Print

Monetary policy and economic development in Switzerland

BTV and Österreichischer Gewerbeverein, Vienna, 30.01.2006

  • Complete text in German: "Geldpolitik und Konjunktur in der Schweiz"
    PDF (384 KB)

The economic situation in Switzerland has improved significantly during the course of the last year. Private consumption, construction investment and foreign trade in particular have contributed to the positive momentum. Economic prospects remain favourable for 2006 as well. The National Bank projects real GDP growth of just over 2%. Given the robust growth of the global economy and favourable exchange rate conditions, export demand is likely to remain strong. Equipment investment is expected to rise considerably, not least because of pent-up demand. Private consumption may benefit from an improvement in the labour market and higher real income. For the time being, however, construction activity is likely to remain static at a high level.

Despite a sharp increase in the price of oil, inflation in Switzerland remained within the range defined as price stability. The development of core inflation suggests that any major second-round effects are unlikely. The inflation forecast of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) shows that there are no threats to price stability in the short term. No change in the expansionary monetary stance would, however, push up inflation considerably. The SNB will therefore continue the gradual normalisation of monetary policy it has already initiated. However, the future development of the economy will determine the time frame and the extent of this normalisation process. Owing to a favourable inflation trend, the SNB is in a position to cautiously approach a neutral interest level which may be lower than in the past. It will continue to pursue an autonomous monetary policy.

The possibility of higher oil prices, a significant depreciation of the US dollar and a sharp increase in long-term interest rates currently pose the biggest risks to the economy. The positive outlook for the economic activity in Switzerland must not deter us from our efforts to tackle the country’s structural problems. The unsatisfactory level of growth that we have witnessed for some time now can only be overcome by rigorous implementation of structural reforms.

Imprimer

Politique monétaire et conjoncture en Suisse

BTV et Österreichischer Gewerbeverein, Vienne, 30.01.2006

  • Texte intégral en allemand: "Geldpolitik und Konjunktur in der Schweiz"
    PDF (384 KB)

En 2005, la conjoncture s'est sensiblement améliorée en Suisse. Ce dynamisme a découlé en particulier de la consommation privée, des investissements en constructions et du commerce extérieur. Les perspectives restent favorables pour 2006 également. La Banque nationale table sur une croissance du produit intérieur brut réel légèrement supérieure à 2%. Etant donné la croissance robuste de l'économie mondiale et les relations de change favorables, la demande étrangère restera vraisemblablement vigoureuse. Les investissements en biens d'équipement devraient augmenter fortement du fait surtout d'un besoin de rattrapage. En outre, une amélioration de la situation sur le marché du travail et des revenus réels en progression devraient stimuler la consommation privée. La construction, par contre, devrait stagner à un niveau élevé.

Bien que le prix du pétrole ait fortement augmenté, l'inflation est restée en Suisse dans la zone qui correspond à la stabilité des prix. L'évolution de l'inflation sous-jacente indique qu'il ne devrait guère y avoir d'effets importants de second tour. La prévision d'inflation de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) montre qu'il n'existe, à court terme, aucun danger pour la stabilité des prix. Cependant, une politique monétaire toujours expansionniste entraînerait, avec le temps, une hausse sensible de l'inflation. La BNS continuera par conséquent à normaliser graduellement sa politique monétaire. Le rythme et l'ampleur de la normalisation dépendront de l'évolution économique. Etant donné les perspectives favorables en matière d'inflation, la BNS est en mesure de se rapprocher prudemment du niveau neutre des taux d'intérêt, niveau qui est sans doute plus bas actuellement qu'autrefois. Ce faisant, elle continuera à mener une politique monétaire autonome.

Les principaux risques qui pèsent aujourd'hui sur la conjoncture viennent d'une possible augmentation du prix du pétrole, d'une forte baisse du dollar et d'une substantielle hausse des taux d'intérêt à long terme. Les perspectives conjoncturelles favorables ne doivent pas entraîner un fléchissement des efforts en vue de résoudre les problèmes structurels de la Suisse. Seule une mise en œuvre résolue des réformes structurelles peut remédier à la croissance, longtemps insuffisante.