Print

Autonomy on the Edge of a Large Monetary Zone: The Swiss Experience

Hebrew University, Jerusalem, 28.05.2006

  • Complete text
    (138 KB)

Israel and Switzerland are small open economies with a great deal in common. One of the major similarities is that both countries are highly integrated into the euro area.

Despite Switzerland’s geographical position in the heart of the euro area, there are still good reasons for retaining the Swiss franc as the national currency, one of which is the preservation of the country’s monetary independence. Firstly, this autonomy gives Switzerland the freedom to determine the average level of domestic inflation. Secondly, it allows the Swiss National Bank (SNB) to react to country-specific shocks. Thirdly, the interest rate advantage that Switzerland enjoys can only be maintained as long as the country has its own currency. And finally, the fact that the Swiss franc is not pegged to the euro keeps speculators at bay.

In order for monetary autonomy to be successful, it is important that a central bank be credible and financially independent. What is more, the communication of monetary policy goals and strategies needs to be transparent and the foreign exchange market has to function efficiently, as changes to monetary policy often translate into unwanted movements in the exchange rates.

Since the introduction of the euro, the SNB has repeatedly used its independence to react to shocks that had a far greater impact on Switzerland than on the euro area. For a small open economy with a credible central bank, retaining one’s national currency on the edge of a large monetary zone has clear advantages.

Imprimer

Etre autonome frontière d'une vaste zone monétaire – L'expérience suisse

Hebrew University, Jérusalem, 28.05.2006

  • Texte intégral en anglais: "Autonomy on the Edge of a Large Monetary Zone: The Swiss Experience"
    PDF (138 KB)

Israël et la Suisse sont deux économies ouvertes de petite taille. Tous deux partagent nombre d'autres caractéristiques, en particulier celle d'entretenir d'étroites relations économiques avec la zone euro.

La Suisse se trouve au centre de la zone euro, ce qui n'empêche pas qu'elle ait de bonnes raisons de garder le franc comme monnaie et, partant, son indépendance en matière de politique monétaire. Premièrement, cette indépendance permet à la Suisse de déterminer elle-même le niveau moyen de son inflation. Deuxièmement, grâce au maintien du franc suisse, la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) peut réagir aux chocs spécifiques du pays. Troisièmement, la Suisse a des taux d'intérêt bas, et elle ne peut conserver cet avantage qu'en maintenant sa propre monnaie. Quatrièmement enfin, la question de l'établissement d'une relation de change fixe entre le franc suisse et l'euro ne se pose pas, car celle-ci encouragerait la spéculation.

Pour qu'une politique monétaire autonome soit couronnée de succès, il faut en particulier que la banque centrale soit crédible et autonome sur le plan financier. Il faut aussi que les objectifs et les décisions en matière de politique monétaire fassent l'objet d'une communication transparente. Enfin, le marché des changes doit être efficace, la politique monétaire risquant sans cela de déclencher involontairement des fluctuations des cours.

Depuis l'introduction de l'euro, la BNS a maintes fois mis à profit son indépendance pour réagir à des chocs dont l'importance était bien plus grande pour la Suisse que pour la zone euro. Pour une économie ouverte de petite taille ayant une banque centrale crédible, le maintien de sa propre monnaie, à la frontière d'une vaste zone monétaire, constitue un avantage certain.