Print

The demographic challenge: macroeconomic perspectives

Conference "Die alternde Gesellschaft als sozio-ökonomische Herausforderung" (the aging society: a socio-economic challenge), University of Basel, Basel, 09.02.2007

  • Complete text in German: "Die demographische Herausforderung: Makroökonomische Perspektiven"
    PDF (160 KB)
Demographic aging, i.e. the growing average age of the population, or the reversal of the age pyramid, is also a matter of concern for a central bank. Without a careful analysis of the long-term developments in the real economy, any monetary policy assessment, and consequently any inflation forecast, will be inadequate. In addition to the activities in the money and capital markets, the long-term growth outlook – and thus also the population perspectives – are factored into the Swiss National Bank's monetary policy assessment.
 
The aging of the population is a fact. It is linked to three main trends, which will greatly influence Switzerland's demographic landscape in the decades to come: first, the economically active population will decrease, second, the old-age ratio, i.e. the ratio of people over 65 to those between 20 and 64 is on the rise, and third, longevity is increasing.
 
In future, Switzerland will have to produce more with fewer resources. "Fewer resources" because the economically active population is declining, "produce more" because the old-age ratio is worsening and longevity increasing. The consequences for the macroeconomic outlook are clear: if labour productivity and/or labour input fail to improve, the impending demographic development will lead to slower medium and long-term growth.
 
It is thus all the more important that labour productivity increases. The growth in labour productivity depends primarily on workplace capital and product market success. It would be ill advised, however, to make oversimplified calculations. Neither technological progress nor capital investment are unaffected by demographic aging. While enthusiasm for embracing innovation may decrease with old age, greater experience can enrich human capital. On the one hand, a tighter labour market can be counteracted by shoring up investment. On the other hand, both the savings and the investment rate can decline. If foreign locations become more attractive, the latter is a particularly likely scenario. It is not clear how the overall effect of these interactions would impact overall on growth.
 
These perspectives call for measures that boost both labour productivity and labour input. In a market economy, employers, employees and the self-employed have a number of instruments and options at their disposal to increase labour productivity and labour input. However, there is also room for improvement with regard to the economic conditions within which businesses operate. First, the capacity for innovation in Switzerland should not be allowed to decline. Second, Switzerland ought to continue to attract more investment. Third, the economically active population could be strengthened by increasing the number of qualified immigrants. At the same time, Switzerland's employment quota could be lifted if more women now living in Switzerland entered the workforce.

Drucken

Die demographische Herausforderung: Makroökonomische Perspektiven

Tagung "Die alternde Gesellschaft als sozio-ökonomische Herausforderung", Universität Basel, Basel, 09.02.2007

  • Vollständiger Text
    (160 KB)
Die demographische Alterung, d.h. die Zunahme des Durchschnittsalters der Bevölkerung bzw. die Umkehrung der Alterspyramide ist auch für eine Notenbank ein Thema. Ohne eine sorgfältige Analyse der längerfristigen realwirtschaftlichen Entwicklungen bliebe jede geldpolitische Lagebeurteilung und somit jede Inflationsprognose unzulänglich. In die geldpolitische Lagebeurteilung der Nationalbank fliessen neben dem Geschehen auf den Geld- und Kapitalmärkten auch die längerfristigen Wachstumsaussichten und damit ebenfalls die Bevölkerungsperspektiven ein.
 
Die Alterung der Bevölkerung ist eine Tatsache. Damit verbinden sich drei Haupttendenzen, welche die demographische Landschaft der Schweiz in den nächsten Jahrzehnten stark beeinflussen: Die Erwerbsbevölkerung nimmt ab, der Altersquotient, d.h. das Verhältnis Über-65-Jährigen zu den 20-bis 64-Jährigen wächst, und die Hochaltrigkeit steigt.
 
In der Zukunft muss die Schweiz mit weniger Ressourcen mehr produzieren. «Mit weniger Ressourcen» wegen der Abnahme der Erwerbsbevölkerung; «mehr produzieren» wegen der Verschlechterung des Altersquotienten und wegen der steigenden Hochaltrigkeit. Das Fazit der makroökonomischen Perspektiven ist klar: Lassen sich die Arbeitsproduktivität und/oder der Arbeitseinsatz nicht anheben, wird die bevorstehende demographische Entwicklung mittel- und langfristig zu einem geringeren Wachstum führen.
 
Umso wichtiger wird die Entwicklung der Arbeitsproduktivität. Das Wachstum der Arbeitsproduktivität hängt wesentlich von der Ausstattung der Arbeitsplätze mit Kapital und vom Markterfolg der abgesetzten Produkte ab. «Milchmädchenrechnungen» sind jedoch nicht am Platz. Weder der technische Fortschritt noch der Kapitaleinsatz sind von der demographischen Alterung unabhängig. Die "Altersmüdigkeit" kann die Innovationskraft hemmen. Umgekehrt kann die wachsende Erfahrung das Humankapital steigern. Den Folgen der Verknappung der Arbeitskraft kann mit mehr Investitionen entgegen getreten werden. Anderseits können sowohl die Spar- als auch die Investitionsquote sinken, letzteres vor allem dann, wenn ausländische Standorte attraktiver würden. Der Gesamteffekt dieser Wechselwirkungen auf das Wachstum steht nicht fest.
 
Die Perspektiven rufen nach Massnahmen zur Erhöhung sowohl der Arbeitsproduktivität als auch des Arbeitseinsatzes. In einer Marktwirtschaft stehen den Arbeitgebern, den Arbeitnehmern und den Selbständigerwerbenden viele Instrumente und Verhaltensmuster zur Verfügung, um die Arbeitsproduktivität und den Arbeitseinsatz zu steigern. Doch auch die wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen sind verbesserungsfähig. Erstens sollte nicht zugelassen werden, dass sich die Innovationskapazität der Schweiz vermindert. Zweitens sollte die Schweiz weiterhin mehr Investitionen an sich ziehen bzw. an sich binden. Drittens könnte die Erwerbsbevölkerung durch eine qualifiziertere Immigration verstärkt werden. Analog könnten auch die bereits hier ansässigen Frauen einen Beitrag zur Steigerung der Erwerbsquote der Schweiz leisten.