Print

Sound money - a fundamental pillar of our society

Ustertag, Uster, 23.11.2014

  • Complete text
    (138 KB)

Money is sound when it fulfils its functions as a means of payment and store of value as smoothly and reliably as possible in people's everyday lives. Sound money retains its value and is generally accepted. It also makes an important contribution to social harmony and material prosperity. Sound money is therefore a central pillar of our society. The mandate of monetary policy is to ensure that money remains sound. Consequently, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) bases all of its activities on this mandate.

Since the Uster day in 1830, Swiss monetary history has shown us that the monetary order does not arise from natural causes and is not god-given. It is, rather, a - more or less - useful human invention. Some of the fundamental turning points are the result of an organic learning process. Sometimes it is also necessary to react to upheavals in the international arena with determination, under time pressure. Nevertheless, two invariables are quite clear over the course of Swiss history. First, efforts to ensure sound money in the interests of the population as a whole have always been regarded as a state responsibility. Second, the monetary order and the SNB enjoy widespread fundamental trust, while the culture of stability is well anchored in this country.

In view of the major importance of the monetary order, it is legitimate and necessary that this order be subjected to repeated review. At the same time, however, it should be borne in mind that it is the result of historic development. Even well-meaning interventions may therefore have grave consequences for our country and the entire population. Examples of profound reforms of this kind are the use of private money instead of state money, the return to a gold standard, the introduction of plain money and the adoption of foreign money. From today's perspective, these four reform ideas are unsuited to making our sound money even better.

For over 100 years, the monetary order and the institutions which back sound money have met with widespread acceptance and strong support in the Swiss population. This has made it possible to maintain the basic values of the monetary order and forgo experiments with uncertain outcomes, while at the same time making essential adjustments. This demonstrates a strength of our country, that we review new developments impartially and adapt them to our own situation if we consider them good, linking them organically to tested and tried systems wherever possible.

Imprimer

Une monnaie de qualité, pilier fondamental de notre société

Journée d’Uster, Uster, 23.11.2014

  • Texte intégral
    (144 KB)

Une monnaie de qualité se caractérise par son aptitude à remplir au quotidien, de façon fiable et sans dysfonctionnements majeurs, son rôle de moyen de paiement et d'instrument de réserve. Elle est largement acceptée et sa valeur est stable. Une monnaie de qualité contribue dans une grande mesure à la paix sociale et à la prospérité. Elle constitue par conséquent un pilier central de notre société. Il appartient à la politique monétaire de veiller au maintien de la qualité de la monnaie. Partant, la Banque nationale concentre son activité sur ce mandat.

L'histoire de la monnaie suisse depuis la Journée d'Uster de 1830 montre que l'ordre monétaire ne procède ni des lois de la nature ni de la providence divine, mais qu'il est une invention purement humaine dont l'utilité varie. Un processus d'apprentissage a parfois présidé à la mise en place des orientations fondamentales. Mais il arrive aussi qu'il faille prendre rapidement des mesures énergiques face à des bouleversements de l'environnement international. A cet égard, deux constantes ressortent incontestablement de l'histoire suisse: premièrement, il incombe aux autorités de s'employer à offrir une monnaie de qualité à la population; secondement, l'ordre monétaire et la Banque nationale jouissent de la confiance du plus grand nombre et d'une culture de la stabilité fermement établie dans notre pays.

Etant donné l'importance que revêt l'ordre monétaire, il est légitime et nécessaire de réévaluer celui-ci à intervalles réguliers tout en gardant à l'esprit qu'il plonge ses racines dans l'histoire. Ainsi, même des interventions bien intentionnées peuvent être lourdes de conséquences pour notre pays et l'ensemble de ses habitants. Le remplacement de la monnaie étatique par des monnaies privées, le retour à un étalon-or, l'introduction de la monnaie pleine et l'adoption d'une monnaie étrangère constituent des exemples de telles réformes radicales. Dans la perspective actuelle, ces quatre idées de réformes ne sont pas adaptées pour accroître la qualité de la monnaie.

Depuis plus de cent ans, la population reconnaît et soutient largement l'ordre monétaire et les institutions garantissant une monnaie de qualité. Cela a toujours permis de s'appuyer sur les valeurs fondamentales de l'ordre monétaire et de renoncer aux expérimentations à l'issue incertaine, sans toutefois se fermer aux adaptations indispensables. Car telle est l'une des forces de notre pays: être capable d'examiner les nouveautés sans préjugés pour les reprendre à notre compte après les avoir adaptées à notre situation si nous les avons jugées bonnes, puis de les associer, si possible organiquement, à ce qui a déjà fait ses preuves.