Print

The financial crisis in its sixth year: an end in sight?

Money Market Event, Zurich, 21.03.2013

  • Complete text in German: "Die Finanzkrise im sechsten Jahr: Ende in Sicht?"
    PDF (1.5 MB)

In this, the sixth year of the financial crisis, the situation on the financial markets has eased considerably. Is what we're seeing the prospect of an end to the crisis, or is this just a flash in the pan?

Measures by central banks made a major contribution to stabilising the financial sector. This sector, however, is just a part of the whole, and while its stability is a precondition for sustained global economic growth, it is by no means a guarantee. The positive mood in the financial markets and leading economic indicators raise hopes that a recovery is underway. If these hopes are to be realised, however, structural reforms need to be implemented.

The three most significant challenges for the global economy are increasing the resilience of the financial sector, improving the flexibility of labour and goods markets (especially in Europe), and consolidating the public finances of the advanced economies. Progress has been made in all three areas. The way ahead, however, is still both long and difficult. Due to the relatively lengthy period of weak growth, there is considerable danger that reform fatigue might spread in those countries most severely affected. It is therefore that much more important that the reforms are well-planned and credible, and that they are implemented consistently, but also prudently. There is also the threat that pressure will build on central banks to compensate a failure to reform with monetary policy measures.

Central banks can and must resist this pressure, in order that they can continue to focus on ensuring price stability. Governments, on the other hand, should embrace this deep crisis as an opportunity to implement urgently needed structural reforms. Only then will we be able to say, with certainty, that the end of the financial crisis is in sight.

Imprimer

6e année de crise financière: bientôt la fin?

Apéritif «Marché monétaire», Zurich, 21.03.2013

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Die Finanzkrise im sechsten Jahr: Ende in Sicht?"
    PDF (1.5 MB)

Après bientôt six ans de crise financière, la situation connaît une nette embellie sur les marchés financiers. La crise touche-t-elle à sa fin, ou n'est-ce qu'un feu de paille?

Les mesures prises par les banques centrales ont contribué de façon décisive à stabiliser le secteur financier. Ce dernier n'est toutefois qu'une partie d'un tout; sa consolidation est certes indispensable, mais non suffisante pour garantir une croissance durable de l'économie mondiale. Le climat favorable sur les marchés financiers et les indicateurs conjoncturels avancés nourrissent l'espoir d'une reprise progressive. Mais pour que cet espoir se concrétise, encore faut-il mener à bien certaines réformes structurelles.

L'économie doit relever trois défis majeurs: augmenter la capacité de résistance du secteur financier; assouplir - particulièrement en Europe - le marché du travail et celui des biens et services; enfin, consolider les finances publiques dans les pays industrialisés. Des avancées ont été enregistrées sur ces trois fronts. Mais la route sera encore longue et ardue. Le danger de voir les pays les plus touchés se lasser des réformes est d'autant plus grand que la croissance est faible et lente. C'est pourquoi il importe que les mesures prises soient bien conçues et crédibles, et que les gouvernants les mettent en œuvre avec autant de discernement que de détermination. Par ailleurs, les banques centrales risquent de subir des pressions pour qu'elles compensent par la politique monétaire l'absence de volonté de procéder aux réformes nécessaires.

Les banques centrales peuvent et doivent à tout prix résister à ces pressions pour pouvoir continuer à se concentrer sur leur mission, à savoir garantir la stabilité des prix. Les gouvernements devraient pour leur part comprendre cette crise profonde comme l'occasion de réaliser des réformes structurelles urgentes. C'est seulement alors que nous pourrons écrire la fin de la crise financière sans point d'interrogation.