Print

The Swiss National Bank’s monetary policy and Swiss franc loans in Austria

Innsbruck, 03.10.2005

  • Complete text in German: "Die Geldpolitik der Schweizerischen Nationalbank und die Frankenkredite in Österreich"
    PDF (170 KB)

In Austria, the trend of taking out loans in Swiss francs and yen is unbroken. The borrowers – the majority of whom are private individuals – do so in an attempt to benefit from the lower interest rates in the foreign currency vis-à-vis the euro. The degree of risk involved in borrowing in a foreign currency, however, is quite considerable.

In Switzerland, loans in foreign currency play a peripheral role. They generally tend to be taken out by companies and can mostly be ascribed to the borrower’s international business activity. Mortgages in Switzerland are denominated almost exclusively in Swiss francs.

Whether it is worthwhile for an Austrian borrower to take out a Swiss franc loan as opposed to a euro loan depends on developments in the exchange rate and the interest rate differential between the two currencies – both of which are influenced by monetary policy. It is thus vital that lenders and borrowers of Swiss franc loans in Austria have a good understanding of Switzerland’s monetary policy.

Drucken

Die Geldpolitik der Schweizerischen Nationalbank und die Frankenkredite in Österreich

Innsbruck, 03.10.2005

  • Vollständiger Text
    (170 KB)

In Österreich ist der Trend ungebrochen, Kredite in Franken und Yen aufzunehmen. Die Kreditnehmer, ein Grossteil davon Private, versuchen dadurch von den tieferen Zinsen in der fremden Währung gegenüber dem Euro zu profitieren. Durch die Verschuldung in einer fremden Währung werden aber nicht unbeträchtliche Risiken eingegangen.

In der Schweiz sind Fremdwährungskredite eine Randerscheinung. Sie werden meist von Unternehmen bezogen und sind in aller Regel auf die grenzüberschreitende Geschäftstätigkeit des Kreditnehmers zurückzuführen. Die Hypothekarforderungen in der Schweiz lauten praktisch ausschliesslich auf Franken.

Ob sich für einen österreichischen Kreditnehmer ein Frankenkredit gegenüber einem Eurokredit lohnt, hängt von den Entwicklungen beim Wechselkurs und bei der Zinsdifferenz zwischen den beiden Währungen ab. Sowohl der Wechselkurs als auch die Zinsdifferenz werden von der Geldpolitik beeinflusst. Ein gutes Verständnis der schweizerischen Geldpolitik ist daher für Kreditnehmer und Kreditgeber von Frankenkrediten in Österreich sehr wichtig.