Print

Competitiveness of Swiss companies - the SNB's contribution

Swiss CFO Day, Zug, 13.01.2016

  • Complete text
    (638 KB)

At first glance, the international competitiveness of Swiss companies has little to do with the monetary policy of the Swiss National Bank (SNB), as competitiveness depends first and foremost on companies and their ability to innovate. In addition, local factors, such as the educational standard of the population and the quality of the infrastructure, play a decisive role in economic development. However, the macroeconomic environment is also important for companies, and this is shaped by monetary and financial policy. Price stability and sound public finances make it easier for companies to plan, especially as regards investment. So, by fulfilling its mandate and ensuring price stability, the SNB makes an indirect contribution to the competitiveness of the Swiss economy.

Yet the high degree of macroeconomic stability is also a factor in the strength of the Swiss franc, which reduces Swiss companies' price competitiveness compared to their foreign rivals - at least in the short term. In the long term, by contrast, there is no contradiction between a strong currency and an economy's competitiveness - as demonstrated by Switzerland's own experience over the past few decades.

Nevertheless, exchange rates play an important role in the SNB's monetary policymaking. Because Switzerland is so closely integrated into the global economy, exchange rate movements can have far-reaching consequences for economic and price developments. If the speed and magnitude of a Swiss franc appreciation threatens macroeconomic stability, it may be necessary for the SNB to intervene directly on the foreign exchange market. This is particularly the case when other monetary policy tools are no longer sufficient to ward off a destabilisation of the economy. However, considerable risks accompany foreign exchange market interventions. Thus, the benefits of an active exchange rate policy need to be properly weighed against the costs for the economy as a whole.

The SNB's current monetary policy shows that business as usual is still a long way off. The Swiss franc continues to be considerably overvalued and the global economic recovery is still not firmly bedded in. Against this background, it is essential that the SNB impose negative interest on sight deposits and be willing to intervene as necessary in the foreign exchange market. This reduces the pressure on the Swiss franc and, in turn, the risks to price and economic developments which may arise as a result of an appreciation.

Imprimer

Compétitivité des entreprises suisses - La contribution de la BNS

Swiss CFO Day, Zoug, 13.01.2016

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Schweizer Unternehmen - der Beitrag der SNB"
    PDF (595 KB)
  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Competitiveness of Swiss companies - the SNB's contribution"
    PDF (638 KB)

A première vue, la compétitivité internationale des entreprises suisses n'a pas grand-chose à voir avec la politique monétaire de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS). En effet, la compétitivité tient essentiellement aux entreprises elles-mêmes et à leur capacité d'innovation. De plus, la croissance de l'économie dépend de facteurs locaux tels que le niveau de formation de la population et la qualité des infrastructures. Pour autant, il ne faut pas sous-estimer l'importance, pour les entreprises, de l'environnement macroéconomique, lequel est marqué par la politique monétaire et budgétaire. La stabilité des prix et la solidité des finances publiques facilitent en effet leurs tâches de planification, notamment en matière d'investissements. Ainsi, si la BNS remplit son mandat et assure la stabilité des prix, elle contribue indirectement à la compétitivité de l'économie suisse.

Cependant, la grande stabilité macroéconomique du pays favorise également la force du franc, ce qui rend les entreprises helvétiques moins compétitives en termes de prix que la concurrence étrangère, du moins à court terme. A long terme toutefois, il n'existe aucune contradiction entre la force de la monnaie et la compétitivité d'une économie, comme l'ont montré les expériences faites par la Suisse au cours des dernières décennies.

Il n'en demeure pas moins que les cours de change jouent un rôle essentiel dans les décisions de politique monétaire de la BNS. L'économie suisse étant fortement imbriquée dans l'économie mondiale, les fluctuations des cours de change peuvent avoir des répercussions importantes sur l'évolution de la conjoncture et des prix. Si le franc s'apprécie à un tel rythme et dans une telle ampleur que la stabilité macroéconomique s'en trouve menacée, la BNS peut être amenée à intervenir directement sur le marché des changes. C'est notamment le cas lorsque les autres instruments de politique monétaire ne suffisent plus à éviter une déstabilisation de l'économie. Les interventions sur le marché des changes présentent cependant des risques considérables. Aussi une politique de change active nécessite-t-elle de peser minutieusement les avantages et les coûts sur le plan macroéconomique.

La politique monétaire actuelle montre que la situation est toujours loin d'être normale. Le franc reste nettement surévalué, et la reprise économique mondiale, empreinte d'incertitudes. Dans un tel contexte, il est indispensable que la BNS applique un taux d'intérêt négatif sur les avoirs à vue et qu'elle soit prête à intervenir au besoin sur le marché des changes. Cela permet de réduire la pression exercée sur le franc ainsi que les risques qui résulteraient d'une appréciation du franc pour la stabilité des prix et l'évolution de l'économie.