen den Preisaufschlägen beim Erdöl dürfte die Inflation in der Schweiz im ersten Halbjahr 2008 auf über 2% ansteigen. Die SNB zieht trotz der erhöhten Volatilität an den Börsen zurzeit keinen zusätzlichen Handlungsbedarf. Die Lagebeurteilung von Mitte März 2008 wird Gelegenheit geben, Inflations- und Konjunkturaussichten mit neuen Daten zu beurteilen.